Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
123.9238145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

Thanks to Dogs Deserve Better Winnie who was tied with a rope and left in the woods will have a second chance at life.She was abandoned by the homeless person she lived with and was loyally laying beside the tent waiting for their return that never happened. She is being fostered now and will be up for adoption in the future. THANK YOU!!!!!
May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better has been a wonderful help to Gordy and Friends, a small outreach group in Upstate NY. We provide straw and food and help to 24/7 chained and penned dogs. When possible, we get dogs permanently off the chain, but since we are all volunteers and pay for almost everything out of our own pockets, it is very difficult to come up with vetting costs. DDB just provided us with a Hero Grant of $300 to help get a dog that was chained NINE YEARS vet care. We spent all but $16 at the first appointment, so we certainly could not have done this without DDB. They responded so quickly to us and helped us so enormously. We had no idea about his health condition and wanted to get him help quickly. We applied and got a response and the funds in a matter of days. I can't say enough good things about DDB, and we are very grateful to them for all they do for dogs everywhere and for what they did for us.
May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

I contacted Tami Thayne through Dogs Deserve Better and the Hero Fund Grant because I needed help.
I received a phone call about a family whose house burnt down and the family was in need. I am in construction, so I got in touch with them to see what I could do to help. They found a place to
live off Firetower Road, but it was in awful shape. When we got there to assess the house we found two chained dogs on the side that had been abandoned. They were chained and there was broken glass and insulation everywhere along with a lot of trash. Both were thin, but neighbors had apparently been throwing scraps to them. There were water buckets with dirty water for drinking. I decided to take them both. I couldn't leave them there. Sammie was chained to some sort or metal that was dug into the ground. He was so scared. We had treats and he was very food motivated so we made friends quickly. After two guys finally got him untangled from the rubble for me, I loaded him in my car and took him home. I have been working with him. He is housetraining very well, has learned
to
play ball, knows how to leash walk now, and is very friendly. When I took him to the vet he tested HW positive. The other dog tested negative. Naturally they both had parasite infections, and rashes from the insulation. I need help with the heartworm treatment. He is approximately 10 months old and is a pitbull. I want him to have a great life. He is so deserving ! I will find him a great forever home when he is well. For now I will keep him until he is ready to be adopted. Rudy, the other dog has already found a great home where he stays inside and has kids to play with. My funds are very limited, and as you know, there are many irresponsible pet owners in this area. I do what I can to help abandoned dogs. At this time my savings account is depleted trying to take care of these poor babies. The vet appointment for his treatment is Jan 9,2014 for heartworm treatment. Then he will be neutered when the vet deems it is safe for him.
THANK GOD FOR DDB !!! Tami contacted me immediately and called in the funds for treatment. Sammie was saved on 12/13/2013 and has now completed his heartworm treatment and is a FABULOUS dog. He is still with me while I search for his perfect forever home. Thanks to Dogs Deserve Better and Tami .... Sammie is going to have a great life !!! I am truly grateful for all they have done to help me save this deserving pit bull !!!!!
Thank You,
Kimberly Henson
1011 East White Street
Rock Hill, SC 29732
803-984-7999

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every part of my experience with this group has been positive !! There is nothing I would change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I could never express how grateful I am to Dogs Deserve Better, and Robin and Tamirya. When I first started in rescue, I happened upon DDB, and I was trying to help a dog get off a chain in CO. I messaged, and then called Robin. Her support and knowledge was invaluable. I was overwhelmed by their challenges and successes. When they (in my opinion) single handedly exposed Olympic Animal Sanctuary, I knew they would get those dogs their freedom. DDB is the most professional organization. Their mission, a desperate one, to free chained and penned dogs is the most noble cause I know. I hope everyone takes the time to get to know who they are, where they started and what they have accomplished. This organization deserves all of our respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope they would open a sanctuary near me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Well what can I say about Dogs Deserve Better, they go so out of there wat to rescue . When a dog is on a chain they are there. When a dog is is desperate they are there . The setting at there rescue is as comfortable as if gets for a dog or any animal for that matter . 12 acres of freedom, tje program and staff work so hard to make these dogs trust a human again and feel the loyalty without being so protective of once being on a chain. Donations are what make this program work, I'm personally are going to help them by working with some of the more difficult dogs as I'm a true believor as of a no kill philosophy . So pleas support DDB for the work they do will continue to where all dogs are off a chain .
Thank you
Johnnyo Animal Activist and Humanitarian

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am the owner of Wolf Spirit Sled Dog Rescue. We are a very small rescue and hardly receive donations but doesn't keep us from rescuing. If it weren't for DDB we would of never been able to help 2 husky that had been chained all their life and a pit bull eat up with mange that was chained. We could never express how grateful we are for DDB. Also they also help us bring one of the OAS dogs from AZ to VA. This is a great organization. I love them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am forever thankful for what DDB did for me and my rescue. Taking in a dog off the streets that was living chained outside is always a big task. However with DDB, they made it so easy and it was very nice of them that they helped and donated so I could get the dog vetted before it went into his forever home. I am and will alwayss support DDB. To me they are a prime example of what rescuing is all about. Thank you DDB. From Crystal in OHIO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

QUOTES from two former DDB reps -

"The Nat'l Coordinator was Tami's heavy. Tami had NOTHING to do with the Reps. The ONLY time calling her was acceptable was when she had to okay medical services. Tami/the nat'l coordinator put pressure on the Reps about Vet services being "too expensive".
And making an appt for a DDB dog to be Vetted was -always- an ordeal. Getting rescue dogs vetted became such a hassle that I paid for a few myself with my own money. I paid for everything involving the daily care of my fosters, with my own money. I couldn't rest knowing there was any dogs that went unchecked. I admit that I was blinded to Tami's absence because I was SO in love with the idea of helping chained dogs.

I was weary from having to explain and justify my actions and decisions as a Rep. So I quit. I couldn't over extend myself one more moment. Nor could I deal with anymore complaints from DDB. Of which 99% of complaints DDB would take to their Reps was money related. So that was it. And since then, there is NO help or attention for any of the chained dogs I was monitoring.

So my experience with DDB was negative throughout. And I saw Tami and DDB through rose colored glasses. But since then I've noticed the inadequacies more clearly. And when Tami bought that Vick house. And she put the Rep program on "hold" so she could focus her time and MONEY on this property..... Well I knew then DDB was not going in the right direction. The Rep program is the vital link between the dogs suffering in backyards, and the help they so desperately need."

***************************************************

"I was sad to leave, because I thought the cause was an honorable one, but didn't realize the reputation the organization has. I left because I don't agree with the organization's ethics and business practices. Since learning how they do business, I have definitely learned HOW NOT to run a Not-for-Profit Organization. I spent way too much of my own money on "their" dogs without receiving much back from the donations I solicited from them... sounding familiar? I could have over looked it a bit IF I didn't receive hundreds of vulgar hate e-mails during my final few days being an Area Rep for them, - I quit. Then I saw the people and the organization for what it was; sensationalist propaganda and sue-happy snarks."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

I was rep for this organization for about 8 months. Back then it was about rescuing and saving the dogs and I felt like I was helping change those dogs lives. After a while it became all about buying the vick property and NOT helping the dog at all. Once the vick property was DDBs, all the reps were dismissed. I helped raise money for this group and was thrown out like yesterdays trash. Every time I tried to get questions answered via emails to tami, they went unanswered. The person who ever answered emails or phone calls was Shannon Allen. Without her I would have been alone. Shannon made a big difference in my life where Tami was not seen or heard from once the vick property and her wedding started rolling around. After being dumped as a rep, I still had dogs in foster, and a couple of them needed new placement. I sent email after email and I was told they had to stay put unless I found them a new foster. No help ever came and I was stuck. This was just one more example of how the reps and the dogs were thrown aside as soon as the vick property came into the picture. I will never ever again donate my time or money to a group who claims they are here to help the dogs when all they want is their 15 minutes of fame in the spotlight. Since then I have returned to rescue on my own. I am now very untrusting of rescue groups after being used and thrown out by DDB. All my time and effort did was finance Tami's house, when she got what she wanted none of us were needed. So sad, I put my trust and faith in DDB and was let down in the worst way. But the worst offense of all is the dogs are no longer being helped and they are paying the ultimate price for DDB's greed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I was a DDB Rep for a year. I worked very hard and dedicated all of my free time and my -own- money to responding to calls and/or emails pleading for help. I juggled a full time job, my own household and all of my pets, and a family who I tried to see. My family saw that I was bankrupting myself and they would always be puzzled as to why I wasn't receiving more (financial) support. I never questioned the org, even though I was treated poorly througout my time with the org. For me, my commitment revolved around the dogs. So that's where my focus was. There were experiences with DDB and its leaders that brought up red flags and all of the negative experiences had to do with money. The Reps did the ground work, while the org's leaders focused on money. And money dictated how they treated the Reps, the public, and even the dogs! I NEVER could get anywhere with legistlative ideas because the org's leaders were focused on money. The founder gave absolutely no attention or support to the Reps. We were policed though. There were times I asked for help on various levels, and I got the runaround. Yet, when it came to DDB spending money, I could always count on hearing back from the coordinator or founder. I was being bullied by a fellow Rep and because "she brought in alot of money", I was forced to deal with this Rep's harrassment. I stayed as long as I could for the dogs. But finally, I had to quit after I was once again belittled by a coordinator and betrayed by a lazy foster Mom who this coordinator sided with. I stayed supportive of the org until the founder bought the Surry Co property. The Rep program was halted so they could could "campaign for money". In my mind, I was disillusioned with the idea of raising money to buy a building!? This building was also serving as a residence for the founder. The Vick house has horrific memories, and dead dogs are still there in the ground. Moreover, countless dogs were suffering, so that a building could be financed. And the bottom line was seeing, that legislation, the key to changing everything, was at the bottom of the list for DDB. Buying the Vick house was a publicity stunt that took time and money away from dogs languishing in back yards throughout the U.S. And the effectiveness of the org seemed minimal. That is my experience with DDB and I regret to say that I no longer associate myself with the group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer