Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
123.9238145
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

I am the director of Southwest PA. Retriever Rescue Org, and also run the Shades Of Grey Sanctuary for senior and special needs dogs. We incorporated in 2000 and came into existance at just about the same time as Dogs Deserve Better. I have worked closely with DDB and promoted them over the years and have nothing but the deepest respect for their mission and their staff. While I have not made the long trip to the new rehab center in VA. yet, I have been to the former Tipton PA. location dozens of times. I can tell you from personal experience that the dogs in need are the center or DDB's focus just as it is for us.

Not only are we supporters of Dogs Deserve Better, we are also the recipient of a Hero Fund grant from them. We rescued a very senior black lab named Max who had lived his entire life at the end of a chain in Mt. Pleasant PA. He was thin, arthritic and and had a tumor growing in his right eye. DDB was kind enough to cover the cost of the tumor removal and made it possible for Max to live his last year and a half indoors in the comfort of our home, and to be able to see without the pain of the tumor he had lived with.

DDB and Tamira Thayne have supported us since our beginning by featuring our dogs in need in their flyers, including stories of our dogs in their books and publications and even featured our Maggie as the model for their lead dog in the book A New Name For Worthless. It has been our honor and pleasure to work with them for the past 14+ years and we intend to continue.

THANK YOU Tami and DDB for the wonderful work you do, don't let anyone tell you that you and not doing a great job!
May 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I don't understand how people keep falling for this scam. Since May 6, 31 positive reviews giving DDB the best ratings, all in 3 days? Most of the reviews before that had been negative.

The leader of DDB had people write these positive reviews. Read them and you see most of them
received money from DDB's hero grant program. That program has paid out $40,800 to help 136 dogs.

Last year, DDB took in donations exceeding $1,100,000 and only had $450,000 in expenses. They had over $650,000 left over. They only set aside $40,000 to help 136 dogs when they could be helping over 2000 dogs with all that extra money they have.

Huge red flags when -
A.) A charity has to get people to write positive reviews in exchange for generous grants
B.) Takes in in excess of $1,100,000 and helps so few dogs.

Their hero grant program helps 136 dogs for $40,000, their Good Newz Rehab Center has only helped 123 dogs in 3 years and they foster another 150 dogs.

DDB's leader has been convicted of stealing and receiving stolen property and she had been charged with animal cruelty and neglect. Those charges were dropped only when she ruthlessly went after her accusers on the web.

I totally agree with the previous comment, these new positive reviews are not spontaneous shows of appreciation. It is an organized campaign, along with the new pictures and videos that DDB posted. It is meant to distract people from the fact that DDB took in so much money and helped so few dogs.

Update 6/12

In response to DogsDeserveBetter comment:

How childish and immature must you be? Even if anyone were foolish enough to believe that this was a genuine job offer, I would never work for a convicted thief and I would never work for someone who was charged with animal cruelty. I would never work for an organization that used mace and tasers to rehab dogs. I can assure you, had I over one million dollars, I could and most certainly would help more than the 53 dogs DDB rescued in 2013. How do you sleep at night? You should be ashamed and people will eventually see it for what it is, profiting on the suffering of dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire their leader, replace the board of directors with honest, reputable members.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2014

more

May 9, 2014

If you see a chained dog or know of an owner with one that needs assistance, please contact Dogs Deserve Better. They're a magnificent organization that will assist to get a yard dog off a chain and into a home to live a better life and as the name says - Dogs Deserve Better!

Vetting
assistance is available through the Hero Fund which can make the difference for a dog to be helped by an individual or a rescue group. If it wasn't for this organization many dogs would still be living a life of unutterable misery outside in the elements.

Since first finding out about them a few years ago I've had a growing appreciation for this organization and what they do nationally to advocate for changes of chained dogs. I can attest to the wonderful work they do as they've assisted with dogs I've been involved in rescuing. If it hadn't been for their support then the change for the dogs to have a new life would've been slow going or never changed at all but Dogs Deserve Better expeditiously made that change!

I steadfastly support them so they can continue to help others help more dogs in the future! If you're unable to rescue then please support Dogs Deserve Better as the Hero Fund is a life changer for many dogs to 'break the chain' and you'll be a part of changing the lives of many dogs!

Please follow the link below and support the next dog that 'deserves better' and awaiting a new life!
Be a part of breaking a chain!
http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/hero.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More of the general public needs to know about Dogs Deserve Better and the Hero Fund. We can print out and post flyers in laundries, grocery stores and any public bulletin board in our local communities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned of DDB several months ago and followed their work before I decided to donate as I only donate to reputable organizations. DDB truly cares about dogs and helps many dogs that would otherwise not get help. They are a professional and trustworthy rescue who is committed to providing the training and rehab needed for a dog to be successfully placed. When I send a donation to DDB I am always sent a thank you and verification. They are truly a class act. The naysayers are just disgruntled wanna bees who get kicks out of trying to destroy good things.

DDB has my full support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 31, 2014

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded... more

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I hope its obvious to all who check out these recent glowing reviews, that the CEO Thayne has rounded up a few dozen "admirers" in the past few days to boost her Guidestar rating. These are not spontaneous shows of appreciation, they have been solicited. Many have been recipients of Hero Award cash, or cross -postings on the DDB site for their cause. Thayne has already inflated her FB page fan count by tens of thousands within a very short time period, bought and paid for (yes, there are companies that will do that for a fee). Please look at some of the one star reviews from years past. This is one CEO who knows how to game the system and will not hesitate to it if it means more donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire board of directors AND the CEO and start over with competent, honest people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded the chip-in and the chip in was raised. This happened three times at least, it got up to over $650. Meanwhile it was announced that the dog had been adopted by a family and would be picked up the next week - the adoption agreement occurred during the week of the chip in, so obviously the dog was already vetted. It was a real cute picture and Christmas time, so DDB milked it for all it was worth. I used the chip contact feature to challenge the ethics of this behavior and received a nasty threatening email back from The DDB CEO. She asked: "What do you do, except hound someone you don't even know? Where does your hatred flow from? Do you have a very unsatisfying life or something? "
She said, " I know that because I wouldn't be associated with someone who is as cruel and hateful and spiteful as you are."
Totally unprofessional and this is not an isolated incident. She only tolerates those who agree and don't question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new CEO and Board of Directors. Clean house.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended return and changed the fiscal year from July 1 2009 to June 30 2010 - and I can't see any difference between the two except for the change in the fiscal year. Kind of makes you wonder what happened in July and August 2010.

BRING JOEL HOME!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being promptly banned from their FB site after asking fair questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start with an IRS audit.

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I run and operate a lard breed animal rescue, we have asked and received fast response, I have used them I believe 3 maybe 4 times. This is a program doing a Great job for the public, There is so much RED TAPE , when i couldn't find any help the animal cause i didn't have my nonprofit go though at that point. all they asked was for me to give them the info and photos and once we had them healthy
for you guys that have heard bad things,

This group is great, maybe helpful to a fault if anything, Dogs Deserve Better are there to help animals, and I would hope that the horrible dog fighting people, don't come out on top

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am in awe of the Dogs Deserve Better organization!!! I was expecting to call DDB and have to leave a message that probably wouldn't be returned for a few weeks. To the contrary, each and every time I've called DDB, Julie has answered the phone and been very helpful. I expected to wait for the decision about the grants for months. No, I received the deposited veterinary care funds after only three days. Their Hero Grant helped us to rescue a dog who had been living outdoors for 11 years and on a chair for the past five. Their grant relieved a huge financial burden by getting our new, awesome dog fully vetted and ready to enjoy life!

All non-profits, rescue organizations, and social justice advocacy groups should take advice from Dogs Deserve Better!!!! They're doing it right!! Their love for animals and wish for them to have better lives is still at the forefront of their mission. I hope they never, ever change!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dogs Deserve Better and Tamira!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I could never express how grateful I am to Dogs Deserve Better, and Robin and Tamirya. When I first started in rescue, I happened upon DDB, and I was trying to help a dog get off a chain in CO. I messaged, and then called Robin. Her support and knowledge was invaluable. I was overwhelmed by their challenges and successes. When they (in my opinion) single handedly exposed Olympic Animal Sanctuary, I knew they would get those dogs their freedom. DDB is the most professional organization. Their mission, a desperate one, to free chained and penned dogs is the most noble cause I know. I hope everyone takes the time to get to know who they are, where they started and what they have accomplished. This organization deserves all of our respect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope they would open a sanctuary near me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the Co-Founder and Executive Director of a dog rescue group in Phoenix, AZ that has special focus on helping chained dogs, we are strong supporters of DDB specifically the Hero Fund they provide. DDB is doing amazing work in saving dogs, promoting anti-chaining laws and educating the general public. Not to mention, the amazing support they provide to other rescues that rescue chained dogs~ There is no other group doing what DDB is doing. DDB fully has our support and appreciation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Words can not express the thoughts deep within my heart about DDB! They have saved so many helpless animals. They do not give up, go to extreme measures and get ur done immediately! I can not
tell you how much this organization means to me and so many people that have had no clue of what
goes on out there. Those people in turn have joined DDB forces and focus on what is important...the helpless, voiceless animals! Thank you for helping me and so many others.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer