Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
123.6574145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 2, 2014

more

June 2, 2014

Robin Budin coordinated with me on a chained/abandoned dog rescue. She was unwavering in her commitment to seeing through the mission until the end. They raised funds to cover vet bills. And their resources and networking were phenomenal. I plan to follow Dogs Deserve Better for a long time to come and to support their very worthwhile efforts. Unchaining all the dogs in America is a huge task, but DDB is taking it on! I love that! I hope to bring that mission to my home state of Indiana.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Thanks Tammi for all you do! Clicky is enjoying my bed! Poor baby has the most endearing heart and a complete lack of pet manners. I'm glad to share her life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2014

more

May 11, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better helps many animals across the country get freed from life on a chain, and neglected and abused animals. I have seen many different volunteers for the organization in multiple states be effective and successful in saving animals lives from abuse. Great organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more volunteers in each state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 31, 2014

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded... more

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I hope its obvious to all who check out these recent glowing reviews, that the CEO Thayne has rounded up a few dozen "admirers" in the past few days to boost her Guidestar rating. These are not spontaneous shows of appreciation, they have been solicited. Many have been recipients of Hero Award cash, or cross -postings on the DDB site for their cause. Thayne has already inflated her FB page fan count by tens of thousands within a very short time period, bought and paid for (yes, there are companies that will do that for a fee). Please look at some of the one star reviews from years past. This is one CEO who knows how to game the system and will not hesitate to it if it means more donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire board of directors AND the CEO and start over with competent, honest people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded the chip-in and the chip in was raised. This happened three times at least, it got up to over $650. Meanwhile it was announced that the dog had been adopted by a family and would be picked up the next week - the adoption agreement occurred during the week of the chip in, so obviously the dog was already vetted. It was a real cute picture and Christmas time, so DDB milked it for all it was worth. I used the chip contact feature to challenge the ethics of this behavior and received a nasty threatening email back from The DDB CEO. She asked: "What do you do, except hound someone you don't even know? Where does your hatred flow from? Do you have a very unsatisfying life or something? "
She said, " I know that because I wouldn't be associated with someone who is as cruel and hateful and spiteful as you are."
Totally unprofessional and this is not an isolated incident. She only tolerates those who agree and don't question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new CEO and Board of Directors. Clean house.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended return and changed the fiscal year from July 1 2009 to June 30 2010 - and I can't see any difference between the two except for the change in the fiscal year. Kind of makes you wonder what happened in July and August 2010.

BRING JOEL HOME!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being promptly banned from their FB site after asking fair questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start with an IRS audit.

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does such impressive work! It's a comfort to know that such kind and dedicated people are out there helping the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better Inc came to my attention when I saw an article about abused animals held in filthy conditions.This group stepped up in order to bring this to public awareness.This group was able to make a difference in the animals lives and living conditions....Then I watched as it happened again...And yet again.I believe this group and especially this lady who oversees the groups activities have given many animals a chance at life that would not have been available had Ms Budin and Dogs Deserve Better Inc. not been there to Be Their Voice....This is a wonderful and deserving group which deserves our praise and respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see that their animals had all they needed....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

This organization is a SCAM. DDB duped people into giving them money to purchase the Vick property. They promised a "rehab center" for chained dogs. People gave them and continue to give them money however, there is no "rehab center" nor is there a solid plan! There will NEVER be a center on this property unless a VERY rich person steps up and offers to pay for it. We all know what the chances of that happening are...less than slim to none! They only raised money for the down payment on the Vick property and the money that they continue to raise goes towards the bills and Tami's salary! They only have only a few dogs at the "center" for adoption and they will not take any dogs that actually need rehabilitation because they cannot handle them! What happens when the fabled rehab center does not get built?? Will the donors get their money back? This place should have never been purchased unless they had ALL of the money to do what was promised up front! I hope all of the people that donate know that their money is paying Tami's salary (yes, she takes a salary from donations), mortgage, utilities, cable, internet, etc. GET A JOB TAMIRA! My rescue saves more dogs than DDB yearly and I work full time because we don't get paid to rescue! DDB is a pathetic excuse for a rescue and gives REAL rescuers a bad name!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 7, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I think an investigation of the volunteers is warranted as there is allegations (which appear to all have documentation to prove) the misappropriation of funds being made by one Tamira Thayne. The occupation of a mansion(specifically Michael Vicks) has been admitted that it was acquired as a publicity stunt(which Tamira has admited to) does not seem like an appropriate place for a dog rescue. Nor should Tamira be able to pick and choose which dogs she will rescue and rehabilitate. For this reason a more appropriate building should have been acquired, one that could house more and be used to properly care for these animals. As an outsider from Canada who has been following this situation thru social media, have seen information and documents to prove the above. So my question is, when will you start the investigation?? DDB Inc, could benefit and probably restore its reputation to have this matter looked after.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

This rescue is rediculously lsing site of whats important!! The dogs....I just rescued a dog from Ohio that was a DDB dog...when the foster due to health issues could no longer keep the animal she pleaded with DDB to help.....Their answer....this dog was vicious and needed to be put to sleep. Some amazing people got together and we found a way to fly that beautiful sweet boy ACROSS THE ENTIRE COUNTRY to my home where he lives PEACEFULLY with 2 small chilren, a bunny that roams freely through the house, 2 rats, a cat, a 3 lb Chihuaua and myself! This amazing pit bull has brought so much joy to my home and DDB was just going to turn their back on him and Euth him because they didnt want to deal with him SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALL OF YOU in bed with this worthless group that claims to be a RESCUE....you should be ahamed and find a job at a kill shelter where you PTS helpless animals all day......what your doing is the equivalent!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer