Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am so grateful for finding Dogs Forever. The people there are very loving towards all the dogs . They let you find out if the dog and you would be compatible .They take great care of all of them. I hope more people will check them out .Dogs forever are solely funded on private donations . They always find room in there hearts to take care more of these loving dogs that need a home. Also make sure they are in good health I recommend them highly
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Our adoption experience with Dogs Forever really told us what a compassionate group they have. Each step from fostering, application and final adoption reinforced the dedication they have to these wonderful animals. They treat every dog with kindness and respect, and we were well taken care of as clients as well. When one of our foster dogs required special medical care, we had all the support we needed.

We also had an instance to find care for a stray dog. They knew just the right steps to handle both the legal and medical angles to follow. It resulted in the stray getting the care she needed and finally being reunited with her owner.

We have referred many more families to Dogs Forever since then. Fantastic organization, thanks for doing what you do!
October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 5, 2012

Dogs Forever made a key decision to help senior dogs who have no opportunity to be adopted at a kill shelter because of all the cute puppies and young dogs. It is an important factor for me to see so... more

October 16, 2014

Dogs Forever ROCK! While their finances are limited and based solely on private donations, they still make room to find one more dog, one more home. The fact that they made a decision to help senior dogs who have limited opportunities to survive at a kill shelter is an important factor for us. It's important to see someone love those old faces until the very end of their lives in their new, forever homes. All dogs in need are taken in but my heart is for those older guys who still have a lot of life left to offer a forever owner.

We donate as much as possible and would love to see DF get a bigger space to do bigger work. For now, we are grateful for their service to humanity and those beautiful souls that are saved.
October 5, 2012

Dogs Forever made a key decision to help senior dogs who have no opportunity to be adopted at a kill shelter because of all the cute puppies and young dogs. It is an important factor for me to see someone love those old faces until the very end of their lives in their new, forever homes we find for them. All dogs are taken but my heart is for those older guys who still have a lot of life left to offer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2012

Although we've done volunteer work for and contributed to Dogs Forever of Iowa, my wife and I are also the forever family of two wonderful mixed-breed rescue pooches. And it's in the warm glow of the... more

October 16, 2014

Dogs Forever is an awesome organization propelled by great people doing truly worthwhile things that give me hope that there really is goodness in this world and that all pets can get the care and attention and affection they deserve so very much. Thank you forever, Dogs Forever!
October 14, 2012

Although we've done volunteer work for and contributed to Dogs Forever of Iowa, my wife and I are also the forever family of two wonderful mixed-breed rescue pooches. And it's in the warm glow of their unconditional love and joy that we appreciate the tireless efforts of Dogs Forever every single day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Dogs Forever really cares about the homes they end up in and the people they end up with. Most shelters that I've ever interacted with seem to care to an extent about the homes their pets end up in, but Dogs Forever goes beyond that with in-home visits by a volunteer to make sure the home is suitable and safe for the dog, as well as having adopters sign an agreement with several statements, one being that if adopter wishes to give up the dog again, they shall be surrendered to Dogs Forever. This proves to me that they really do care about the dog's well-being and do not want them to end up in a kill shelter or irresponsible hands. My husband and I adopted a young male black lab mix to add to our family from Dogs Forever, and we're so glad we did! He brings a lot of entertainment and laughter into our lives and it feels good to have opened up space for another dog at risk of being euthanized. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Dogs Forever is an amazing and wonderful organization that I am proud to say that I volunteer for!! I am more than happy to go to the shelter as often as I possibly can every week to take care of our dogs and to spend some time with our rescue dogs that I consider an extension of my own pack and I actually miss the dogs that we care for and feel bad if I can't get to see them at least 3 times a week. Dogs Forever is 100% volunteer run and donation based and the only way we can stay afloat is if we have plenty of both to keep rescuing those in need. I'm so excited to see Dogs Forever taking off and doing such an amazing job as the only No Kill Shelter in Cedar Rapids!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Coming from a background of 30+ years with a 'municipal' animal shelter, I can appreciate the principal of Dogs Forever more than most. The dogs in our care are the castaways; some with medical problems, some just overweight, some neglected, some are seniors. But all of them are unwanted by either the shelter or family that brought them to Dogs Forever. Volunteers care for these dogs 3 times a day. They are given daily walks, the best medical treatment, quality food, toys, treats and an abundance of TLC. Most of the volunteers have extensive backgrounds in animal rescue and animal health and all are on the same page when it comes to the care of the dogs. Some of the 'residents' experience kindness for the first time and to witness this and be a part of it is more rewarding than words can say. These are the lucky dogs of our community. They want for nothing other than to find that special person/family to call their own and there is no 'time limit.' To be part of their journey is humbling to say the least.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I have helped Dogs Forever since its inception with fundraisers and donations. I have volunteered my time by posting flyers on community bulletin boards, baking goodies for fundraisers, and have helped at some of the fundraisers. I have also given monies to this caring organization. I will continue to do what I can for Dogs Forever. It's all about the dogs!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I was on a search for a companion for my adopted cocker as he needed to learn to be a dog again. I found Dogs Forever quite by accident. My experience with them was very pleasant. They went outt of thier way to keep me posted when they brought in new dogs and helped me get the right fit for us. Would I and have I recommended them to others--yes. Absolutely. They are straight forward and caring--Thank you all at Dogs Forever

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Dogs Forever is a place that runs on both heart and business acumen. The director is tireless in her mission to save and find forever homes for these dogs and rescues ones that would otherwise be killed at a local shelter. The volunteers are amazing in how and what they do to take care of the dogs until they are adopted. I truly appreciate the special efforts to save and place senior dogs with mature citizens. As a donor and a past volunteer, I highly recommend this place of love, caring for dogs and people. Its run on a shoe-string with great results.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers