Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 2, 2012

I am so proud to be on the DSF board of directors. When my daughter was first diagnosed with Dravet Syndrome, we were told by the geneticist that we should find other Dravet parents to band together,... more

May 3, 2013

When my daughter was diagnosed with Dravet Syndrome, DSF founder, Lori O'Driscoll, showed me that there was still hope. DSF has been devoted to raising funds for research that will help lead not only to better treatments but, someday, to a cure for Dravet Syndrome and related epilepsies. DSF is incredibly responsible about how it spends its funds, and never takes its eye off of the needs of its community. I am so proud to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2012

I am so proud to be on the DSF board of directors. When my daughter was first diagnosed with Dravet Syndrome, we were told by the geneticist that we should find other Dravet parents to band together, raise money and locate a doctor willing to do early stage research into a promising avenue of gene therapy. This task seemed monumental, but two weeks later I met two members of the DSF board and learned that, in less than two years since they formed the DSF, they had already accomplished this, and the research was underway! Since then, I have become more and more involved, and have learned that the DSF founders are not only hard-working, dedicated moms, they are also well-organized businesswomen who make sure that virtually 100% of every dollar raised goes to the most promising avenues of research, or to provide assistive devices and services to Dravet children who otherwise would be unable to afford these life-changing tools. It makes me feel so good to know that we are making the lives of these children and their families a little bit better, and that someday, the research we fund may lead to a cure for my daughter and all of the other children and adults suffering from this catastrophic condition.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Dravet Syndrome Foundation is an amazing organization dedicated to raising funds for research into Dravet syndrome and related conditions. Not only do I serve as the secretary, but I am the mother of a 7 year old girl who has a "dravet-like" epilepsy. The support and understanding gleaned from the community surrounding DSF is simply amazing. My family continues to support and volunteer for DSF because we know they provide such a concrete plan to find answers for the afflicted individuals and families. I am honored to serve with the working board and director, as we are all moms putting our passions, talents and desires to make a difference to good use. DSF is just incredible!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2011

more

April 25, 2011

My role with the Dravet Syndrome is multifacted, and because of this I have had the opportunity to see every aspect of the organization.
I am a board member, donor, and a parent of a Dravet child. I utimately would like to volunteer more.
The DSF is a powerhouse organization in the realm
of fundraising. We observed this fact at Ciara's Butterfly Bash on March 26, 2011. All the proceeds go to research toward a cure.
Lori O'Driscoll, one of the founders of the DSF, came down to our son Liam's first Special Education meeting, and explained what Dravet Syndrome is, and how the syndrome effects every aspect of daily life.The response was heartfelt, and as a result, Liam has had a very sucessful year.
Lori also got us the best medical care for Liam, and we are grateful .
The DSF is an organization that is highly effective. Lori O'Driscoll, Amanda Renz, and Mary Anne Meskis are motivated to educate, raise funds, and support families that have to deal with the devastating effects of this catastrohic form of epilepsy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I feel supported by the DSF. Having a child with Dravet Syndrome can be very isolating. Being part of the DSF family has given me hope because of the funding toward a cure, and a sense of community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I lived closer to the DSF headquarters so I could do more!!!!!

April 23, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 23, 2011

The Dravet Syndrome Foundation was formed by parents who wanted to see aggressive research being done in the field of Dravet syndrome that would impact their loved ones and other afflicted with this disease. Although science might not move as quickly as we as parents would like, we want to assure that lack of funding is not what is slowing it down.

We have awarded more grants for research specific to Dravet syndrome and related epilepsies in the U.S. than any other non-profit organization. In less than 2 years since our inception, we have awarded over $625,000 in research grants. We are a volunteer-led organization with no paid employees and little overhead. We pride ourselves on maintaining operating expenses at a minimum to ensure that the gift of every donor truly brings us one step closer to a cure.

We focus our efforts in 4 areas, per our mission: Research Grants, International Ion Channel Epilepsy Patient Registry, International Patient Assistance Grants, and our Annual Research Roundtable for professionals with an interest in Dravet syndrome and related epilepsies.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the hope we give to families that there will be better treatments and a cure! We have been contacted by many families who have joined us in our fundraising efforts and who appreciate that we are focusing our energies on funding syndrome-specific research that will help their loved ones. This is a devastating disease and we are proud to be raising hope through research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are striving every day to come up with better ideas for fundraising and raising additional research dollars through grants and sponsorships. There is nothing I would change about the organization at this time, except to encourage more people to volunteer and join us in changing the outcome of Dravet syndrome. We have come remarkably far in our short history, thanks to our many dedicated volunteers and our Scientific Advisory Board.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers