Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Dogs Forever really cares about the homes they end up in and the people they end up with. Most shelters that I've ever interacted with seem to care to an extent about the homes their pets end up in, but Dogs Forever goes beyond that with in-home visits by a volunteer to make sure the home is suitable and safe for the dog, as well as having adopters sign an agreement with several statements, one being that if adopter wishes to give up the dog again, they shall be surrendered to Dogs Forever. This proves to me that they really do care about the dog's well-being and do not want them to end up in a kill shelter or irresponsible hands. My husband and I adopted a young male black lab mix to add to our family from Dogs Forever, and we're so glad we did! He brings a lot of entertainment and laughter into our lives and it feels good to have opened up space for another dog at risk of being euthanized. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Dogs Forever is an amazing and wonderful organization that I am proud to say that I volunteer for!! I am more than happy to go to the shelter as often as I possibly can every week to take care of our dogs and to spend some time with our rescue dogs that I consider an extension of my own pack and I actually miss the dogs that we care for and feel bad if I can't get to see them at least 3 times a week. Dogs Forever is 100% volunteer run and donation based and the only way we can stay afloat is if we have plenty of both to keep rescuing those in need. I'm so excited to see Dogs Forever taking off and doing such an amazing job as the only No Kill Shelter in Cedar Rapids!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Coming from a background of 30+ years with a 'municipal' animal shelter, I can appreciate the principal of Dogs Forever more than most. The dogs in our care are the castaways; some with medical problems, some just overweight, some neglected, some are seniors. But all of them are unwanted by either the shelter or family that brought them to Dogs Forever. Volunteers care for these dogs 3 times a day. They are given daily walks, the best medical treatment, quality food, toys, treats and an abundance of TLC. Most of the volunteers have extensive backgrounds in animal rescue and animal health and all are on the same page when it comes to the care of the dogs. Some of the 'residents' experience kindness for the first time and to witness this and be a part of it is more rewarding than words can say. These are the lucky dogs of our community. They want for nothing other than to find that special person/family to call their own and there is no 'time limit.' To be part of their journey is humbling to say the least.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I have helped Dogs Forever since its inception with fundraisers and donations. I have volunteered my time by posting flyers on community bulletin boards, baking goodies for fundraisers, and have helped at some of the fundraisers. I have also given monies to this caring organization. I will continue to do what I can for Dogs Forever. It's all about the dogs!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I was on a search for a companion for my adopted cocker as he needed to learn to be a dog again. I found Dogs Forever quite by accident. My experience with them was very pleasant. They went outt of thier way to keep me posted when they brought in new dogs and helped me get the right fit for us. Would I and have I recommended them to others--yes. Absolutely. They are straight forward and caring--Thank you all at Dogs Forever

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Dogs Forever is a place that runs on both heart and business acumen. The director is tireless in her mission to save and find forever homes for these dogs and rescues ones that would otherwise be killed at a local shelter. The volunteers are amazing in how and what they do to take care of the dogs until they are adopted. I truly appreciate the special efforts to save and place senior dogs with mature citizens. As a donor and a past volunteer, I highly recommend this place of love, caring for dogs and people. Its run on a shoe-string with great results.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

Before this Dogs forever was formed I 've worked with her in my other organizations. Any organization was given the full attention with passion & great ideas . She listens gives back great ideas about how it would work. I always enjoy the time spent with her. Lesley Richardson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

Although we've done volunteer work for and contributed to Dogs Forever of Iowa, my wife and I are also the forever family of two wonderful mixed-breed rescue pooches. And it's in the warm glow of their unconditional love and joy that we appreciate the tireless efforts of Dogs Forever every single day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

My most recent involvement as a Dogs Forever volunteer has been with Max, a Malamute/Afghan mix. He is 2 years old and full of youthful energy. To keep him from going stir crazy while in a kennel at Safe Place (Dogs Forever's no-kill shelter) I volunteered to run with him daily. His long legs and torso make him an excellent runner. If only I was 30 years younger, I might have a chance of being able to run as long and as fast as he'd like to go! My hope is that there might be other dog-loving runners who would be willing to run with Max. He won't be 2 forever. His energy level will decrease as he ages. But for the time being, a daily jog/run/fast-paced walk is the ticket to Max's happiness and well-being. Finally, while this review is more about Max than Dogs Forever, he's just one of many deserving dogs in the organization's care. The DF motto says it best: "A better life for our best friends"

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

I love that Dogs Forever advocates our Senior Furry Friends, "old" dogs make wonderful companion, just as the young whipper snappers do! The also stick up for the misunderstood the pit bull, these dogs are very important to my heart and deserves a fighting chance, just like the rest of them. I chose to volunteer with this organization over the others because the efforts they're making with this breed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Met many wonderful new people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering for Dogs Forever is so rewarding, I always leave the building so HAPPY!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers