Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.97985
Write A Review
March 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2014

Military members have so many responsibilities and the one overlooked the most is their beloved pets. This is the best organization reaching out to help our Military and their pets! I don't know of any other program dedicated to helping our military with their pets. A great big thank you goes out to the Dogs on Deployment program!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is so well organizated that I won't change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2014

I like that I can help a military member!! By taking care of their pet(s), that's one less thing they have to worry about when they go away.
It's the LEAST I can do!! :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2013

more

December 26, 2013

Volunteering for DoD has been such a joy, and one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I started doing this last year as a way of coping with the unexpected loss of my Greyhound, Roman, from osteosarcoma. I wasn't ready to adopt a new dog, but needed some "dog presence" in my life. So, when a friend told me about DoD (I think she heard about it on NPR), I leapt at the opportunity to get my dog "fix" and also help out the military folks who are serving our country overseas. I got my first two Deployed Dogs, Athena and Cheech, just a month after losing Roman and I took care of them for a month while their family (who PCS-ed here from FL) got settled in their new home. I had a couple months by myself before my next Deployed Dog, Lucky, came to the house in March. While none of those dogs can ever replace Roman, their love and companionship brings such joy to my life and reminds me of the wonderful relationship that I had with my own dog. Helping service members keep their pets in the family is so important. Doing this has helped -- and is still helping -- me heal.

Thanks to you for starting DoD, and thanks to DoD for giving me this opportunity to serve those who serve our country!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fix the website. The search function still has a few glitches, e.g., showing me pets in need from the West Coast when I'm looking for people in my area (Northern VA).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My journey started back in April when my husband & I decided to get a dog after moving 1200 miles away from our family. He is active duty military and I didn't want to be home alone when he was going to training. The problem was, we couldn't decide on a breed! A friend suggested Dogs On Deployment. So we signed up and within 48 hours we had a "hit!" So a couple days later, we met with Bruno & Kevin. Kevin was being shipped to Korea for a year and thought he had "friends" lined up to take care of Bruno, his 3 year old boxer that he had had only a couple months. Things weren't working out and the vet suggested DoD to Kevin. So our "meet & greet" went great and 3 weeks later, Kevin left for Korea & Bruno came to live with us! That was over 6 months ago and I can't imagine my life without Bruno or Kevin in it. Kevin has gone through a lot over the last 6 months and he says to not have to worry about Bruno has been one of the most amazing gifts anyone could have ever given him. We love him as ours and treated him as such when he needed emergency surgery while Kevin was on a field mission and we had to make life-saving decisions that were thankfully discussed due to the contracts that DoD offers to every client! Since becoming a boarder/foster, my husband and I have attended several events to talk about DoD and get the word out. So much so that I've made it my personal goal to notify as many people as possible living in a military town with 5 military institutions (1 ARMY post, 2 Air Force Bases, 1 Air Force Academy & Norad). Thankfully being a military spouse myself gives me an easier access to many soldiers deploying. My husband is assigned to a unit that deploys a lot so it gives me lots of oppurtunity to get the word out and that's what I plan to do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them money for more publicity! Not enough people know about them and too many military members & families are having to give up their pets. This is sad to me because my pets have always been a part of my family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am in no way involved with Dogs on Deployment, other than sharing their Facebook postings when I know that one of my friends can share to the area where help is needed. However, I remember back at the beginning of the war in Iraq, shelters across Southern California were flooded with military pets. The Shelter closest to bases could not handle the numbers, so sent the dogs and cats on to other shelters rather than begin mass euthanasias. The military pet owners had no options if family could not take their animals. I'd like to see DoD's methods deployed in helping seniors and others with medical crises find proper fosters to care for their pets for a day, a week, a month. One of the leading causes of the elderly and people with chronic conditions ending up in the ER is because they delayed seeking medical care because they had no one they trusted or willing to care for their pets for little or no cost.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My first volunteer experience for DoD was at the Army Ten-Miler Expo. Fabulous turnout. Well organized. Think this is an awesome organization. I'm behind it 110%. Great worthy cause. As a former Army brat, I never had to leave behind an animal but can't imagine how hard it must be for some service personnel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Fantastic, smooth volunteer experience! This is a nonprofit that is well run and just frankly needs more exposure in the community as it is well received by those both wanting to help and those helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more funding for marketing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Dogs on Deployment helps military members find temporary foster homes for the pets when they are deployed, moving, training, etc. What a wonderful organization! After following the very active and inspiring DoD Facebook page, I volunteered at one of their events to help spread the word. I lost count of how many soldiers came up to the booth saying something like, "Wow, I had no idea this existed! I and/or someone I know someone could've used this in the past... I'll definitely keep this in mind in the future!" There is clearly a need for this organization in the military. I am happy to support DoD to help our service members, human and canine alike. Spread the word!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
October 21, 2013

I live in MN and have been waiting for my chance to sponser a pet from here. As the mom of an Active Marine....I would love to share my home with a DOD pet. more

March 1, 2014

awesome group supporting our Military members! I am the mother of a marine and love dogs! Hoping my son does not ever have to use this group but grateful that they are here if he is called to leave and serve

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

I live in MN and have been waiting for my chance to sponser a pet from here. As the mom of an Active Marine....I would love to share my home with a DOD pet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I love what Dogs on Deployment stands for, and how it aims to help our veterans and their furry family members. I have been following their efforts for many months now, and when I saw the opportunity to volunteer to help their mission, I jumped at it! This organization is AMAZING and goes above and beyond to help those in need, and you can come to admire and support their mission very quickly. That is why I am honored and PROUD to volunteer for this fabulous organization!! God Bless DoD and all those that help their mission!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach hundreds of potential supporters by working an event! Volunteer