Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12.70492345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 10, 2011

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended retur... more

January 31, 2014

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded the chip-in and the chip in was raised. This happened three times at least, it got up to over $650. Meanwhile it was announced that the dog had been adopted by a family and would be picked up the next week - the adoption agreement occurred during the week of the chip in, so obviously the dog was already vetted. It was a real cute picture and Christmas time, so DDB milked it for all it was worth. I used the chip contact feature to challenge the ethics of this behavior and received a nasty threatening email back from The DDB CEO. She asked: "What do you do, except hound someone you don't even know? Where does your hatred flow from? Do you have a very unsatisfying life or something? "
She said, " I know that because I wouldn't be associated with someone who is as cruel and hateful and spiteful as you are."
Totally unprofessional and this is not an isolated incident. She only tolerates those who agree and don't question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new CEO and Board of Directors. Clean house.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended return and changed the fiscal year from July 1 2009 to June 30 2010 - and I can't see any difference between the two except for the change in the fiscal year. Kind of makes you wonder what happened in July and August 2010.

BRING JOEL HOME!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being promptly banned from their FB site after asking fair questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start with an IRS audit.

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Visionary? The head of DDB, Tamira Thayne, AKA Tammy Sneath Grimes, is a charlatan, a sham, a mountebank, a fraudster, a liar.

Her behavior during her recent trial was nothing short of reprehensible. When notified that the charges would be refiled, she went on a self announced 30 day
hunger strike. When it became obvious she was not starving, she had to admit that she had been on a diet of vegetable broth.

She filed false charges against one accuser, which were determined to be unfounded. She went on social media spreading vicious lies against the witnesses, revealing intimate, private information, intimidating one witness from testifying.

In answer to DRDOG:

>How many of you have made the personal sacrifices she has , both as a Military Veteran and Advocate for Abused Dogs?

What an insulting question to those of us who rescue AND who've served. There are thousands of us and we were not rewarded with a $600,000 mansion for our sacrifices.

Not sure what personal sacrifices Thayne has made living in a $600,000 mansion, paid for by donors. Makes her better off by far then most people in this country.

>How many of you have nearly DIED in this cause?

Again, just about anyone who works in rescue. Again, just as insulting.

>Personally I can think of no FINER USE for Vick's former place of dog torture and death than this.

But I can think of an infinite number of ways that $600,000 could have been put to far better use instead of helping only 15 dogs and serving as Thayne's personal residence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire their leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

This organization is a SCAM. DDB duped people into giving them money to purchase the Vick property. They promised a "rehab center" for chained dogs. People gave them and continue to give them money however, there is no "rehab center" nor is there a solid plan! There will NEVER be a center on this property unless a VERY rich person steps up and offers to pay for it. We all know what the chances of that happening are...less than slim to none! They only raised money for the down payment on the Vick property and the money that they continue to raise goes towards the bills and Tami's salary! They only have only a few dogs at the "center" for adoption and they will not take any dogs that actually need rehabilitation because they cannot handle them! What happens when the fabled rehab center does not get built?? Will the donors get their money back? This place should have never been purchased unless they had ALL of the money to do what was promised up front! I hope all of the people that donate know that their money is paying Tami's salary (yes, she takes a salary from donations), mortgage, utilities, cable, internet, etc. GET A JOB TAMIRA! My rescue saves more dogs than DDB yearly and I work full time because we don't get paid to rescue! DDB is a pathetic excuse for a rescue and gives REAL rescuers a bad name!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 7, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

I have to give this org a 1 star review and not for the reasons you may think. I am neither a donor, supporter, or volunteer. I had heard of DDB after they purchased Michael Vick's house, which I didn't think was a good idea but that is just my opinion, probably not a popular one. But I have been reading the reviews here and following the links posted and I have to say that you DDB supporters are not doing yourselves any favors. This page is to give reviews of the organization, not to bash people who don't give a 5 star review. The former volunteers and employees that have spoken out against DDB at least provided proof of their allegations. Those of you speaking for DDB, this is your opportunity to share your great experiences with the organization but instead you use the opportunity to act like children and call names which makes what the fomer volunteers and employees are saying even more plausible as they have told of this same childlike, demeaning behavior from the founder. This is very disturbing behavior. If you cannot take criticism like grown adults instead of pitching a ranting tantrum, how in the world can you possible be equipped to handle dogs that need rehabilitated?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 7, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I think an investigation of the volunteers is warranted as there is allegations (which appear to all have documentation to prove) the misappropriation of funds being made by one Tamira Thayne. The occupation of a mansion(specifically Michael Vicks) has been admitted that it was acquired as a publicity stunt(which Tamira has admited to) does not seem like an appropriate place for a dog rescue. Nor should Tamira be able to pick and choose which dogs she will rescue and rehabilitate. For this reason a more appropriate building should have been acquired, one that could house more and be used to properly care for these animals. As an outsider from Canada who has been following this situation thru social media, have seen information and documents to prove the above. So my question is, when will you start the investigation?? DDB Inc, could benefit and probably restore its reputation to have this matter looked after.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

This rescue is rediculously lsing site of whats important!! The dogs....I just rescued a dog from Ohio that was a DDB dog...when the foster due to health issues could no longer keep the animal she pleaded with DDB to help.....Their answer....this dog was vicious and needed to be put to sleep. Some amazing people got together and we found a way to fly that beautiful sweet boy ACROSS THE ENTIRE COUNTRY to my home where he lives PEACEFULLY with 2 small chilren, a bunny that roams freely through the house, 2 rats, a cat, a 3 lb Chihuaua and myself! This amazing pit bull has brought so much joy to my home and DDB was just going to turn their back on him and Euth him because they didnt want to deal with him SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALL OF YOU in bed with this worthless group that claims to be a RESCUE....you should be ahamed and find a job at a kill shelter where you PTS helpless animals all day......what your doing is the equivalent!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Looks the way that Dogs Deserve Better has handled the purchase of the Vick property and their reps is sort of like removing the engines from a sinking ship to keep it afloat.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

Blind, unquestioning loyalty is very dangerous. At the very least, this organization's actions over the past year have raised some very legitimate questions that are not being adequately addressed. I for one have one such question over the Fiala case. Why did DDB pour money, time, resources, planning, and support to reposses one dog under Fiala's care who had a willing adopter, and yet will not even take in dogs from former fosters who are begging for DDB's help? Are we supposed to keep supporting an organization that keeps exercising very questionable judgement? DDB may have won in the Fiala case but why should my donations keep going toward's legal expenses if this need not have gone to court in the first place?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 4, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

SURRY— For members of the rescue group Dogs Deserve Better, moving into the Bad Newz Kennels property was supposed to signify a new beginning.

We were there in June when they started settling in.

"We thought it would be a great fit because the whole idea of turning something
negative into something positive, it's very powerful," Tamira Thayne.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Follow NewsChannel 3 on Facebook
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


But three months after their relocation from Pennsylvania, former volunteers and employees are calling into question the non-profit's central mission and possible misappropriation of funds.

The latest defection from Dogs Deserve Better, Shannon Allen, the group's former national rescue coordinator.

"I don't agree, a lot of people don't agree with the rehab center, amount of money being spent there," says Allen.

Allen says there is very little oversight on the organization's founder, Tamira Thayne.

The former employee says money from past fundraising has gone missing, unaccounted for. Meanwhile, the organization put limits how many dogs they can take in at a time, and screens their picks based on behavior.

"The point of a rehab center is to help dogs that don't get along with other dogs and other people," says Allen.

Volunteers say Tamira's reasoning for not taking in critical care dogs is that the vet bills were too expensive. Meanwhile, they allege Tamira was fundraising for a new carport for the mansion.

"These were dogs in dire straits that were in very bad condition, needed lots of medical and emotional care," says Allen.

And she isn't the only one losing confidence in the organization. Allen says before their move to Virginia, Dogs Deserve Better had over 150 rescue representatives all over the country. Now there is less than 25 still affiliated with the organization.

"A lot of people left because when we bought this fenced center, we were told to stop rescuing, that we couldn't afford it anymore," she says.

We went to the infamous mansion in Surry to confront Tamira, but no answer. And answers are exactly what these former volunteers are searching for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers