Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12.70492345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As is normal practice for those who criticize visionaries, I noticed that the updated facts were NOT posted here regarding the FALSE Charges against DDB which have subsequently been DROPPED by Poindexter and his cohorts. ( His role in the Vick case was exposed in Gorant's Book " The Lost Dogs" )

In short, the entire episode was an attempted FRAME .
To read more about the facts on this one simply has to go to:
http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/inthenews.html
and read the PDF'S. dated 3/5 and 5/15 of 2013.

To Ms. Thayne's critics I would only asked these simple questions:

How many of you have made the personal sacrifices she has , both as a Military Veteran and Advocate for Abused Dogs?

How many of you have nearly DIED in this cause?

She HAS.

Personally I can think of no FINER USE for Vick's former place of dog torture and death than this.

Don't want to contribute to DDB work for chained dogs? Then Don't.
Don't want to contribute to other Orgs who work for the benefit of animals, the vast majority of whom have been criticized as well?
Then Don't.

Baseless negative comments are counter productive to the movement.

I need not add more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

State orders Surry dog rescue to place 8 dogs into foster care
September 27, 2012
SURRY – The state has directed Tamira Thayne, executive director of Dogs Deserve Better Inc., to place the organization's eight remaining dogs at the Good Newz Rehab Center into foster care by Sept.
30.

But that deadline is on hold while her attorney, Fred Taylor, works with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services officials, said Thayne. Elaine Lidholm, an agency spokeswoman, declined to discuss the deadline or other details of the state's ongoing probe into the anti-chaining dog rescue organization based out of the Surry County house where Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Michael Vick once ran a dogfighting operation.

The organization is not accepting any new chained dogs, Thayne said.

Thayne was charged with two misdemeanors — one count each of animal cruelty and inadequate care of animals — on Aug, 28, just days after a state veterinary and Surry Animal Control made an unannounced visit on Aug. 23. Thayne's trial is scheduled for Nov. 13 in Surry General District Court.

Dogs Deserve Better has been operating without the state's required approval since opening in June 2011, with records showing that least 30 dogs have been confined during that time, according to a Sept. 10 letter to Thayne from Daniel Kovich, a program manager with the state veterinary's office. Although the state reported giving her staff a verbal directive to stop accepting new chained dogs during a Jan. 25 inspection, Thayne said she never received the message.

According to the state's letter, the facility is violating some of the state's safe shelter laws because dogs are housed in groups inside the house and moved into different rooms of the house in response to aggression.

The state also referenced one dog fight that resulted in a $1,200 veterinarian bill, two dogs having been treated after being bitten by snake on overgrown property, and groups of dogs being kept in the kitchen with "direct access" to hazardous items including knives, glassware, small appliances and alcohol.

In his report, Kovich also noted that three bottles of pepper spray were found inside the house, one of which had been discharged.

While serving a search warrant on Aug. 27, Surry County deputies seized nine cans of pepper spray from the house, along with two Tasers, computers, vet records and a 1-year-old pit bull, according to search warrants. Ten days later, the courts awarded custody of the dog, Jada, back to Dogs Deserve Better.

"Use of pepper spray as a deterrent to aggression is in no way an appropriate husbandry practice in an animal shelter environment," according to Kovich's letter. "Negative interactions should be prevented from occurring in the first place."

The state and local investigation was spurred partially after several former employees, including former office manager Deana Whitfield, emailed pictures and complaints to Surry Animal Control in July. Whitfield and Dogs Deserve Better parted ways in late June, about one month after Whitfield filed an anonymous complaint alleging unsafe working conditions with the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

The May 21 complaint says that employees are not trained or equipped to safely deal with dog fights, that a single employee is frequently left alone in open rooms with large numbers of uncaged dogs, and that employees have not been trained to use the pepper spray provided to break up dog fights. The OSHA complaint was closed without an on-site inspection after Thayne had an additional on-site training class for employees.


More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 5, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

For a VERY brief time I was a Dogs Deserve Better Rep. with DDB. My reason for leaving was the Founder/CEO. She REALLY push for money. When she was trying to raise money for Vick's old place and sent an email to all of the reps, basically blasting everyone for not giving money..that was it for me. Some of us HAD donated and others wanted to but couldn't because they found themselves unemployed etc. because of the economy. The secondary reason I decided to step out was because there was a LOT of disagreements, fights, etc. in this group - not just the people who subscribe/support it but the people who run it/volunteer etc. What REALLY upsets me is all the dogs that are not getting the treatment/care/attention they need while all the in-fighting is going on. I was in it SOLELY to help the dogs - The leadership of this group has forgotten that MOST of the people involved DONATE their time - and given MOST have families, jobs etc. that's a pretty big deal. Yes, financially supporting an organizations needs is important BUT the email was berating. I stayed on the Facebook page to try to keep up w/any dogs near me that needed homes/help etc. and/or to help w/the laws BUT not after this..obviously things have only gone from bad to worse. On a side note, for MONTHS I tried to get someone from DDB locally to meet w/the animal control director (she was MORE than willing) to get things in place to make chaining illegal where I live. NO ONE EVER followed up - even after multiple promises they would. Sad, sad, sad. IF (and I'm saying IF) the goal was for the Founder/CEO to place herself in the mansion and that was it..she will not be able to maintain it without income. Donors are being taken advantage of unfortunately.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better is a phenomenal organization that has done more for chained dogs than can be mentioned here. When DDB entered the anti-chaining scene they created a new model for activism, advocacy, awareness, and rescue which has continued to thrive and flourish. I can not and will not believe lies spread on facebook, instead I will believe the true and real experiences I have had as a DDB supporter and advocate. The tactics of bullying and abuse employed against DDB are modeled, at best, on the tactics employed by middle-school girls wishing to bring down the esteem and self-image of their peers. Look at the negative reviews on this page, all of them represent hearsay, rather than concrete life experience with this organization. Shame on those who choose to bring down a fantastic organization rather than face their own inadequacies as animal advocates and human beings. In the end DDB will prevail: bullies never win as they are constantly trying to bring another down in order to bring themselves up. DDB will continue to work for the animals: what will you do?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

If a CEO does not pay themselves a salary, all the while this being the sole energy of that CEO, how do they make their money? It is irresponsible to suggest that any organization will be successful if the mainstay of the organization, the person who began it, the person who works tirelessly to make it work, to make it successful, the one who yes, lives in a refurbished mansion with a lot of dogs that were rescued and that they continue to bring in rescued dogs. Let's get real here. Look up Ocean Conservancy; look up Humane Society;, PCRM; NAVS. Look up these charities on CHARITY NAVIGATOR, and see what they pay themselves. Granted, the amount of money going to these charities is far and above what DDB is garnering for their efforts, but they get paid a very tidy sum. Why not the CEO of DDB get paid for her work? Where would she work from if not from a central location? A cardboard box? Where would a lot of rescued and rehabilitating dogs go, if not in the mansion they acquired? there is no sin in making a living doing what you love. Rescuing dogs is her life, and her passion. There are not many of us who would be in the situation, or be able to help in the movement to make the lives of these companion animals much better than when and where they came from. DDB could maybe do things better, but for now, they are doing a good job, and saving a lot of dogs from horrific circumstances. I will continue to support them, and look to them for assistance when I see a dog in need. Their example has helped me to make the difference in the lives of two very different dogs, and I will continue to look to them for the chance to continue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I no longer support this organization. They are difficult to work with and they do not answer emails or Facebook posts when they are asked to help. Seems to me they are spending too much time fighting with everyone instead of unchaining dogs.

I found another rescue to support who is
helping unchain dogs.

This is the article that convinced me they are under staffed because of the wrong decision made by the founder. Something stinks in Surry, Va.

DDB Dogged by Controversy

September 16, 2011 | Posted by ADMIN in Dog News115 comments

Share
73
Rescue organization Dogs Deserve Better is no stranger to controversy, but recent allegations by the group’s former national rescue coordinator may have far reaching implications in the long term health of the group.

Just a few short months after their acquisition of the former Michael Vick residence, a prior employee is questioning what she calls possible misappropriation of funds and a major shift in the organization’s mission. Shannon Allen, the group’s former national rescue coordinator, recently resigned over a number of concerns with DDB activities. “I don’t agree, a lot of people don’t agree with the rehab center, amount of money being spent there,” says Allen.

Allen says the organization’s founder, Tamira Thayne, told volunteers to stop rescuing needy dogs shortly after DDB relocated to the Virginia mansion formerly occupied by Michael Vick.



Allen says money from prior fundraising drives has gone missing, and she’s also troubled by a new DDB policy: only dogs who pass personality screening tests will be considered for rescue by DDB. “The point of a rehab center is to help dogs that don’t get along with other dogs and other people,” says Allen.

Allen says her concerns are  shared by many: she says that a few months ago, Dogs Deserve Better had over 150 rescue representatives in the US. Now that number has dwindled to less than 25. “A lot of people left because when we bought this fenced center, we were told to stop rescuing, that we couldn’t afford it anymore,” says Allen. “We want to rescue, that’s what we signed up for,” she said.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Nothing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start over and get a neutral board of directors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I donated to another rescue group for unchaining dogs.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I chose to support a different group.

What would you tell others about this organization?

RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

It is sad that they fire volunteers that did a lot of good just to bring in new volunteers The great volunteers you have been in contact with are gone and the list is always changing. It has to be poor volunteer management.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

donating and law changes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to keep volunteers

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

They do good work the volunteers I've worked with in the past are very dedicated

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Previous volunteers have been helpful

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build a center for rescued animals. Now they live in the homes of volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If they would keep volunteers

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Keeping volunteers

One thing I'd also say is that...

It is a good organization but is not loyal to people investing time and money

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers