Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
110 Reviews
123.9727345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I can not say enough about the good that Dogs Deserve Better does to help chained and penned dogs! I am a rural mail carrier and noticed a pen on my route that contained a very small short haired Chihuahua. After seeing this dog for a while and knowing the weather would be turning cold I approached the owner and inquired about him. The Owner said his wife banned the dog to the outside pen after moving into a new home because of marking. He had not been neutered and I tried to educate them about the benefits but he said her mind was made up. I was able to get them to surrender the dog (now named Zachary)and brought him home on Saturday. He went to the vet on Tuesday to be neutered but it was learned the surgery would be more complicated (and expensive). He got his shots and was rescheduled for surgery on Thursday. All went well and he is recovering nicely. DDB paid the bills for Zachary's vet care. THANK YOU DDB!!! You Rock :)
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

DDB has helped me free and spay/netuer chained and penned dogs on two occasions recently. On the first occasion, they launched an aggressive campaign on behalf on two dogs penned without shelter, suffering in the elements with little to no food and water. I have no idea how they lived through it. After 24 hours of phone calls and emails from DDW volunteers, the owner was cited with animal neglect and the dogs were no longer kept in the cages. Where I had no allies locally, the strong, kind-hearted and tenacious volunteers from across the globe acted as if this was happening in their own backyard.

On the second occasion, through the Hero Grant Fund, I was able to get three rescued chained dogs spayed and neutered. The fund provides $300 per dog to cover the cost of alteration, rabies, distemper, parvo shots, heart worm check or whatever you can get for that price. In my case, I was able to find a local spay/neuter clinic that operates largely on charity donations from the state license plate fund, Petsmart charities and other associations. Because of the reduced cost at this clinic, along with the Hero Fund, I was able to get three (3) spay/neuters, all the shots, heart worm checks, microchips and extra pain medication--all for $300 total. So 1 Hero Fund donation saved 3 lives in this case.

Here is why the spay/neuters literally "saved" three lives. The two male dogs were not neutered. It is my belief they broke off their chains to get to the third dog, a female in heat. Once in my house, it was chaos. I now had 7 large dogs. My dogs did not get along with the three off the street. All the male dogs wanted to do was hump the female. What made the situation more dangerous was that the two males had lots of fighting scars.They were large dogs and part pit bulls. Having observed their behavior, I surmised that the two boys were chained together. They were forced to compete for one food source and one water source. It was obvious there was never enough food or water. The boys had all the fighting scars of dogs forced to fight in pit fights. They may have been forced to fight other dogs, but I believe the two boys just fought each other.

In my house, all they wanted to do was hump the female. There was the constant threat they might fight each other. All they wanted to do was have sex with her and they never let up. She was forced to be crated most of the day and it was difficult to get her out of the crate and in to the yard without the boys forcing their way on top of her. My dogs responded to this aggressive energy. They were agitated and responding to the threat in their house. One of my neutered dogs started humping my newest young rescued female who had not yet had her first heat cycle. Keeping the males separated from the female at all times and away from my four dogs was a 24 hour nightmare. To make matters worse, I was unable to stop the males from having sex with her on the first day I had them.

I could not leave the house, I could not sleep long or well. I was worried about the neighbors possibly complaining about the barking, which was hard to control. I reached a near breaking point. It was so miserable, even as a former rescuer, I did not think I could continue this. I called animal control to inquire about them picking up the dogs. I came to the sober realization that the 2 boys with the fighting scars with most definitely not even be put up for adoption. They would deem them un-adoptable and kill them. The female would also not stand much of a chance. So I would be sending 3 dogs to their deaths. Even though they were not my dogs, I would be the one responsible for ending their lives.

Getting the dogs fixed was an immediate NECESSITY. It would ease the situation in the house significantly, so I could manage the dogs. If I could manage the dogs, then I could suck it up and foster the dogs until I could start searching for homes. That’s exactly what getting the spay/neuters did. It kept the dogs from being killed. I was able to manage them better. They are now friends with the female and don’t try to hump her. The house is calmer and manageable. I can’t think of a time where getting dogs fixed was absolutely necessary in saving their lives.

To complicate matters, I was unemployed and near broke at the time. There was no way I could afford the fixes. Because of the DDB Hero Fund and the excellent low cost spay/neuter clinic, I was able to get all three fixed with all shots, heart worm check, fecal exam and meds and microchips. Now all three have everything they need to be adopted out. They are 100% ready.

I am currently fostering these dogs and looking for forever homes. Each day things get a little easier in the routine. I mean this when I say that getting them fixed kept them from being sent to animal control. The situation was so dire. Now there is breathing room. The dogs are healing, gaining weight and receiving love.

I am the kind of person who puts himself out in the trenches, so to speak, to help animals. If you would like to support other people like me, then please donate money to the Hero Fund. It is such a great partnership. If you have money, but not the ability to rescue off the streets, you can be help people like me do this work. It’s not money you can’t trace. It directly changes lives and is measurable. I am not a man of much financial means. But I have the resilience to rescue dogs in the streets and care for them in my home. Financial donors help people like me help animals. Money and effort partnering is saving lives where and when we can.

Thank you to whoever has donated to the Hero Fund!!! You have saved three lives with $300 in my case. What a great charity!

Finally, Robin Budin at DDB has made all this happen. She picks up the phone, seven day a week whenever you call. She is relentless in her efforts to help the animals. She is so dedicated and always makes herself available to advise and help. She is the face of DDB to me. All the lives I have saved are attributed to her tireless efforts, warm heart and tenacity.
June 2, 2014

more

June 2, 2014

Robin Budin coordinated with me on a chained/abandoned dog rescue. She was unwavering in her commitment to seeing through the mission until the end. They raised funds to cover vet bills. And their resources and networking were phenomenal. I plan to follow Dogs Deserve Better for a long time to come and to support their very worthwhile efforts. Unchaining all the dogs in America is a huge task, but DDB is taking it on! I love that! I hope to bring that mission to my home state of Indiana.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Thanks Tammi for all you do! Clicky is enjoying my bed! Poor baby has the most endearing heart and a complete lack of pet manners. I'm glad to share her life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2014

more

May 11, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better helps many animals across the country get freed from life on a chain, and neglected and abused animals. I have seen many different volunteers for the organization in multiple states be effective and successful in saving animals lives from abuse. Great organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more volunteers in each state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 31, 2014

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded... more

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I hope its obvious to all who check out these recent glowing reviews, that the CEO Thayne has rounded up a few dozen "admirers" in the past few days to boost her Guidestar rating. These are not spontaneous shows of appreciation, they have been solicited. Many have been recipients of Hero Award cash, or cross -postings on the DDB site for their cause. Thayne has already inflated her FB page fan count by tens of thousands within a very short time period, bought and paid for (yes, there are companies that will do that for a fee). Please look at some of the one star reviews from years past. This is one CEO who knows how to game the system and will not hesitate to it if it means more donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire board of directors AND the CEO and start over with competent, honest people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded the chip-in and the chip in was raised. This happened three times at least, it got up to over $650. Meanwhile it was announced that the dog had been adopted by a family and would be picked up the next week - the adoption agreement occurred during the week of the chip in, so obviously the dog was already vetted. It was a real cute picture and Christmas time, so DDB milked it for all it was worth. I used the chip contact feature to challenge the ethics of this behavior and received a nasty threatening email back from The DDB CEO. She asked: "What do you do, except hound someone you don't even know? Where does your hatred flow from? Do you have a very unsatisfying life or something? "
She said, " I know that because I wouldn't be associated with someone who is as cruel and hateful and spiteful as you are."
Totally unprofessional and this is not an isolated incident. She only tolerates those who agree and don't question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new CEO and Board of Directors. Clean house.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended return and changed the fiscal year from July 1 2009 to June 30 2010 - and I can't see any difference between the two except for the change in the fiscal year. Kind of makes you wonder what happened in July and August 2010.

BRING JOEL HOME!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being promptly banned from their FB site after asking fair questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start with an IRS audit.

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does such impressive work! It's a comfort to know that such kind and dedicated people are out there helping the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better Inc came to my attention when I saw an article about abused animals held in filthy conditions.This group stepped up in order to bring this to public awareness.This group was able to make a difference in the animals lives and living conditions....Then I watched as it happened again...And yet again.I believe this group and especially this lady who oversees the groups activities have given many animals a chance at life that would not have been available had Ms Budin and Dogs Deserve Better Inc. not been there to Be Their Voice....This is a wonderful and deserving group which deserves our praise and respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see that their animals had all they needed....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

This organization is a SCAM. DDB duped people into giving them money to purchase the Vick property. They promised a "rehab center" for chained dogs. People gave them and continue to give them money however, there is no "rehab center" nor is there a solid plan! There will NEVER be a center on this property unless a VERY rich person steps up and offers to pay for it. We all know what the chances of that happening are...less than slim to none! They only raised money for the down payment on the Vick property and the money that they continue to raise goes towards the bills and Tami's salary! They only have only a few dogs at the "center" for adoption and they will not take any dogs that actually need rehabilitation because they cannot handle them! What happens when the fabled rehab center does not get built?? Will the donors get their money back? This place should have never been purchased unless they had ALL of the money to do what was promised up front! I hope all of the people that donate know that their money is paying Tami's salary (yes, she takes a salary from donations), mortgage, utilities, cable, internet, etc. GET A JOB TAMIRA! My rescue saves more dogs than DDB yearly and I work full time because we don't get paid to rescue! DDB is a pathetic excuse for a rescue and gives REAL rescuers a bad name!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer