Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.884625
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

My story starts back in the year 2000. My niece was diagnosed with double renal failure at the age of 13, as was her father at that same age. My sister(her mother) donated to her as Dad could not since his only kidneywas transplanted. Well when my nephew was 13, he too was diagnosed with the same kidney disease. With no parent to give him a kidney, I stepped in to see if I would be a match, and I was! That was wonderful news to us!! We went ahead withthe transplant in 2003. 10 years later now, mynephew isdoing wonderful, thriving and is able to have hope for his future! People need to be aware of the need to be an organ donor. There are still so many people inneed! It is tragic when there is a death in someones life, but to be able to give life thru donation of organs or tissue can be amazing to so many!! I am now 10 years older and am also doing wonderful feeling fulfilled and needed and more so a part of my nephews life now!! Unfortunately my niece is in need of a second kidneynow. Her transplanted kidney has failed her is she has beenon dialysis for 2 yearsnow. She spends 4 out of her 7 days a week at dialysis 3 hours each day she goes!! This is hard on people like her who depend on a machine to sustain their life. With the help of Donate Life California, we need to educate others, starting with our teens about the importance of checking that box and recieving that pink dot on their driver lisence. We need to educateothers so my niece can have a fighting chance at getting off that long donorlist. Lets enlarge that registry list and make the wait shorter for people in need like my beutiful niece! You too can be the deciding factor of saving 1 to 50 lives thru organ and tissue donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

*I was not a donor but I am from the donor side of the family*
My husband Ed Schanz died at the young age of 54 years old on September 30th, 2012 of SHA,(subarachnoid hemorrhage) to many who don’t know what that is it’s a Aneurysm. He was declared brain dead on 9-29-2012, my family & I knew
it would only be right to allow others to live through him. So we all decided as a family to donate his organs. To date this is what we know:
**A 67 year old man in WA has my husband’s heart, a 34 year old woman has his pancreas, 26 year old man from Utah received his liver and two men in CA received his kidneys if you don’t think that one man’s death can’t save many lives then think again. Just give it a minute and that minute can turn into years of saving a lives like my wonderful husband, father to three, grandfather to three. Thank you for your consideration.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son was brutally beaten by his biological father and was put on life support where we (myself and his stepdad) made the decision to donate his organs. My son Afton always believed in and wanted to be a super hero. With the help of Donate Life, my son became that super hero. Afton is alive in the many people he helped save! Thank you Donate Life for giving him his dream even in death.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers