Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
123.6574145
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

“I am posting under an anonymous name. Unfortunately I feel the need to protect my identity for obvious reasons. I was a devoted supporter and a proud donor of Dogs Deserve Better for many years and I do know the CEO personally.

I want to thank all of the former DDB area reps and former
employees for all of your dedication to unchaining dogs during your time representing DDB. I am proud to have supported you over the years. You made a difference in the lives of so many chained dogs. I am especially pleased to read that most of you have continued in rescue. A heartfelt THANK YOU!

I have to agree that the mission of DDB has taken a turn in the wrong direction in the past year. The purchase of the Vick property has turned into a questionable decision, a money trap and an embarrassment for many DDB supporters. The fact that so many hard working reps and employees have quit or were forced to quit is a true indicator of the internal trouble within DDB.

I have visited the Good Newz Rehab Center. I witnessed the staff working hard for the dogs, but the kennel staff was not experienced. The handling of the dogs was very concerning. There was no trainer on staff. The excessive kenneling of the “bad dogs” and the lack of socialization of the “bad dogs” were especially disturbing. I also witnessed the CEO's lack of experience and fear of dogs and her hesitancy to interact with people (visitors and staff) at the Center. I heard her negative words, I witnessed her condescending attitude and I witnessed her disregard of accepting help or advice from anyone.

It is in the best interest of DDB supporters to take a good hard look at who they are supporting these days. The animal cruelty charges against the CEO may not be severe in the grand scale of animal abuse we read about every day. But for a founder of any 501c3 rescue organization to face ANY animal cruelty charges is a reason to be outraged. Using mace and tasers on previously chained dogs? Especially when there is not an experienced staff or trainer on site? We all await the evidence, but why would Surry County file charges if there were no evidence to support said charges, regardless of the intent of the complainants?

I really am sorry that DDB has fallen on difficult times. Many of us wanted to believe this was only a temporary setback. But now I have to wonder where all of my donations have gone. I have also come to the realization that the rehab facility will not be built. It was a great idea, which I supported, but apparently there really is no direction or plan in place to see it through.

Chained dogs across the country are still chained because you lost your way. This saddens me greatly. You had a “national” rep group who was proud to be a part of DDB and they worked relentlessly unchaining dogs across the country. You took them for granted… You took your supporters for granted. I have jumped off the DDB wagon as it is careening out of control.”

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the CEO MUST go.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Over the years, there have been claims that the CEO has been abusive to dogs under her care. Here are quotes from a statement made by the CEO herself in December of 2011 acknowledging those claims made against her:

"While I cannot prove to anyone that I'm not an animal abuser, everyone who
comes to the center comments about how all the dogs follow me around like I'm the Pied Piper. From what I've seen, dogs don't follow animal abusers around."

"I do have a suggestion, though. If you think or believe that I'm an animal abuser, it's very simple: DON'T GIVE ME ANY DOGS. "

The following year, she would be charged with animal cruelty and neglect based on claims made by now ex-employees.

At least 6 ex-employees have accused the CEO of abuse towards the dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Please have the CEO step down.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

An interesting tidbit from DDB's tax returns. For 2012, DDB took in about $326,000 and spent about $52,000 in vet care.

For 2013, DDB took in about $1,100,000 and spent about $78,000.

DDB's donations increased almost 400% but they only increased vet care by 50%.

We do not
know if their vet grants are included in this expense figure.

If you are a DDB supporter, you should be very concerned about this year over year trend of more money coming in but less dogs being helped and less money going directly in aid of the dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

THE CEO MUST GO!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Not exactly transparent.

DDB has a cash surplus of $282,000. With GNRC paid off, they now have over $915,000 in assets. Yet the begging for donations has been relentless. It is extraordinarily dishonest not to be up front about their current state.

Over $10,000 for legal fees,
just about all of that due to the CEO's cruelty case. Like in prior years, we believe this is an understated figure.

NO LOBBYING EXPENSES! Not one dime went towards lobbying efforts for better animal welfare laws, which is supposed to be part of their mission.

Salaries jumped by almost $50,000, though the CEO's salary remained fairly constant. This probably won't be sustainable unless donations keep pace.

The CEO continues to defraud her donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the CEO

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 31, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

So disappointed in Guidestar.... My negative review was removed. What about transparency? Wow...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the CEO

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was a donor until about 3 years ago, when I wrote a negative review questioning how DDB was spending their money and how they treated one of their fosters. I just got an email today that my review was removed. I also just heard from a friend that their negative review was also removed. DDB is trying to silence their critics by having bad reviews taken down.

I still believe that this organization is very unethical and this just confirms it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The board should fire the head of DDB

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

A wonderful group that constantly puts itself on the front line, fighting for dogs who are simply helpless and at the mercy of their owners. I applaud this group for their efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I don't understand how people keep falling for this scam. Since May 6, 31 positive reviews giving DDB the best ratings, all in 3 days? Most of the reviews before that had been negative.

The leader of DDB had people write these positive reviews. Read them and you see most of them
received money from DDB's hero grant program. That program has paid out $40,800 to help 136 dogs.

Last year, DDB took in donations exceeding $1,100,000 and only had $450,000 in expenses. They had over $650,000 left over. They only set aside $40,000 to help 136 dogs when they could be helping over 2000 dogs with all that extra money they have.

Huge red flags when -
A.) A charity has to get people to write positive reviews in exchange for generous grants
B.) Takes in in excess of $1,100,000 and helps so few dogs.

Their hero grant program helps 136 dogs for $40,000, their Good Newz Rehab Center has only helped 123 dogs in 3 years and they foster another 150 dogs.

DDB's leader has been convicted of stealing and receiving stolen property and she had been charged with animal cruelty and neglect. Those charges were dropped only when she ruthlessly went after her accusers on the web.

I totally agree with the previous comment, these new positive reviews are not spontaneous shows of appreciation. It is an organized campaign, along with the new pictures and videos that DDB posted. It is meant to distract people from the fact that DDB took in so much money and helped so few dogs.

Update 6/12

In response to DogsDeserveBetter comment:

How childish and immature must you be? Even if anyone were foolish enough to believe that this was a genuine job offer, I would never work for a convicted thief and I would never work for someone who was charged with animal cruelty. I would never work for an organization that used mace and tasers to rehab dogs. I can assure you, had I over one million dollars, I could and most certainly would help more than the 53 dogs DDB rescued in 2013. How do you sleep at night? You should be ashamed and people will eventually see it for what it is, profiting on the suffering of dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire their leader, replace the board of directors with honest, reputable members.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned of DDB several months ago and followed their work before I decided to donate as I only donate to reputable organizations. DDB truly cares about dogs and helps many dogs that would otherwise not get help. They are a professional and trustworthy rescue who is committed to providing the training and rehab needed for a dog to be successfully placed. When I send a donation to DDB I am always sent a thank you and verification. They are truly a class act. The naysayers are just disgruntled wanna bees who get kicks out of trying to destroy good things.

DDB has my full support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I first became aware of DDB when an article showed up on the internet describing the deplorable conditions at the Olympic Animal Sanctuary in Forks, WA. Before I donated any money, I did extensive research on DDB to be sure my money was being well spent. What I found was people who were willing to stand in the cold WA rain to fight for 124 dogs who were being abused beyond all human comprehension. They were cursed at, spit at, screamed at, and treated in a way people should not be treated but they stood their ground and continued to fight for these dogs. When the dogs were just "dropped" in Golden Valley, AZ, they traveled thousands of miles to rescue and bring dogs back to their facility. I have gotten to know Robin and Tamira personally and am even more impressed by their dedication and tenacity in righting the wrongs being done to dogs. When it comes to stepping up for chained and abused dogs, they are fearless. They don't do it for the glory. They quietly (that's actually an a contradiction of terms because they are pretty darned vocal when it comes to saving dogs) get the job done. If they got paid for the amount of heart they have, they would be millionaires. I have seen them go toe-to-toe with abusive owners (male and female) and come out on top. I have seen them take chained dogs that I would be fearful of being within two feet of and teach them that they are loved. They don't just rehabilitate them - they "Loveabilitate" them. I have seen them get down on the floor with an abused dog that I would have been afraid to be in the same room with and sit there until that dog realized that all humans were not cruel. I continue to donate to this organization because I believe DOGS DESERVE BETTER and they got Robin, Tami and their team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the expand their facilities and staff so that more chained and abused dogs would know what love, compassion, and freedom from abuse feels like. They don't always win their battles, but they sure do go down trying.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer