Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.884625
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

My husband would not be alive today were it not for Donate Life California. As an only child, he has now outlived his widowed mom. We have since learned so much more about the process of organ & tissue donation that we are now able to speak intelligently about the subject. The myths persist, preventing many from registering when, if they knew the facts, would register as donors. It's more than a shame that lives are still lost due to misinformation. We have learned one is never too old, too sick, too frail, too many long time health issues, etc. to be a registered donor. Corneas never age, even some blind people could give the gift of sight! From babies to elderly, people from all walks of life, all nationalities, all sizes and shapes, rich and poor are on the wait list for life saving organs. Most people on the wait list did nothing to cause their organ failure!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them funding to do more outreach. Work on more corporate support to teach their employees fact from myth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

My story starts back in the year 2000. My niece was diagnosed with double renal failure at the age of 13, as was her father at that same age. My sister(her mother) donated to her as Dad could not since his only kidneywas transplanted. Well when my nephew was 13, he too was diagnosed with the same kidney disease. With no parent to give him a kidney, I stepped in to see if I would be a match, and I was! That was wonderful news to us!! We went ahead withthe transplant in 2003. 10 years later now, mynephew isdoing wonderful, thriving and is able to have hope for his future! People need to be aware of the need to be an organ donor. There are still so many people inneed! It is tragic when there is a death in someones life, but to be able to give life thru donation of organs or tissue can be amazing to so many!! I am now 10 years older and am also doing wonderful feeling fulfilled and needed and more so a part of my nephews life now!! Unfortunately my niece is in need of a second kidneynow. Her transplanted kidney has failed her is she has beenon dialysis for 2 yearsnow. She spends 4 out of her 7 days a week at dialysis 3 hours each day she goes!! This is hard on people like her who depend on a machine to sustain their life. With the help of Donate Life California, we need to educate others, starting with our teens about the importance of checking that box and recieving that pink dot on their driver lisence. We need to educateothers so my niece can have a fighting chance at getting off that long donorlist. Lets enlarge that registry list and make the wait shorter for people in need like my beutiful niece! You too can be the deciding factor of saving 1 to 50 lives thru organ and tissue donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

being a donor is a very special way to save a life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

*I was not a donor but I am from the donor side of the family*
My husband Ed Schanz died at the young age of 54 years old on September 30th, 2012 of SHA,(subarachnoid hemorrhage) to many who don’t know what that is it’s a Aneurysm. He was declared brain dead on 9-29-2012, my family & I knew
it would only be right to allow others to live through him. So we all decided as a family to donate his organs. To date this is what we know:
**A 67 year old man in WA has my husband’s heart, a 34 year old woman has his pancreas, 26 year old man from Utah received his liver and two men in CA received his kidneys if you don’t think that one man’s death can’t save many lives then think again. Just give it a minute and that minute can turn into years of saving a lives like my wonderful husband, father to three, grandfather to three. Thank you for your consideration.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son Michael was born with complete heart block, we were told that there was only 1 in 1000 chance of it turning into something worse. Unfortunatly for him he drew the short straw and his Junior year of high scholl he went for his annual physical for track and we were told they wanted to run more tests. We were told on his 17th birthday he had conjestive heart failure. He would do well with medication, we were also told he wouldn't need a transplant because he was doing so well. Maybe in 10 years or so. 6 years later he went to the emergency room with breathing difficulties then off to CCU. He was then transferred to L.A. and from there 3 months later to Cedars to await a heart. As critical as he was everyone kept us fully informed and when things became difficult for me at work (I have Lupus too)they helped not only my son but me as well through some major emotional rollar coaster rides. Donate Life was key in helping us know exactly what was happening and what to expect. I can truely say that if not for the volunteers with this program Not only my son would need medical care but mee as well, They knew what we needed and when.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

From Kaiser

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

They helped me beleive in Doctors again. With all of the mis-diagnosis I have received in 40+ years I was very sinicle when a doctor told me something.

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Although I do not have an immediate tie to a donor or recipient, I have seen both sides. As a healthcare provider (respiratory therapist) I have seen the tremendous care that this organization provides. I have to say I was uneducated and had misconceptions about organ donation until my experiences with donors, recipients and Donate Life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Organ and tissue donors are needed everyday. This is an important cause, and requires your participation and support. Please help save lives, by showing your support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I was devastated when my fiancee died waiting for a liver transplant; I went to a few different groups and just never felt like I was with people who "got it". When I started volunteering through Donate Life California, I finally started to feel like I had control back. I was surrounded by loving people who knew what I was going through and I felt like I was truly honoring Matt by sharing our story and encouraging others to register as donors. Even though I lost the most important person in my life, my family has become enormous! And I know these are all people who "get it" and will support me (and Matt) through any good times and bad to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Donate life California is an amazing organization due to the connections all donor families have with them. My mom was an organ donor and I'm proud to be part of events that Donate life California has because I'm there with other folks that have dealt with my experience. Plus we love to be out there sharing our stories and educating society on organ donation and its importance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Nick was 23 when he passed, and I became a widdow at age 25, We had only been married 3 months when he had a stroke which in turn caused brain death. He was an amazing person, who had a love for life that I have never seen in another individual ever since. The people who helped me through this time at the California Transplant Services were beyond angels themselves. They were so kind, and pacient, never once did they make me feel uneasy, they were so generous and with out them I don't think I would of found peace. So this is my way of saying thank you to them, for they too need to be raised up. They have a hard job, and I am blessed to know that because of their hard work, My nick will live on through others that he never knew, and will help them get to live a life he was not ever given a chance to enjoy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers