Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12.70492345
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
December 6, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

I was a DDB Rep for a year. I worked very hard and dedicated all of my free time and my -own- money to responding to calls and/or emails pleading for help. I juggled a full time job, my own household and all of my pets, and a family who I tried to see. My family saw that I was bankrupting myself and they would always be puzzled as to why I wasn't receiving more (financial) support. I never questioned the org, even though I was treated poorly througout my time with the org. For me, my commitment revolved around the dogs. So that's where my focus was. There were experiences with DDB and its leaders that brought up red flags and all of the negative experiences had to do with money. The Reps did the ground work, while the org's leaders focused on money. And money dictated how they treated the Reps, the public, and even the dogs! I NEVER could get anywhere with legistlative ideas because the org's leaders were focused on money. The founder gave absolutely no attention or support to the Reps. We were policed though. There were times I asked for help on various levels, and I got the runaround. Yet, when it came to DDB spending money, I could always count on hearing back from the coordinator or founder. I was being bullied by a fellow Rep and because "she brought in alot of money", I was forced to deal with this Rep's harrassment. I stayed as long as I could for the dogs. But finally, I had to quit after I was once again belittled by a coordinator and betrayed by a lazy foster Mom who this coordinator sided with. I stayed supportive of the org until the founder bought the Surry Co property. The Rep program was halted so they could could "campaign for money". In my mind, I was disillusioned with the idea of raising money to buy a building!? This building was also serving as a residence for the founder. The Vick house has horrific memories, and dead dogs are still there in the ground. Moreover, countless dogs were suffering, so that a building could be financed. And the bottom line was seeing, that legislation, the key to changing everything, was at the bottom of the list for DDB. Buying the Vick house was a publicity stunt that took time and money away from dogs languishing in back yards throughout the U.S. And the effectiveness of the org seemed minimal. That is my experience with DDB and I regret to say that I no longer associate myself with the group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 6, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

I was an area representative with DDB for 6 years... from 2005 to 2011. For two years I was also a regional coordinator, coordinating several states' area representatives. In the 6 years I served DDB, I independently rescued and rehabilitated over 100 dogs. I asked for vet help only twice, and help with dogs that needed rescue on two occasions. When I joined DDB in 2005, all the reps were separate entities. We managed our own "branch" of DDB, and I always took pride in my work and had much respect for the DDB name. I was impressed yet concerned with the amount of trust that DDB freely poured into their representatives. Aside from a monthly report submission, we were essentially able to make our own decisions, manage our own fundraising and finances, and organize our own rescues. As the organization grew, much of that changed. I began as a representative for my county, dealing with the public and the dogs in my area that needed help. As the DDB name spread, more and more people from all over my state needed assistance, and because DDB had a hard time keeping reps for long periods, at times I would be the only representative for 100s of miles. I was expected to respond to calls and requests for help all over my state, which was essentially impossible for any one person to do, aside from the fact that I was working a full time job on top of my 30+ hours per week of volunteering. Also, because I was more active than many other reps, I would end up receiving calls for areas that HAD representatives... but they wouldn't return calls and answer emails. I discussed this problem several times with regional coordinators and the rep coordinator, but nothing ever changed and the expectations were always there from the organization that I should be doing more. Last summer, after 6 years of dedicated volunteering, we reps were all informed out of the blue, that the group was putting us all on hiatus... but only "temporarily". We were sent a mass email that questioned our loyalty to the group and our dedication to the cause; told us to really think about what being a rep meant to us... the rep program was going to be revamped. I spoke with the founder and she asked that I join the restructuring committee. I emailed the rep coordinator to express my interest, but was never included in the process. One day, we all received an email informing us that the rep program was now going to be completely different; that all of us reps had to work HARDER and that we also ALL needed to REAPPLY to the position in order to be allowed to be a DDB representative. Once the deadline for reapplication came and went and mine went unsubmitted, I never heard from DDB again For all of the years I volunteered for them, all of the dogs that I helped, and all of the good that i gave to their organization, I was never thanked for my service, nor was it even acknowledged that I helped them for as long as I did. I was one of only a handful of representatives that stayed with the group as long as I did. I have met and spent hours with Tami, the founder, at a tabling event, had long phone conversations and email interchanges with the regional coordinators, rep coordinators, and even Tami. I poured my heart into the group, and in the end, my existence was never even acknowledged. I think that DDB has made a mistakes putting all of their resources into the rehab center and in letting their rep progam go. They have taken away resources to hundreds if not thousands of dogs all over the country in order to develop the rehab center that can help only a handful of dogs at a time. They have burned bridges with supporters and spent so much of their funds on the center that I believe could have been put to far better uses. And they continue to solicit donations, despite the fact that their money isn't even going towards public education or rescue at this point. It is being poured into the rehab center. DDB's focus has become so near sighted, I really fear that by pouring all of their resources into the center and by dropping so many of their supporters, that they have brought more harm to the dogs than good. It's a shame because I used to have a lot of respect for this group, but I also never thought they were going to throw away their loyal representatives .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 5, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

For a VERY brief time I was a Dogs Deserve Better Rep. with DDB. My reason for leaving was the Founder/CEO. She REALLY push for money. When she was trying to raise money for Vick's old place and sent an email to all of the reps, basically blasting everyone for not giving money..that was it for me. Some of us HAD donated and others wanted to but couldn't because they found themselves unemployed etc. because of the economy. The secondary reason I decided to step out was because there was a LOT of disagreements, fights, etc. in this group - not just the people who subscribe/support it but the people who run it/volunteer etc. What REALLY upsets me is all the dogs that are not getting the treatment/care/attention they need while all the in-fighting is going on. I was in it SOLELY to help the dogs - The leadership of this group has forgotten that MOST of the people involved DONATE their time - and given MOST have families, jobs etc. that's a pretty big deal. Yes, financially supporting an organizations needs is important BUT the email was berating. I stayed on the Facebook page to try to keep up w/any dogs near me that needed homes/help etc. and/or to help w/the laws BUT not after this..obviously things have only gone from bad to worse. On a side note, for MONTHS I tried to get someone from DDB locally to meet w/the animal control director (she was MORE than willing) to get things in place to make chaining illegal where I live. NO ONE EVER followed up - even after multiple promises they would. Sad, sad, sad. IF (and I'm saying IF) the goal was for the Founder/CEO to place herself in the mansion and that was it..she will not be able to maintain it without income. Donors are being taken advantage of unfortunately.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Indiana DDB rep and I personally have, with the help of DDB, rescued many dogs from bad situations, have helped to educate children and pet owners alike, and have helped to change laws in my community. I have always received help and encouragement, and have been inspired by the work that Tamira Thayne, DDB's founder, does. I have been actively involved with animal rescue for nearly 20 years, and this is as fine of an organization as one could want.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

Blind, unquestioning loyalty is very dangerous. At the very least, this organization's actions over the past year have raised some very legitimate questions that are not being adequately addressed. I for one have one such question over the Fiala case. Why did DDB pour money, time, resources, planning, and support to reposses one dog under Fiala's care who had a willing adopter, and yet will not even take in dogs from former fosters who are begging for DDB's help? Are we supposed to keep supporting an organization that keeps exercising very questionable judgement? DDB may have won in the Fiala case but why should my donations keep going toward's legal expenses if this need not have gone to court in the first place?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 4, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

SURRY— For members of the rescue group Dogs Deserve Better, moving into the Bad Newz Kennels property was supposed to signify a new beginning.

We were there in June when they started settling in.

"We thought it would be a great fit because the whole idea of turning something
negative into something positive, it's very powerful," Tamira Thayne.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Follow NewsChannel 3 on Facebook
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


But three months after their relocation from Pennsylvania, former volunteers and employees are calling into question the non-profit's central mission and possible misappropriation of funds.

The latest defection from Dogs Deserve Better, Shannon Allen, the group's former national rescue coordinator.

"I don't agree, a lot of people don't agree with the rehab center, amount of money being spent there," says Allen.

Allen says there is very little oversight on the organization's founder, Tamira Thayne.

The former employee says money from past fundraising has gone missing, unaccounted for. Meanwhile, the organization put limits how many dogs they can take in at a time, and screens their picks based on behavior.

"The point of a rehab center is to help dogs that don't get along with other dogs and other people," says Allen.

Volunteers say Tamira's reasoning for not taking in critical care dogs is that the vet bills were too expensive. Meanwhile, they allege Tamira was fundraising for a new carport for the mansion.

"These were dogs in dire straits that were in very bad condition, needed lots of medical and emotional care," says Allen.

And she isn't the only one losing confidence in the organization. Allen says before their move to Virginia, Dogs Deserve Better had over 150 rescue representatives all over the country. Now there is less than 25 still affiliated with the organization.

"A lot of people left because when we bought this fenced center, we were told to stop rescuing, that we couldn't afford it anymore," she says.

We went to the infamous mansion in Surry to confront Tamira, but no answer. And answers are exactly what these former volunteers are searching for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Dogs Deserve Better is an organization started by one person...who had a problem with what has been an American accepted way of life, chaining your dog. The founder was visionary and put into words everything wrong with this acceptable practice of neglect and abuse. Others formed a group around her and the group grew quickly to be national. It has been a bumpy ride, and I wont say no problems ever happened along the way. The founder was arrested for helping a dog dying on a chain and she almost went to jail. Laws are not on her side. But she has opened many paths and other anti chaining groups have started now. Her organization has been attacked tremendously by small minded people and jealous people but has withstood the blows. I would highly recommend supporting this visionary to continue her work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011

more

December 4, 2011

Ddb helps so many dogs in this country that must rescues overlook. Most rescues only help dogs who do not have homes. Ddb goes beyond that and gives animals who live a life on a chain/in a pen and outside in all weather a new chance at life. All animals are living and breathing beings and they have already figured out what humans need to....and that's love. I am so thankful ddb exists and is such a great resource when I personally need help in order to help dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am the pet parent of a DDB dog that was adopted in May of 2009. We had a wonderful experience and would adopt from them again!! Our dogs are our children and to know that he was spared from a life of 6' loneliness warms my heart. The simple fact is that Dr. Fiala lost a court case against DDB. No one knows the real truth except for DDB and Dr. Fiala. Bottom line though is that the court decided. Now it's time to move on. All the backstabbing and name calling is detrimental to rescue and is taking away from everyone's goal to save animals. It's time for everyone to put on their big girl panties and act as such. All of the time and energy being put into slander and discredit should be redirected into actually saving and helping animals. Think how many more animals could have been saved had counsel not been required. And isn't that who this is ultimately about...the animals??There's already so much drama and backstabbing in the world. Let's stop adding to it and move on. Everyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I don't know where you come up with this awful spewing of hate for this organization. DDB has saved so many dogs from a life of misery and pain. They have given them compassion for the first time in their lives. I will always support this group no matter what anyone says. I don't know how you can say anything bad about people that care so much for animals. I have followed this group for a while now and they have always put they animals first!! Keep on saving animals from a life of hell DDB. You have made me cry happy tears so many times. I thank you for that!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers