Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
123.6574145
| 1 ... 5 6 7...11 |
Write A Review
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I only give to organizations I know well for many years and trust. DDB has earned my support and trust.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

DDB was the only reason I could get two dogs out of a lonely filthy pen and into a rescue group, where they quickly found their forever homes. Their Hero Fund grants covered the vet care these dogs had never had and the grants were the only way the rescue groups could afford to take the dogs in. I watched as those two lives were directly saved by DDB.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better does amazing things for chained animals all across this country. DDB changes so many dogs lives for the better. Their Hero Fund helped my rescue organization save a wonderful Rottie who was chained up for 8 years and is now in a loving home because of that fund. What they do is extremely important and i support them 100%.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We located a black lab in rural Missouri that had been chained up outside for 3 years. Max is the sweetest lab you could ever want. All he wanted was for someone to love him and play with him. We contacted several agencies to help us save Max and give him the quality of life he deserves. Everyone told us they were already overcrowded or unable to assist us. We reached out to Dogs Deserve Better, Inc and they saved Max. We brought him home that day and took him straight to our vet. It was the first time Max had seen a vet in 3 years. I was wondering how I was going to be able to save Max and pay for his vet costs. Dogs Deserve Better sent $300 directly to our vets office which covered the expenses for Max to get vaccinated and neutered. This organization made it so easy for us to help save this dogs life. I have never dealt with an agency that was so easy to work with, accomodating, and extremely fast to act to save a dogs life. They made the whole process stress free. Without this organization there would be hundreds of dogs chained up outside or dead. NO DOG or any animal deserves that abuse. Max has been with us for a year now and is happier than ever. He loves his new home with his 2 new buddies. They love playing together and can run free in our back yard without being chained up.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our organization takes in many chained dogs. We took one in , Ollie, who lived chained 24/7 for 3 years. Ollie was heartworm positive and need treatment and Dogs Deserve Better was there for him! They are an amazing organization that helps the forgotten ones that are chained in peoples backyards!!! They are there for those ones that nobody sees or that nobody knows exists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We took in three formerly chained dogs to our no-kill shelter. Dogs Deserve Better sent $900 to our veterinarian to get the dogs spayed/neutered and updated on vaccines. DDB goes above and beyond for the dogs they Rescue and they are excellent at assisting other shelters/rescues properly rehab formerlu chained/penned dogs. I highly recommend them for the sometimes thankless work they do.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I run a rescue in Missouri and we took in an abused pitbull who was chained surrounded by trash and was literally being choked. He was diagnosed with heartworm disease and several intestinal parasites and also developed a bad cough that required meds. Dogs Deserve Better granted him a Hero fund grant and without their help we would have struggled to provide all the necessary vetting Sam needed. Samson is now visiting nursing homes and starts training for his Canine Good Citizen Certification this week. We are greatful for the help of DDB.
January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If it was not for Rhapsedy, a DDB supporter and activist, my sweet Maci would be dead. An innocent
In terrible conditions, left to die in a tiny crate outside in the Summer heat. If not for these people, way too many dogs would die of abuse and neglect.

Rhapsedy of DDB fought the odds
with my girl, contacted rescues all over
the place until one was willing to take sweet Maci. KNICK KNACK PITTIE PACK in
Mont Alto agreed to take her 1/2 way cross country to safty. I was the KKPP foster and now forever mommy of Maci.

DDB saved her tbrough their network of caring citizens... through people who
Do Not get paid for their service... and DDB help countless Macis all over the nation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing but ask for even more caring people to step forward and help :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

As is normal practice for those who criticize visionaries, I noticed that the updated facts were NOT posted here regarding the FALSE Charges against DDB which have subsequently been DROPPED by Poindexter and his cohorts. ( His role in the Vick case was exposed in Gorant's Book " The Lost Dogs" )

In short, the entire episode was an attempted FRAME .
To read more about the facts on this one simply has to go to:
http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/inthenews.html
and read the PDF'S. dated 3/5 and 5/15 of 2013.

To Ms. Thayne's critics I would only asked these simple questions:

How many of you have made the personal sacrifices she has , both as a Military Veteran and Advocate for Abused Dogs?

How many of you have nearly DIED in this cause?

She HAS.

Personally I can think of no FINER USE for Vick's former place of dog torture and death than this.

Don't want to contribute to DDB work for chained dogs? Then Don't.
Don't want to contribute to other Orgs who work for the benefit of animals, the vast majority of whom have been criticized as well?
Then Don't.

Baseless negative comments are counter productive to the movement.

I need not add more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer