Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12.70492345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

"I was with DDB as a Rep for three years. The tax records I was refering to were the 990's. You can see copies of them on Guide Star and DDB legally has to send you a copy if you request one. What Tami reports on the 990's doesn't jive with the amount that she claims is spent, what it's actually spent on, who is employed, who is an "independent contractor", and what monies are actually coming and and from what sources they're coming from. What she claims DDB gets in grants and what is reported on the 990's doesn't add up. Plus you can search other organizations, like HSU, that issue grants to verify the amounts they have awarded and to whom. I started considering leaving after I had so much trouble with her paying for vet bills she promised they would pay and reimbursing me for vet bills that I had paid for out of my pocket that I had gotten "pre approval" for. Also the extreme unprofessionalism from so many of the area "Reps" was too much to handle any more. The thing that forced me to resign was when she wanted me to sign a new and updated form of the liability waiver. I can understand the need to protect the rescue, but I can't understand not protecting those that go to bat for the rescue and the dogs every single day. I told her no I wouldn't sign and if that meant resigning, so be it. She laughed at me and told me how ignorant I was. That DDB couldn't carry insurance for the rescue because they were technically an educational organization, or some whooha mumbo jumbo. I told her that DDB never sticks it's neck out for me and I wasn't willing to do so for DDB any longer. I told her I would take liability for all the remaining foster dogs in my care and just walk away. I already knew I couldn't count on DDB to help with any of the foster dogs I had in my care anyway. Only one rep ever bothered to help me. I saw what happened to other DDB reps that left with still having foster dogs in their homes. Nothing happened to help those dogs. DDB doesn't care about the dogs. I'm not going to say who, but at the end when I left, things were getting pretty desperate in my state. Reps were even doing adoptions without home checks. They were just taking the adopters word for it and letting the dogs go. I was told, the higher DDB adoption numbers are the better their chances for bigger and better grants. WHEW! And that is that! I'm sure there is so much more I could get into.... It's almost theraputic to vent that a little bit!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

QUOTES from two former DDB reps -

"The Nat'l Coordinator was Tami's heavy. Tami had NOTHING to do with the Reps. The ONLY time calling her was acceptable was when she had to okay medical services. Tami/the nat'l coordinator put pressure on the Reps about Vet services being "too expensive".
And making an appt for a DDB dog to be Vetted was -always- an ordeal. Getting rescue dogs vetted became such a hassle that I paid for a few myself with my own money. I paid for everything involving the daily care of my fosters, with my own money. I couldn't rest knowing there was any dogs that went unchecked. I admit that I was blinded to Tami's absence because I was SO in love with the idea of helping chained dogs.

I was weary from having to explain and justify my actions and decisions as a Rep. So I quit. I couldn't over extend myself one more moment. Nor could I deal with anymore complaints from DDB. Of which 99% of complaints DDB would take to their Reps was money related. So that was it. And since then, there is NO help or attention for any of the chained dogs I was monitoring.

So my experience with DDB was negative throughout. And I saw Tami and DDB through rose colored glasses. But since then I've noticed the inadequacies more clearly. And when Tami bought that Vick house. And she put the Rep program on "hold" so she could focus her time and MONEY on this property..... Well I knew then DDB was not going in the right direction. The Rep program is the vital link between the dogs suffering in backyards, and the help they so desperately need."

***************************************************

"I was sad to leave, because I thought the cause was an honorable one, but didn't realize the reputation the organization has. I left because I don't agree with the organization's ethics and business practices. Since learning how they do business, I have definitely learned HOW NOT to run a Not-for-Profit Organization. I spent way too much of my own money on "their" dogs without receiving much back from the donations I solicited from them... sounding familiar? I could have over looked it a bit IF I didn't receive hundreds of vulgar hate e-mails during my final few days being an Area Rep for them, - I quit. Then I saw the people and the organization for what it was; sensationalist propaganda and sue-happy snarks."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have a foster dog through DDB and was promised they would provide the food and vet care for the animal, an adult pittbull, but they provided dog food once. We have remained on speaking terms, but only to try to help local animals, not for support for DDB. I try to see the good in what they are trying to do, but at the same time, animals on chains arent the only ones needing help. They don't help those who volunteer to foster THEIR rescued dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

I was a volunteer for about a year and I can tell you the reps were inundated with 'press releases' that we were told to send to all newspapers. TV stations, radio stations in our area. These releases were never about dogs in need but Tami, her books, her being chained at the Capitol, her getting arrested, her getting arrested again, her wedding. She is all about her....period!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire Tamira

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Fire Tamira

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Working with and saving animals was great, working for Tamira was a nightmare.

December 6, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I was rep for this organization for about 8 months. Back then it was about rescuing and saving the dogs and I felt like I was helping change those dogs lives. After a while it became all about buying the vick property and NOT helping the dog at all. Once the vick property was DDBs, all the reps were dismissed. I helped raise money for this group and was thrown out like yesterdays trash. Every time I tried to get questions answered via emails to tami, they went unanswered. The person who ever answered emails or phone calls was Shannon Allen. Without her I would have been alone. Shannon made a big difference in my life where Tami was not seen or heard from once the vick property and her wedding started rolling around. After being dumped as a rep, I still had dogs in foster, and a couple of them needed new placement. I sent email after email and I was told they had to stay put unless I found them a new foster. No help ever came and I was stuck. This was just one more example of how the reps and the dogs were thrown aside as soon as the vick property came into the picture. I will never ever again donate my time or money to a group who claims they are here to help the dogs when all they want is their 15 minutes of fame in the spotlight. Since then I have returned to rescue on my own. I am now very untrusting of rescue groups after being used and thrown out by DDB. All my time and effort did was finance Tami's house, when she got what she wanted none of us were needed. So sad, I put my trust and faith in DDB and was let down in the worst way. But the worst offense of all is the dogs are no longer being helped and they are paying the ultimate price for DDB's greed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

I was a DDB Rep for a year. I worked very hard and dedicated all of my free time and my -own- money to responding to calls and/or emails pleading for help. I juggled a full time job, my own household and all of my pets, and a family who I tried to see. My family saw that I was bankrupting myself and they would always be puzzled as to why I wasn't receiving more (financial) support. I never questioned the org, even though I was treated poorly througout my time with the org. For me, my commitment revolved around the dogs. So that's where my focus was. There were experiences with DDB and its leaders that brought up red flags and all of the negative experiences had to do with money. The Reps did the ground work, while the org's leaders focused on money. And money dictated how they treated the Reps, the public, and even the dogs! I NEVER could get anywhere with legistlative ideas because the org's leaders were focused on money. The founder gave absolutely no attention or support to the Reps. We were policed though. There were times I asked for help on various levels, and I got the runaround. Yet, when it came to DDB spending money, I could always count on hearing back from the coordinator or founder. I was being bullied by a fellow Rep and because "she brought in alot of money", I was forced to deal with this Rep's harrassment. I stayed as long as I could for the dogs. But finally, I had to quit after I was once again belittled by a coordinator and betrayed by a lazy foster Mom who this coordinator sided with. I stayed supportive of the org until the founder bought the Surry Co property. The Rep program was halted so they could could "campaign for money". In my mind, I was disillusioned with the idea of raising money to buy a building!? This building was also serving as a residence for the founder. The Vick house has horrific memories, and dead dogs are still there in the ground. Moreover, countless dogs were suffering, so that a building could be financed. And the bottom line was seeing, that legislation, the key to changing everything, was at the bottom of the list for DDB. Buying the Vick house was a publicity stunt that took time and money away from dogs languishing in back yards throughout the U.S. And the effectiveness of the org seemed minimal. That is my experience with DDB and I regret to say that I no longer associate myself with the group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 6, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

I was an area representative with DDB for 6 years... from 2005 to 2011. For two years I was also a regional coordinator, coordinating several states' area representatives. In the 6 years I served DDB, I independently rescued and rehabilitated over 100 dogs. I asked for vet help only twice, and help with dogs that needed rescue on two occasions. When I joined DDB in 2005, all the reps were separate entities. We managed our own "branch" of DDB, and I always took pride in my work and had much respect for the DDB name. I was impressed yet concerned with the amount of trust that DDB freely poured into their representatives. Aside from a monthly report submission, we were essentially able to make our own decisions, manage our own fundraising and finances, and organize our own rescues. As the organization grew, much of that changed. I began as a representative for my county, dealing with the public and the dogs in my area that needed help. As the DDB name spread, more and more people from all over my state needed assistance, and because DDB had a hard time keeping reps for long periods, at times I would be the only representative for 100s of miles. I was expected to respond to calls and requests for help all over my state, which was essentially impossible for any one person to do, aside from the fact that I was working a full time job on top of my 30+ hours per week of volunteering. Also, because I was more active than many other reps, I would end up receiving calls for areas that HAD representatives... but they wouldn't return calls and answer emails. I discussed this problem several times with regional coordinators and the rep coordinator, but nothing ever changed and the expectations were always there from the organization that I should be doing more. Last summer, after 6 years of dedicated volunteering, we reps were all informed out of the blue, that the group was putting us all on hiatus... but only "temporarily". We were sent a mass email that questioned our loyalty to the group and our dedication to the cause; told us to really think about what being a rep meant to us... the rep program was going to be revamped. I spoke with the founder and she asked that I join the restructuring committee. I emailed the rep coordinator to express my interest, but was never included in the process. One day, we all received an email informing us that the rep program was now going to be completely different; that all of us reps had to work HARDER and that we also ALL needed to REAPPLY to the position in order to be allowed to be a DDB representative. Once the deadline for reapplication came and went and mine went unsubmitted, I never heard from DDB again For all of the years I volunteered for them, all of the dogs that I helped, and all of the good that i gave to their organization, I was never thanked for my service, nor was it even acknowledged that I helped them for as long as I did. I was one of only a handful of representatives that stayed with the group as long as I did. I have met and spent hours with Tami, the founder, at a tabling event, had long phone conversations and email interchanges with the regional coordinators, rep coordinators, and even Tami. I poured my heart into the group, and in the end, my existence was never even acknowledged. I think that DDB has made a mistakes putting all of their resources into the rehab center and in letting their rep progam go. They have taken away resources to hundreds if not thousands of dogs all over the country in order to develop the rehab center that can help only a handful of dogs at a time. They have burned bridges with supporters and spent so much of their funds on the center that I believe could have been put to far better uses. And they continue to solicit donations, despite the fact that their money isn't even going towards public education or rescue at this point. It is being poured into the rehab center. DDB's focus has become so near sighted, I really fear that by pouring all of their resources into the center and by dropping so many of their supporters, that they have brought more harm to the dogs than good. It's a shame because I used to have a lot of respect for this group, but I also never thought they were going to throw away their loyal representatives .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Indiana DDB rep and I personally have, with the help of DDB, rescued many dogs from bad situations, have helped to educate children and pet owners alike, and have helped to change laws in my community. I have always received help and encouragement, and have been inspired by the work that Tamira Thayne, DDB's founder, does. I have been actively involved with animal rescue for nearly 20 years, and this is as fine of an organization as one could want.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011

more

December 4, 2011

Ddb helps so many dogs in this country that must rescues overlook. Most rescues only help dogs who do not have homes. Ddb goes beyond that and gives animals who live a life on a chain/in a pen and outside in all weather a new chance at life. All animals are living and breathing beings and they have already figured out what humans need to....and that's love. I am so thankful ddb exists and is such a great resource when I personally need help in order to help dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I don`t have lots to say, but my friend attended a conference that Tammie attended, my friend had a $500.00 check in her pocket, she approached Tammie and Tammie didn`t give her the time of day, in fact my friend stated that Tammie was looking for more important people, so she stated that she put the check back in her pocket and walked away, she stated that she felt that Tammie was only looking for the big folks to interact with, and Tammie didn`t feel that she was one of those..how darn sad is that..this lady has a rescue of her own, but wanted to donate $500.00 to DDB, out of her own pocket, as she believed in this rescue because of me..makes me feel bad, but not so bad, that she didn`t give her money to DDB..that in the end made me feel WONDERFUL, but how sad of the dogs that DDB lies and says that they help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers