Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.97985
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am in no way involved with Dogs on Deployment, other than sharing their Facebook postings when I know that one of my friends can share to the area where help is needed. However, I remember back at the beginning of the war in Iraq, shelters across Southern California were flooded with military pets. The Shelter closest to bases could not handle the numbers, so sent the dogs and cats on to other shelters rather than begin mass euthanasias. The military pet owners had no options if family could not take their animals. I'd like to see DoD's methods deployed in helping seniors and others with medical crises find proper fosters to care for their pets for a day, a week, a month. One of the leading causes of the elderly and people with chronic conditions ending up in the ER is because they delayed seeking medical care because they had no one they trusted or willing to care for their pets for little or no cost.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I found out about Dogs on Deployment through a local news channel and immediately "Liked" them on Facebook. Just before deploying to Afghanistan in 2008, I struggled to find someone to watch my dog for me and eventually settled for my Grandmother's house as a last resort but she only did it as a favor to me. If I had been aware of Dogs on Deployment back then my dog would have been much better taken care of and treated more like family. Fast forward to 2012, I heard about a story through the Dogs on Deployment Facebook page about a Veteran in need and he had two dogs. Through Alisa Johnson, the Founder of Dogs on Deployment, we made the appropriate arrangements. Alisa has personally gone above and beyond to ensure that animals of all kinds are placed into happy homes while their loved one is deployed. She has even helped promote transport of pets from overseas and across the country just to make sure that a deployed military member is at ease with having to leave their beloved pet. I have nothing but good things to say about Dogs on Deployment and happily keep up with their Facebook page!!!!! Thanks Dogs on Deployment for all you do, service members of all branches of the military greatly appreciate your services, dedication, and hard work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Dogs on Deployments is committed to making a difference in the life's of our military members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My first volunteer experience for DoD was at the Army Ten-Miler Expo. Fabulous turnout. Well organized. Think this is an awesome organization. I'm behind it 110%. Great worthy cause. As a former Army brat, I never had to leave behind an animal but can't imagine how hard it must be for some service personnel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Fantastic, smooth volunteer experience! This is a nonprofit that is well run and just frankly needs more exposure in the community as it is well received by those both wanting to help and those helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more funding for marketing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Dogs on Deployment helps military members find temporary foster homes for the pets when they are deployed, moving, training, etc. What a wonderful organization! After following the very active and inspiring DoD Facebook page, I volunteered at one of their events to help spread the word. I lost count of how many soldiers came up to the booth saying something like, "Wow, I had no idea this existed! I and/or someone I know someone could've used this in the past... I'll definitely keep this in mind in the future!" There is clearly a need for this organization in the military. I am happy to support DoD to help our service members, human and canine alike. Spread the word!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I met these ladies at an animal convention, a couple weeks ago. and I thought they were very polite, informative and had an upbeat attitude. I think this non-profit is a great extension to military families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I love what Dogs on Deployment stands for, and how it aims to help our veterans and their furry family members. I have been following their efforts for many months now, and when I saw the opportunity to volunteer to help their mission, I jumped at it! This organization is AMAZING and goes above and beyond to help those in need, and you can come to admire and support their mission very quickly. That is why I am honored and PROUD to volunteer for this fabulous organization!! God Bless DoD and all those that help their mission!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I worked as a Pediatric Nurse on an Army Base and I can tell you that the care soldiers families receive definitely impact their ability to serve. Many military families and single soldiers have pets and consider them family. This is a unique nonprofit that provides a critical service for our military personnel. I am glad to rate them as TOP FLOOR for all their hard work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Since finding out about DOD I have been an avid follower waiting for my turn to help a member of outr armed forces know that their fur kid is taken care of while they are taking care of us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach hundreds of potential supporters by working an event! Volunteer