Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an amazing non profit that provides hands-on entrepreneurial education for students. I am so impressed with their level of professionalism in their products, and the way the students market them. This innovative program is an example of the kind of meaningful experiences students should have in school.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dons Net Cafe is a great non profit that helps individuals and the community. This small student run business benefits so many people and they are doing an excellent job in the community and in the world. This class not only helps people in the community, but also the students who are doing the work, they get real life skills that helps them be prepared for the real world.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They are very professional. Always put your needs first, and have high quality products I highly recomend then.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dons Net Cafe is strongly committed to benefitting every individual or group with which it interacts. This small business has been improving lives (financially, socially, environmentally...) for many years and continues to find new ways to make individuals and communities better. Some of its many programs include volunteer income tax assistance, education and job training, and environmental awareness; Dons Net Cafe aims to do all that can and will help others to lead healthy and successful lives.
October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've worked with Don's Net Cafe and Ms. B for over 20 years. This is the type of class that I wish I had when I was in high school. Students in this class leave with a sense of purpose because of the skills they've learned and the experience of running a business. Ms. B has successfully collaborated with several community businesses to bring training to help prepare her students for success, not only in the academic world, but with life skills. Ms. B uses a tough-love approach.
Students from Dons Net Cafe learn respect, self-reliance, and have a high level of self confidence. I've seen students bloom in this class.
They also give back the community through the VITA program in helping low income and seniors prepare their tax returns. They also participate in Day of Caring, and other community events. I'm proud to be connected to the Dons Net Cafe.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Meaning and relevance give individuals a reason to act, to live and to love. Students In the Dons Net Cafe become successful leaders of ethical businesses of their own creation. They mentor and are mentored. They learn from experts and become experts. This is a program that inspires students to be stewards of their local community and citizens of the world. Check out the good they're doing in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Amazing organization. Students learn real-life business skills that are not taught in high school or college. In addition to learning practical business skills through their non-profit, they are also giving back to the community - BIG TIME. This organization helps with environmental causes, low-income tax filing services and more than I probably realize! They lead with love, and gain by giving back.
October 23, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

The Don's Net Cafe is the most important program that I have seen within the SB School system. It teaches students real life skills as well as text book skills. The practical experience each student receives is so very, very important. Ms. B treats each and every person with respect and demands respect in return. I would do anything for the Dons Net cafe and enjoy volunteering there every chance I get. If I could give them 10 stars I would.
John Daly, The Key Class
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the Education Director for the Santa Barbara Bicycle Coalition/Bici Centro, I had the pleasure of starting a collaborative venture with the Dons Net Cafe: SBici, a bike club at SBHS where participants help the community with weekly bicycle repair, bike valet parking at major events such as SOL Food Festival, Earth Day, SB Open Street...
SBici is still pretty new but it is a thriving venture with more members every year because they are all hard-working & dedicated entrepeneurs with the vision of running a financially sustainable business.
This year, their goal is to send 2 or 3 students to the National Youth Bike Summit in Seattle, WA.
I am confident that they will raise enough money to make it happen :))
October 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've been associated with the DONS Net Cafe from its inception and view it as the most creative and valuable program at Santa Barbara High School.

Of the many benefits of the program, the one that I see as most important is its promotion of citizenship...the aggregation of an entire range
of attitudes and behaviors that are the key to success in a society that values the individual and individual achievement. It's foundation lies in presenting its participants with challenges that relate academic pursuits with real world actions within a team-based framework...the lifeblood of the free enterprise system.

Examples of the program's value are many a varied, including scholastic honors and community service achievements, but even more in the personal attitudes and behaviors of its alumni who carry with them a stamp of assurance and responsibility that allows them to stand out from among their peers.

Underlying the academic requirements of the program is the requirement for personal responsibility and performance excellence, demands that Miss BK brings to the DONS Net Cafe from the very first day...a challenge that will stay with the graduates for the rest of their lives.

Proof of this and of the program is the pride exhibited by alumni who return to cheer the program on, year after year.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help proof read documents such as blogs, newsletters, and brochures. Join us in one of our street/beach clean-ups. If knowledgeable about taxes, complete 3 tax returns. Help student prepare professional resume and college essays.