Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.884625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Donate Life California has had a powerful and continuing impact on my life. I am a two time kidney recipient and I am grateful for the knowledge, expertise, and passion exhibited by this organization. The entire process of receiving the Gift of Life is an amazing and humbling experience. Donate Life California has made this possible for many others like me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More interactive webpage and a mobile app.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I became associated with Donate Life because of my husbands' passing. Shortly before he died, I found his reciept from DMV of his registration to be a organ donor. I asked him about his choice and inquired as to what he would like donated. We had never discussed this in the past. I've seen his Driver's License before but overlooked the pink dot. My discovery was about 2 weeks before his collapse. I understood the gravity of his medical condition in the hospital, I immediately told the nurse of my husbands wishes. I was informed that the hospital already knew and so did the organ donor orgainization. He stated they wanted to respect the family and would approch me when it was appropriate. He stated they did not approach the family until my husbands condition was confirmed. He further stated that he would note the I knew of my husbands choice. One Legacy is the organization that services our area for Donate Life. When they did approch me they were kind, gently and understanding. They anserwed all of my questions, they helped me it explain it to my younger children. My husband, David was their step father but they called him dad and loved him so much. The coordinators at the hospital watched over me and made sure I was ok and that at all steps I was not alone. My husband is the love of my life, he is my best friend, I had no one who could understand and be by my side that could comprehend my loss. Carlos from One Legacy was the person who made contact and guided me through the process. He would let me talk about my husband and he was so kind and understanding. Since my husbands passing we continue to use the after care services offered to all families. We go to the monthly family support meetiings. My children participate with other kids who have been through the same thing. My son is of special needs, he has the inocence of a child but is 16 years old, they have him in a group where he flouishes and can share his thoughts and love for Dad. I cannot speak their praises enough. I thank them for all they have done to help us and to honor his memory. I cannot speak their praises enough, your site will not allow me to type anymore. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes, I would just hope to help them with more funds so that they can help more people and extend where there services are provided.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

They do a great job supporting and encouraging organ donation. Their services support the donor families, the recipients, and the recipient families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

My husband would not be alive today were it not for Donate Life California. As an only child, he has now outlived his widowed mom. We have since learned so much more about the process of organ & tissue donation that we are now able to speak intelligently about the subject. The myths persist, preventing many from registering when, if they knew the facts, would register as donors. It's more than a shame that lives are still lost due to misinformation. We have learned one is never too old, too sick, too frail, too many long time health issues, etc. to be a registered donor. Corneas never age, even some blind people could give the gift of sight! From babies to elderly, people from all walks of life, all nationalities, all sizes and shapes, rich and poor are on the wait list for life saving organs. Most people on the wait list did nothing to cause their organ failure!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them funding to do more outreach. Work on more corporate support to teach their employees fact from myth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son Michael was born with complete heart block, we were told that there was only 1 in 1000 chance of it turning into something worse. Unfortunatly for him he drew the short straw and his Junior year of high scholl he went for his annual physical for track and we were told they wanted to run more tests. We were told on his 17th birthday he had conjestive heart failure. He would do well with medication, we were also told he wouldn't need a transplant because he was doing so well. Maybe in 10 years or so. 6 years later he went to the emergency room with breathing difficulties then off to CCU. He was then transferred to L.A. and from there 3 months later to Cedars to await a heart. As critical as he was everyone kept us fully informed and when things became difficult for me at work (I have Lupus too)they helped not only my son but me as well through some major emotional rollar coaster rides. Donate Life was key in helping us know exactly what was happening and what to expect. I can truely say that if not for the volunteers with this program Not only my son would need medical care but mee as well, They knew what we needed and when.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

From Kaiser

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

They helped me beleive in Doctors again. With all of the mis-diagnosis I have received in 40+ years I was very sinicle when a doctor told me something.

September 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Nick was 23 when he passed, and I became a widdow at age 25, We had only been married 3 months when he had a stroke which in turn caused brain death. He was an amazing person, who had a love for life that I have never seen in another individual ever since. The people who helped me through this time at the California Transplant Services were beyond angels themselves. They were so kind, and pacient, never once did they make me feel uneasy, they were so generous and with out them I don't think I would of found peace. So this is my way of saying thank you to them, for they too need to be raised up. They have a hard job, and I am blessed to know that because of their hard work, My nick will live on through others that he never knew, and will help them get to live a life he was not ever given a chance to enjoy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers