Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.97985
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
March 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2014

Military members have so many responsibilities and the one overlooked the most is their beloved pets. This is the best organization reaching out to help our Military and their pets! I don't know of any other program dedicated to helping our military with their pets. A great big thank you goes out to the Dogs on Deployment program!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is so well organizated that I won't change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2014

I like that I can help a military member!! By taking care of their pet(s), that's one less thing they have to worry about when they go away.
It's the LEAST I can do!! :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2014

I find it hard to leave pet behind just to go on vacation. I can't imagine being deployed and having to worry about my pets care. Pets are family to most people and this organization is helping ease the minds of our soldiers that are out protecting our country and our freedom!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 26, 2013

more

December 26, 2013

Volunteering for DoD has been such a joy, and one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I started doing this last year as a way of coping with the unexpected loss of my Greyhound, Roman, from osteosarcoma. I wasn't ready to adopt a new dog, but needed some "dog presence" in my life. So, when a friend told me about DoD (I think she heard about it on NPR), I leapt at the opportunity to get my dog "fix" and also help out the military folks who are serving our country overseas. I got my first two Deployed Dogs, Athena and Cheech, just a month after losing Roman and I took care of them for a month while their family (who PCS-ed here from FL) got settled in their new home. I had a couple months by myself before my next Deployed Dog, Lucky, came to the house in March. While none of those dogs can ever replace Roman, their love and companionship brings such joy to my life and reminds me of the wonderful relationship that I had with my own dog. Helping service members keep their pets in the family is so important. Doing this has helped -- and is still helping -- me heal.

Thanks to you for starting DoD, and thanks to DoD for giving me this opportunity to serve those who serve our country!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fix the website. The search function still has a few glitches, e.g., showing me pets in need from the West Coast when I'm looking for people in my area (Northern VA).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I am very thankful for Dogs on Deployment. My husband was injured in Afghanistan and was send to the Washington DC area. Had it not been for Dogs on Deployment I would have never found the Adiar Family in the Fort Drum, NY area to help me with my dogs. It was nice to be able to leave them with someone and know they where taken care off, it helped ease my mind & let me take care of my husband better. Thank you so much Dogs on Deployment for all you do for our Military members in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Shortly after our own dog, Bella, was put to rest, our home was missing a piece that completed it. The thought crossed my mind about being a boarder but I wasn't sure if we were ready to have a dog, especially one that wasn't our own. A couple months went by and I kept perusing the DOD site and my heart broke every time reading all the profiles and pleas for help. At that point, I knew the most unselfish thing we could do was become boarders. This has been the most REWARDING experience our family has been through! We're currently boarding Kaegi, whose owner will not return from Afghanistan until next September and we've also shared our home several times with Chara and Rafael while their owner attends periodic training exercises. A couple of times we've had all 3 dogs which is complete chaos sometimes but we wouldn't have it any other way! We're very proud to tell people what we do. We take care of these dogs as if they were our own and while they don't understand what is happening to them, we make sure to open our hearts and homes unselfishly while providing an invaluable unselfish service to our service members. What an honor!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My journey started back in April when my husband & I decided to get a dog after moving 1200 miles away from our family. He is active duty military and I didn't want to be home alone when he was going to training. The problem was, we couldn't decide on a breed! A friend suggested Dogs On Deployment. So we signed up and within 48 hours we had a "hit!" So a couple days later, we met with Bruno & Kevin. Kevin was being shipped to Korea for a year and thought he had "friends" lined up to take care of Bruno, his 3 year old boxer that he had had only a couple months. Things weren't working out and the vet suggested DoD to Kevin. So our "meet & greet" went great and 3 weeks later, Kevin left for Korea & Bruno came to live with us! That was over 6 months ago and I can't imagine my life without Bruno or Kevin in it. Kevin has gone through a lot over the last 6 months and he says to not have to worry about Bruno has been one of the most amazing gifts anyone could have ever given him. We love him as ours and treated him as such when he needed emergency surgery while Kevin was on a field mission and we had to make life-saving decisions that were thankfully discussed due to the contracts that DoD offers to every client! Since becoming a boarder/foster, my husband and I have attended several events to talk about DoD and get the word out. So much so that I've made it my personal goal to notify as many people as possible living in a military town with 5 military institutions (1 ARMY post, 2 Air Force Bases, 1 Air Force Academy & Norad). Thankfully being a military spouse myself gives me an easier access to many soldiers deploying. My husband is assigned to a unit that deploys a lot so it gives me lots of oppurtunity to get the word out and that's what I plan to do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them money for more publicity! Not enough people know about them and too many military members & families are having to give up their pets. This is sad to me because my pets have always been a part of my family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

DOD is a great organization. The service they provide allows our service men and women to focus on what is important and not worry about their beloved pet(s). Our service men and women do more than their share to help keep our freedoms free. It is great to see an organization that helps our military.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Thank you for all you do for our military service members and for their pets. Without your organization's help, I know many of these pets would have uncertain futures as our Soldiers are fighting for our country. THANK YOU!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband has been active duty Navy for 16 years, and we have known many people in the past that had to give up their pets because their backup fell through when it was time for deployment. It was heartbreaking. To some of these single sailors, their dog can sometimes be their only support system. I've known sailors who desperately wanted a pet, but was too afraid of what would happen should they be deployed. I really believe that Dogs on Deployment not only saves some of these sailors from having to surrender their best friends but helps the moral of the Navy overall. Now our sailors can have the love and companionship of a dog and go onto deployment with piece of mind knowing that their best friends will be will be safe while they are gone and waiting for them when they return! Thank you so much DOgs on Deployment!!! I really believe that you have significantly improved Navy life!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach hundreds of potential supporters by working an event! Volunteer