Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
110 Reviews
123.9727345
| 1 ... 5 6 7...11 |
Write A Review
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am forever thankful for what DDB did for me and my rescue. Taking in a dog off the streets that was living chained outside is always a big task. However with DDB, they made it so easy and it was very nice of them that they helped and donated so I could get the dog vetted before it went into his forever home. I am and will alwayss support DDB. To me they are a prime example of what rescuing is all about. Thank you DDB. From Crystal in OHIO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am the Executive President of AnimaNaturalis Peru and I am glad to write a comment about Dogs Deserve Better. Thanks to their help, we were able to rescue two dogs from a life of misery and suffering in Lima, Peru. The two of them were left tied to a post in front of the house that once was theirs. Thanks to the grant provided by DDB, we were able to rescue, spay and neuter, pay for vet bills and place them in new homes. Without their help our job could had been much more difficult.
My students and I are also involved in their wonderful project "Valentines for Chained Dogs" and we are proud to help them in their endeavors to help needy animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. They are doing a great job in their area of expertise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I only give to organizations I know well for many years and trust. DDB has earned my support and trust.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

DDB was the only reason I could get two dogs out of a lonely filthy pen and into a rescue group, where they quickly found their forever homes. Their Hero Fund grants covered the vet care these dogs had never had and the grants were the only way the rescue groups could afford to take the dogs in. I watched as those two lives were directly saved by DDB.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better does amazing things for chained animals all across this country. DDB changes so many dogs lives for the better. Their Hero Fund helped my rescue organization save a wonderful Rottie who was chained up for 8 years and is now in a loving home because of that fund. What they do is extremely important and i support them 100%.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We located a black lab in rural Missouri that had been chained up outside for 3 years. Max is the sweetest lab you could ever want. All he wanted was for someone to love him and play with him. We contacted several agencies to help us save Max and give him the quality of life he deserves. Everyone told us they were already overcrowded or unable to assist us. We reached out to Dogs Deserve Better, Inc and they saved Max. We brought him home that day and took him straight to our vet. It was the first time Max had seen a vet in 3 years. I was wondering how I was going to be able to save Max and pay for his vet costs. Dogs Deserve Better sent $300 directly to our vets office which covered the expenses for Max to get vaccinated and neutered. This organization made it so easy for us to help save this dogs life. I have never dealt with an agency that was so easy to work with, accomodating, and extremely fast to act to save a dogs life. They made the whole process stress free. Without this organization there would be hundreds of dogs chained up outside or dead. NO DOG or any animal deserves that abuse. Max has been with us for a year now and is happier than ever. He loves his new home with his 2 new buddies. They love playing together and can run free in our back yard without being chained up.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our organization takes in many chained dogs. We took one in , Ollie, who lived chained 24/7 for 3 years. Ollie was heartworm positive and need treatment and Dogs Deserve Better was there for him! They are an amazing organization that helps the forgotten ones that are chained in peoples backyards!!! They are there for those ones that nobody sees or that nobody knows exists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We took in three formerly chained dogs to our no-kill shelter. Dogs Deserve Better sent $900 to our veterinarian to get the dogs spayed/neutered and updated on vaccines. DDB goes above and beyond for the dogs they Rescue and they are excellent at assisting other shelters/rescues properly rehab formerlu chained/penned dogs. I highly recommend them for the sometimes thankless work they do.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I run a rescue in Missouri and we took in an abused pitbull who was chained surrounded by trash and was literally being choked. He was diagnosed with heartworm disease and several intestinal parasites and also developed a bad cough that required meds. Dogs Deserve Better granted him a Hero fund grant and without their help we would have struggled to provide all the necessary vetting Sam needed. Samson is now visiting nursing homes and starts training for his Canine Good Citizen Certification this week. We are greatful for the help of DDB.
January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer