Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
123.9238145
| 1 ... 5 6 7...11 |
Write A Review
May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We located a black lab in rural Missouri that had been chained up outside for 3 years. Max is the sweetest lab you could ever want. All he wanted was for someone to love him and play with him. We contacted several agencies to help us save Max and give him the quality of life he deserves. Everyone told us they were already overcrowded or unable to assist us. We reached out to Dogs Deserve Better, Inc and they saved Max. We brought him home that day and took him straight to our vet. It was the first time Max had seen a vet in 3 years. I was wondering how I was going to be able to save Max and pay for his vet costs. Dogs Deserve Better sent $300 directly to our vets office which covered the expenses for Max to get vaccinated and neutered. This organization made it so easy for us to help save this dogs life. I have never dealt with an agency that was so easy to work with, accomodating, and extremely fast to act to save a dogs life. They made the whole process stress free. Without this organization there would be hundreds of dogs chained up outside or dead. NO DOG or any animal deserves that abuse. Max has been with us for a year now and is happier than ever. He loves his new home with his 2 new buddies. They love playing together and can run free in our back yard without being chained up.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our organization takes in many chained dogs. We took one in , Ollie, who lived chained 24/7 for 3 years. Ollie was heartworm positive and need treatment and Dogs Deserve Better was there for him! They are an amazing organization that helps the forgotten ones that are chained in peoples backyards!!! They are there for those ones that nobody sees or that nobody knows exists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We took in three formerly chained dogs to our no-kill shelter. Dogs Deserve Better sent $900 to our veterinarian to get the dogs spayed/neutered and updated on vaccines. DDB goes above and beyond for the dogs they Rescue and they are excellent at assisting other shelters/rescues properly rehab formerlu chained/penned dogs. I highly recommend them for the sometimes thankless work they do.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I run a rescue in Missouri and we took in an abused pitbull who was chained surrounded by trash and was literally being choked. He was diagnosed with heartworm disease and several intestinal parasites and also developed a bad cough that required meds. Dogs Deserve Better granted him a Hero fund grant and without their help we would have struggled to provide all the necessary vetting Sam needed. Samson is now visiting nursing homes and starts training for his Canine Good Citizen Certification this week. We are greatful for the help of DDB.
January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If it was not for Rhapsedy, a DDB supporter and activist, my sweet Maci would be dead. An innocent
In terrible conditions, left to die in a tiny crate outside in the Summer heat. If not for these people, way too many dogs would die of abuse and neglect.

Rhapsedy of DDB fought the odds
with my girl, contacted rescues all over
the place until one was willing to take sweet Maci. KNICK KNACK PITTIE PACK in
Mont Alto agreed to take her 1/2 way cross country to safty. I was the KKPP foster and now forever mommy of Maci.

DDB saved her tbrough their network of caring citizens... through people who
Do Not get paid for their service... and DDB help countless Macis all over the nation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing but ask for even more caring people to step forward and help :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

As is normal practice for those who criticize visionaries, I noticed that the updated facts were NOT posted here regarding the FALSE Charges against DDB which have subsequently been DROPPED by Poindexter and his cohorts. ( His role in the Vick case was exposed in Gorant's Book " The Lost Dogs" )

In short, the entire episode was an attempted FRAME .
To read more about the facts on this one simply has to go to:
http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/inthenews.html
and read the PDF'S. dated 3/5 and 5/15 of 2013.

To Ms. Thayne's critics I would only asked these simple questions:

How many of you have made the personal sacrifices she has , both as a Military Veteran and Advocate for Abused Dogs?

How many of you have nearly DIED in this cause?

She HAS.

Personally I can think of no FINER USE for Vick's former place of dog torture and death than this.

Don't want to contribute to DDB work for chained dogs? Then Don't.
Don't want to contribute to other Orgs who work for the benefit of animals, the vast majority of whom have been criticized as well?
Then Don't.

Baseless negative comments are counter productive to the movement.

I need not add more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

State orders Surry dog rescue to place 8 dogs into foster care
September 27, 2012
SURRY – The state has directed Tamira Thayne, executive director of Dogs Deserve Better Inc., to place the organization's eight remaining dogs at the Good Newz Rehab Center into foster care by Sept.
30.

But that deadline is on hold while her attorney, Fred Taylor, works with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services officials, said Thayne. Elaine Lidholm, an agency spokeswoman, declined to discuss the deadline or other details of the state's ongoing probe into the anti-chaining dog rescue organization based out of the Surry County house where Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Michael Vick once ran a dogfighting operation.

The organization is not accepting any new chained dogs, Thayne said.

Thayne was charged with two misdemeanors — one count each of animal cruelty and inadequate care of animals — on Aug, 28, just days after a state veterinary and Surry Animal Control made an unannounced visit on Aug. 23. Thayne's trial is scheduled for Nov. 13 in Surry General District Court.

Dogs Deserve Better has been operating without the state's required approval since opening in June 2011, with records showing that least 30 dogs have been confined during that time, according to a Sept. 10 letter to Thayne from Daniel Kovich, a program manager with the state veterinary's office. Although the state reported giving her staff a verbal directive to stop accepting new chained dogs during a Jan. 25 inspection, Thayne said she never received the message.

According to the state's letter, the facility is violating some of the state's safe shelter laws because dogs are housed in groups inside the house and moved into different rooms of the house in response to aggression.

The state also referenced one dog fight that resulted in a $1,200 veterinarian bill, two dogs having been treated after being bitten by snake on overgrown property, and groups of dogs being kept in the kitchen with "direct access" to hazardous items including knives, glassware, small appliances and alcohol.

In his report, Kovich also noted that three bottles of pepper spray were found inside the house, one of which had been discharged.

While serving a search warrant on Aug. 27, Surry County deputies seized nine cans of pepper spray from the house, along with two Tasers, computers, vet records and a 1-year-old pit bull, according to search warrants. Ten days later, the courts awarded custody of the dog, Jada, back to Dogs Deserve Better.

"Use of pepper spray as a deterrent to aggression is in no way an appropriate husbandry practice in an animal shelter environment," according to Kovich's letter. "Negative interactions should be prevented from occurring in the first place."

The state and local investigation was spurred partially after several former employees, including former office manager Deana Whitfield, emailed pictures and complaints to Surry Animal Control in July. Whitfield and Dogs Deserve Better parted ways in late June, about one month after Whitfield filed an anonymous complaint alleging unsafe working conditions with the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

The May 21 complaint says that employees are not trained or equipped to safely deal with dog fights, that a single employee is frequently left alone in open rooms with large numbers of uncaged dogs, and that employees have not been trained to use the pepper spray provided to break up dog fights. The OSHA complaint was closed without an on-site inspection after Thayne had an additional on-site training class for employees.


More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

QUOTES from two former DDB reps -

"The Nat'l Coordinator was Tami's heavy. Tami had NOTHING to do with the Reps. The ONLY time calling her was acceptable was when she had to okay medical services. Tami/the nat'l coordinator put pressure on the Reps about Vet services being "too expensive".
And making an appt for a DDB dog to be Vetted was -always- an ordeal. Getting rescue dogs vetted became such a hassle that I paid for a few myself with my own money. I paid for everything involving the daily care of my fosters, with my own money. I couldn't rest knowing there was any dogs that went unchecked. I admit that I was blinded to Tami's absence because I was SO in love with the idea of helping chained dogs.

I was weary from having to explain and justify my actions and decisions as a Rep. So I quit. I couldn't over extend myself one more moment. Nor could I deal with anymore complaints from DDB. Of which 99% of complaints DDB would take to their Reps was money related. So that was it. And since then, there is NO help or attention for any of the chained dogs I was monitoring.

So my experience with DDB was negative throughout. And I saw Tami and DDB through rose colored glasses. But since then I've noticed the inadequacies more clearly. And when Tami bought that Vick house. And she put the Rep program on "hold" so she could focus her time and MONEY on this property..... Well I knew then DDB was not going in the right direction. The Rep program is the vital link between the dogs suffering in backyards, and the help they so desperately need."

***************************************************

"I was sad to leave, because I thought the cause was an honorable one, but didn't realize the reputation the organization has. I left because I don't agree with the organization's ethics and business practices. Since learning how they do business, I have definitely learned HOW NOT to run a Not-for-Profit Organization. I spent way too much of my own money on "their" dogs without receiving much back from the donations I solicited from them... sounding familiar? I could have over looked it a bit IF I didn't receive hundreds of vulgar hate e-mails during my final few days being an Area Rep for them, - I quit. Then I saw the people and the organization for what it was; sensationalist propaganda and sue-happy snarks."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 11, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

This organization is a SCAM. DDB duped people into giving them money to purchase the Vick property. They promised a "rehab center" for chained dogs. People gave them and continue to give them money however, there is no "rehab center" nor is there a solid plan! There will NEVER be a center on this property unless a VERY rich person steps up and offers to pay for it. We all know what the chances of that happening are...less than slim to none! They only raised money for the down payment on the Vick property and the money that they continue to raise goes towards the bills and Tami's salary! They only have only a few dogs at the "center" for adoption and they will not take any dogs that actually need rehabilitation because they cannot handle them! What happens when the fabled rehab center does not get built?? Will the donors get their money back? This place should have never been purchased unless they had ALL of the money to do what was promised up front! I hope all of the people that donate know that their money is paying Tami's salary (yes, she takes a salary from donations), mortgage, utilities, cable, internet, etc. GET A JOB TAMIRA! My rescue saves more dogs than DDB yearly and I work full time because we don't get paid to rescue! DDB is a pathetic excuse for a rescue and gives REAL rescuers a bad name!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer