Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
115 Reviews
1234.017395
Write A Review
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This program is exceptional. The grants are easy to apply for and quickly applied to vet bills. Being a rescue the group the 300 dollar hero.grant is a huge help financially. Very grateful for this organization!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better is an amazing organization that leaped to the assistance of a special dog named Codi. I found Codi chained with no shelter and once I was able to negotiate an owner surrender, Dogs Deserve Better paid for the neuter and shots which without the financial assistance, this boy would not have had an adoptive home so quickly. Thank you :)
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better is one of the most amazing rescue groups i have come across. I've been involved in some form of rescue work for 20 years, he last 13 specifically with dogs and i could not be more proud to have met such an amazing group of folks with a true passion and heart for dogs. Their dedication, organization and expeditiousness with with they worked to assist a dog in my neighborhood that was beyond my help was amazing. Thanks to DDB Noodle now has a great home with an amazing family, a far cry from the garbage filled dilapidated shed he was chained in.
Through the DDB's Hero Fund, i was able to find a family that was anxious to welcome Noodle into their home while having DDB cover the much needed medical care he needed which they could not afford at the time.
Since re-homing Noodle, i have been able to turn to DDB for information and resources to help other dogs across 6 states. They are always the 1st name i mention when someone knows of a dog in a bad situation and usually the last phone call we need to make because they take care of business and put these dogs first. HUGE thanks to Tami and the DDB staff and volunteers for all they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

the only change i would make is to win the lottery so that i could quit my job and work with these amazing people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Doing rescue wk in west MI. for 30 yrs- "Critter Cafe Rescue" became official 10 yrs ago- I do all species of domestic pets and also rehab wildlife here in my home.
Every rescue has some pitfalls/disgruntled ex-volunteers smear campaign too; its too bad but in all my years of being involved-
that's the way it is.
In rescue, it gets pretty hard to remain sweetly characterized to your fellow human race seeing so much diabolical STUPIDITY, abuse and neglect from day to day done onto our innocent voiceless fur and feather babies.
I try and stay far away from "problems" involving other rescues and unsatisfied ppl that that simply are out to pitch a b*tch although I do pay attn when there becomes so many incidences w/ sick and dieing animals even though a rescue is bringing in $95K like one here in West MI. now.
That said, in my experience wking w/DDB-they made things easy and simple for me to get through a remarkably tough situation to rescue a pit-bull from one of the worst cities in MI. --FLINT-- during wild-life"baby season" here and a house full of domestic bunnies, guineas, chinnes, ratties, birds, cats+ other dogs to care for.
Between the transport, the vetting, the ppw taking in Life Care contracts to adopt considering the breed, and home-cks, etc. the one thing that was simple was DDB's help.
I appreciate that help **so** very much.
Somehow in a world of greed, abuse, instant gratification-seeking, depression and suffering- a person in rescue has to have some sort of "break" or burn-out ensues including physical health deterioration. All of the nay-sayers that are able to walk away from rescue at any time w/o strings attached need to consider that.
This is a non paid job that yet is worked 24/7/365 -- for me at least.
I appreciate DDB's service being there when I needed it.
Thanks again Tami.
Sincerely,
Christine Lea
Critter Cafe Rescue
5818 Airline Rd.
Fruitport, MI 49415
231-366-7197
"WE ALL MATTER"

"As a FULL TIME ANIMAL RESCUER, some people think I'm crazy- At least my soul is intact."
-Christine Lea

FACT: 92 out of every 100 drugs that successfully pass animal tests STILL fail or cause harm during human trials.
("LIKE"US on FB and check out our work)
https://www.facebook.com/CRITTER.CAFE.RESCUE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am the owner of Wolf Spirit Sled Dog Rescue. We are a very small rescue and hardly receive donations but doesn't keep us from rescuing. If it weren't for DDB we would of never been able to help 2 husky that had been chained all their life and a pit bull eat up with mange that was chained. We could never express how grateful we are for DDB. Also they also help us bring one of the OAS dogs from AZ to VA. This is a great organization. I love them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am forever thankful for what DDB did for me and my rescue. Taking in a dog off the streets that was living chained outside is always a big task. However with DDB, they made it so easy and it was very nice of them that they helped and donated so I could get the dog vetted before it went into his forever home. I am and will alwayss support DDB. To me they are a prime example of what rescuing is all about. Thank you DDB. From Crystal in OHIO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am the Executive President of AnimaNaturalis Peru and I am glad to write a comment about Dogs Deserve Better. Thanks to their help, we were able to rescue two dogs from a life of misery and suffering in Lima, Peru. The two of them were left tied to a post in front of the house that once was theirs. Thanks to the grant provided by DDB, we were able to rescue, spay and neuter, pay for vet bills and place them in new homes. Without their help our job could had been much more difficult.
My students and I are also involved in their wonderful project "Valentines for Chained Dogs" and we are proud to help them in their endeavors to help needy animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. They are doing a great job in their area of expertise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I only give to organizations I know well for many years and trust. DDB has earned my support and trust.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

DDB was the only reason I could get two dogs out of a lonely filthy pen and into a rescue group, where they quickly found their forever homes. Their Hero Fund grants covered the vet care these dogs had never had and the grants were the only way the rescue groups could afford to take the dogs in. I watched as those two lives were directly saved by DDB.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better does amazing things for chained animals all across this country. DDB changes so many dogs lives for the better. Their Hero Fund helped my rescue organization save a wonderful Rottie who was chained up for 8 years and is now in a loving home because of that fund. What they do is extremely important and i support them 100%.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer