Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
123.6574145
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 6, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

Looks the way that Dogs Deserve Better has handled the purchase of the Vick property and their reps is sort of like removing the engines from a sinking ship to keep it afloat.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 4, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

SURRY— For members of the rescue group Dogs Deserve Better, moving into the Bad Newz Kennels property was supposed to signify a new beginning.

We were there in June when they started settling in.

"We thought it would be a great fit because the whole idea of turning something
negative into something positive, it's very powerful," Tamira Thayne.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Follow NewsChannel 3 on Facebook
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


But three months after their relocation from Pennsylvania, former volunteers and employees are calling into question the non-profit's central mission and possible misappropriation of funds.

The latest defection from Dogs Deserve Better, Shannon Allen, the group's former national rescue coordinator.

"I don't agree, a lot of people don't agree with the rehab center, amount of money being spent there," says Allen.

Allen says there is very little oversight on the organization's founder, Tamira Thayne.

The former employee says money from past fundraising has gone missing, unaccounted for. Meanwhile, the organization put limits how many dogs they can take in at a time, and screens their picks based on behavior.

"The point of a rehab center is to help dogs that don't get along with other dogs and other people," says Allen.

Volunteers say Tamira's reasoning for not taking in critical care dogs is that the vet bills were too expensive. Meanwhile, they allege Tamira was fundraising for a new carport for the mansion.

"These were dogs in dire straits that were in very bad condition, needed lots of medical and emotional care," says Allen.

And she isn't the only one losing confidence in the organization. Allen says before their move to Virginia, Dogs Deserve Better had over 150 rescue representatives all over the country. Now there is less than 25 still affiliated with the organization.

"A lot of people left because when we bought this fenced center, we were told to stop rescuing, that we couldn't afford it anymore," she says.

We went to the infamous mansion in Surry to confront Tamira, but no answer. And answers are exactly what these former volunteers are searching for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better is an organization started by one person...who had a problem with what has been an American accepted way of life, chaining your dog. The founder was visionary and put into words everything wrong with this acceptable practice of neglect and abuse. Others formed a group around her and the group grew quickly to be national. It has been a bumpy ride, and I wont say no problems ever happened along the way. The founder was arrested for helping a dog dying on a chain and she almost went to jail. Laws are not on her side. But she has opened many paths and other anti chaining groups have started now. Her organization has been attacked tremendously by small minded people and jealous people but has withstood the blows. I would highly recommend supporting this visionary to continue her work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I don't know where you come up with this awful spewing of hate for this organization. DDB has saved so many dogs from a life of misery and pain. They have given them compassion for the first time in their lives. I will always support this group no matter what anyone says. I don't know how you can say anything bad about people that care so much for animals. I have followed this group for a while now and they have always put they animals first!! Keep on saving animals from a life of hell DDB. You have made me cry happy tears so many times. I thank you for that!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I shared an address with Dogs Deserve Better for their Valentines Day Event. The Dogs I saw were kept chained in an auto yard with no where to go to get out of the heat of North Carolina. I wondered if they had ever gotten any type of Flea meds or heartworm. I walked past these dogs every day and it broke my heart. I asked DDB to send them a Valentines asking the owner to take the dogs inside! Next thing I knew the dogs were gone, no longer chained up!! It made me so happy to realize that someone cared enough to do something! NC had just passed a no tethering law and I believe I brought these dogs to the attention of the right people!! Thanks DDB, you are an AMAZING Organization!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

December 3, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

Careful what you post on DOGS DESERVE BETTER's rescue page because if you want to reserve judgement and hear both sides of the story so you leave a post asking them about the allegations that they abandon their foster dogs, use the donations (collected for these dogs) for themselves, kidnap rescue dogs from their adoptive homes and about a email statement made by founder, Tami, that to "euthanize" a dog who is known to bite is the "right thing to do" instead of rehabilitating them - they will NOT address your questions, will delete your post and then will BLOCK you - all while commenting on their page that they "do not block" anybody. Then, you can't dispute that statement, cuz you know, you are BLOCKED. Makes me wonder 1.) how many other people have been blocked? and 2.) WHY did they DELETE MY COMMENT then BLOCK ME instead of answering my questions? That only shows me that the allegations are true and they don't want their supporters/followers to know. This organization is suppose to be a RESCUE. The best interest of the dogs is suppose to be their main concern. I am sharing this because a rescue that operates/behaves like DDB (and who has a founder who is as rude and uncaring as Tami as is apparent in her email to a foster mom) it shines a negative light on other rescues who truly DO have the dogs best interest at heart, who truly DO use donations on the dogs, who truly DO support their fosters - because people could start thinking that other rescues operate this way and could be hesitant in donating or fostering. I can't post this on DDB's wall because, you know, I've been blocked (even though they "don't block") so I am sharing this here so that people can be aware of what is going on. DDB has taken one dog from his doggie daycare and away from his foster/adoptive mom (a veterinarian who nursed him back from starvation), because Joel's mom reported them for mismanaging donations (not giving the donated money to the dogs the money was donated for) and for abandoning their dogs at their foster homes. Now, they are refusing to take back another foster dog (a dog whom needs medical treatment and DDB has refused to release the funds that were donated to THIS DOG for this treatment - ask his foster/adoptive mom about this) and has, instead, told the foster/adopter, in an email, to "euthanize" the dog.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Why are there so few pit bulls at their new multi-million dollar estate, formerly owned by Michael Vick???

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 3, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

DDB as whole has saved allot of desperate dogs. I will give them that on a National level and believe it is a greatly needed. I hope another organization forms to really help all dogs in need chained regardless of breed...and honestly bumps DDB out. Did you know the National facility that was so generously donated to does not take in PITBULLS..Ironically this is where Michael Vick killed them. What a supporter of dog rescue. Breed specific? So LEAVE THE PITBULLS chained? Dogs of all walks of abuse and chained need rescued to be ban a breed from a facility that is supposed to help all chained dogs is misrepresenting the cause. My personal story is why I left. We were told to fund raise for the DDB National org. and we were expected as a group to raise $15,000 for the Vick property purchase. We had dogs that did not have a place to go or boarding $ and when I raised the question in front of the group and my rep. I was told that we need to focus on raising the $15,000 for the facility and those dogs can wait. I left that day and never went back. Personally, I believe the founder mis- uses the funds and is shady. As a past supporter and volunteer for a local chapter in WA State I will say my experience with them has been appalling. I have experienced dogs being ignored that really needed the help. I believe the group leader and "leaders" are self righteous and have used donations for their own selfish needs. DDB just registered in WA this year but has been accepting financial donations prior to being registered in the State of WA. these numbers are not accounted for... This is truth. Check with the state of WA registered non profit charitable organizations. They are not worthy of becoming a GuidStar charity even if their cause is good, the people that run it are bad.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

DDB is all about money, NOT the dogs. They are not bothering to get their dogs back from fosters that can no longer foster them. They talk to people very badly. If you question them about anything they will block you from their Facebook page so you can no longer ask anything. I would not recommend this so called organization to anyone. Please be careful people!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Here is a statement Shannon Allen posted on a facebook discussion group on August 6, 2011 when she still worked for DDB. As you can see the things she says about DDB and Tami contrast directly with the smears she put on this page.

Which Shannon is telling the truth and which one is lying?
Can anyone trust what she says?

Shannon Allen
I had never heard of Pit Bull Legal News until this. This is where I saw the majority of the court documents. All Tami gave me was the first court order denying the TRO and the altered adoption contract. I don't think Tami nor Mr. Karp knew that PBLN was posting all of the documents initially. How fun would it be for Mr. Karp himself to sue her for libel : ) I take all of this very personal.

I wouldn't affiliate myself with an organization that does the things that BJH is claiming. I have a good relationship with Tami, that doesn't mean we don't disagree at times, but in the end I KNOW Tami is about and only about saving animals. If for one moment I doubted that, I would quietly move on. I picked up a chained dog around 4am one morning after receiving a call. Vespa had been mauled while chained and escaped. I don't know how long she was on the run with her injuries but was she severely septic. I asked Tami if we should let her go or try to save her. Tami said , "Save her!" Two days and $1500 later, Vespa died at the ER clinic. Tami was there for me at 2am, 2 days before Christmas when Vespa died. I will always be grateful for that.

There are other organizations, but I believe in DDB, our mission, and our leadership. I have learned and grown as a rescuer through DDB, I have made thousands of wonderful people (like yourselves), and have been able to so much more to help chained dogs through DDB. Even if I disagreed with DDB in this situation, which I don't, I still would not support Dr. Fiala. She has proven herself to be vindictive, unstable, and unreasonable (to name a few).

BJH mocks DDB for doing the same things that thousands of rescues do. If they would have simply stuck to, 'Bringing Joel Home', they would at least be somewhat credible. But once they started calling names, attacking the center, attacking Tami's wedding, attacking Chain Off, etc. It was obvious that this had nothing to do with Joel. If you notice, Joel is mentioned less frequently every day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seen them do great things for years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do better background checks on people they hire.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer