Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
123.9134645
| 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

When I was referred to the website of Dogs Deserve Better, I thought it sounded too good to be true. But within just a day or two after submitting the needed information, I received an email from Tamiria saying that the two dogs I was attempting to rescue had been approved for veterinarian funding. My heart was full of joy that day. With the help of the funding my veterinarian received from this wonderful organization, I was able to get both dogs up to date on shots and neutered. This made it so much easier to place these wonderful dogs in a great home where I know they are being taken care of and loved. I would have still done this for these dogs, but it would have strapped me financially as I have 8 dogs of my own and do what I can to help our local rescues. These 2 dogs held a special place in my heart because I had been observing them for a year on these chains, trying to help the owners financially with food and housing for the dogs. But when the owners were evicted from their home, they had no choice but to give them up. Dogs Deserve Better made it possible for these 2 special dogs to live out their lives free from a chain and in good and loving homes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

I have known Tami for over 12 years, I volunteered for DDB also becoming a Dogs Deserve Better Rep for many years, I also ran a rescue and was Animal Cruelty Investigator for Delaware County. I had to step down and just work on my own rescue as I couldn't focus on one thing and the stress factor became to much. Working with Tami was uplifting, fair, firm and but most of all Tami always had your back. Last year I had 4 dogs that needed Major help, Tami helped them all with the Hero fund. One female Rott that was in deplorable shape, tied to a truck I could not get because it was out of state and we had to get her quick. Tami jumped in with both feet and got her vetting, back in shape and adopted to a wonderful home. One in particular I rescued was Teddy who lived on a chain for 14 years and now lives on my couch. I contacted Tami and without hesitation she sent my vet $300 from the Hero fund, that really helped with not only Teddy's expense but helps with the stress factor. Without the Hero fund many dogs would not be saved but mainly have all the proper vet care they need as usually the ones we get are hot messes anyway. Tami is the most driven, determined person I know and point blank... she is just about the dogs period. I think about not only all the dogs she has saved but the people she has help along the way through the Hero Fund. Tami and I have always had a great relationship but the trust we have for each other I have earned and proud to be her friend. Even though I do not work for Tami anymore in her yearly calendars she always puts a dog our organization rescues in which really makes me feel pretty damn special. I recently rescued a rott tied to a tree, with an embedded collar, 40 pounds underweight, HW positive, full of worms, ear mites and just a hot mess and Tami was right there for me. Tami doesn't forget the good you do and I have nothing but admiration and respect for her and for that.... I will always have her back.
Sincerely, Gayla Frances Evans---President and Founder of Ohio Rottweiler Rescue

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do Nothing that I can see, it is fine the way it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better has been a wonderful help to Gordy and Friends, a small outreach group in Upstate NY. We provide straw and food and help to 24/7 chained and penned dogs. When possible, we get dogs permanently off the chain, but since we are all volunteers and pay for almost everything out of our own pockets, it is very difficult to come up with vetting costs. DDB just provided us with a Hero Grant of $300 to help get a dog that was chained NINE YEARS vet care. We spent all but $16 at the first appointment, so we certainly could not have done this without DDB. They responded so quickly to us and helped us so enormously. We had no idea about his health condition and wanted to get him help quickly. We applied and got a response and the funds in a matter of days. I can't say enough good things about DDB, and we are very grateful to them for all they do for dogs everywhere and for what they did for us.
May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

My journey with Tami and DDB started about 2 1/2 years ago when I first met Liesa Collier who is a volunteer rescue worker. She rescued 2 dogs that were left without food, water and shelter in a slum area in my town after being abandoned by their owner. One was a terrier mix chained under a trailer and the other a Pit Bull chained to a picnic table. Liesa made daily 40 mile round trips for about 2 weeks until the Pit Bull finally trusted her enough to allow her to take them both into her care. However, there were other dogs in the same area that were chained without proper shelter and lacking food and water. None of them had ever been to a vet for vaccine shots, let alone to be spayed or neutered. Over the next several winter months, I helped Liesa by taking food and straw to the dogs every 3-4 days. Two families moved and gladly signed over the dogs to DDB. Without the monetary help of DDB those dogs would not have been vetted, spayed and neutered and re-homed into loving families.

Since that time I have come across many pathetic cases of dogs on 3-5 foot chains, many in full sun with little to no shelters - again no food or water. I call Liesa and she always gets to my location as soon as possible to help. She tries to educate the owner but mostly the owners are glad to sign over the dogs to DDB just to get rid of them. This is how I came across Duke, a mini Beagle, with a cherry eye chained to a dog house. His chain was so short he barely got into his dog house. The owners said they could not afford the vet bills, so gladly signed him over to DDB and I became his foster mom and then his adopted mom which would not have been a possibility without the financial help of DDB. About 5 months after Duke became a part of my family, I was driving along a local street on a very hot summer evening when I noticed a large dog with his head being pulled to the ground. I stopped my car and saw he was on a tow chain that had become so short from being kinked and twisted that he could not lift his head more than 6 inches off the ground and actually could not move. Even if he had been able to reach his water bowl - it was dry. I immediately called Liesa who lives about 20 miles away. She said she was on her way to my location. She arrived just before dark. By then the owner arrived. The dog, Max, is a German Shepard/Lab mix - all 75 pounds of him. During the next several weeks I checked on him almost daily. One day I noticed his right eye was watery and got permission from the owner to take him to my vet. My vet said it appeared he had sustained severe trauma to that eye and referred me to an eye specialist. At this time I talked to the owner and told him without treatment Max would loose his eye. He signed Max over to DDB. The specialist started Max on a series of tests, medications and routine visits trying to prevent glaucoma and the loss/removal of the right eye. That all started in August 2013. Max had his latest eye appointment in Feb 2014 and does not have to return for 6 mos unless there is a problem. He is slowly being weaned off his steroid medications but will need lifelong eye drops and eye vitamins to keep his eye stable. Max has also been fully vetted and neutered. I am going to adopt Max. His treatment costs to date has been over one thousand dollars. All paid for from DONATIONS paid to DDB on behalf of Max.

Bottom line................in the past 2 1/2 years, I alone, have been witness to over thirty dogs being taken off chains, given shelter, food, water, fully vetted, spayed or neutered and re-homed ALL due to donations made to DDB on behalf of all God's creatures that rely on us for help.


LINDA C.
UNIONTOWN, PA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

I contacted Tami Thayne through Dogs Deserve Better and the Hero Fund Grant because I needed help.
I received a phone call about a family whose house burnt down and the family was in need. I am in construction, so I got in touch with them to see what I could do to help. They found a place to
live off Firetower Road, but it was in awful shape. When we got there to assess the house we found two chained dogs on the side that had been abandoned. They were chained and there was broken glass and insulation everywhere along with a lot of trash. Both were thin, but neighbors had apparently been throwing scraps to them. There were water buckets with dirty water for drinking. I decided to take them both. I couldn't leave them there. Sammie was chained to some sort or metal that was dug into the ground. He was so scared. We had treats and he was very food motivated so we made friends quickly. After two guys finally got him untangled from the rubble for me, I loaded him in my car and took him home. I have been working with him. He is housetraining very well, has learned
to
play ball, knows how to leash walk now, and is very friendly. When I took him to the vet he tested HW positive. The other dog tested negative. Naturally they both had parasite infections, and rashes from the insulation. I need help with the heartworm treatment. He is approximately 10 months old and is a pitbull. I want him to have a great life. He is so deserving ! I will find him a great forever home when he is well. For now I will keep him until he is ready to be adopted. Rudy, the other dog has already found a great home where he stays inside and has kids to play with. My funds are very limited, and as you know, there are many irresponsible pet owners in this area. I do what I can to help abandoned dogs. At this time my savings account is depleted trying to take care of these poor babies. The vet appointment for his treatment is Jan 9,2014 for heartworm treatment. Then he will be neutered when the vet deems it is safe for him.
THANK GOD FOR DDB !!! Tami contacted me immediately and called in the funds for treatment. Sammie was saved on 12/13/2013 and has now completed his heartworm treatment and is a FABULOUS dog. He is still with me while I search for his perfect forever home. Thanks to Dogs Deserve Better and Tami .... Sammie is going to have a great life !!! I am truly grateful for all they have done to help me save this deserving pit bull !!!!!
Thank You,
Kimberly Henson
1011 East White Street
Rock Hill, SC 29732
803-984-7999

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every part of my experience with this group has been positive !! There is nothing I would change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

We love working with DDB. We're a small non-profit with the same mission of educating owners on the dangers of perpetual chaining/penning. They helped us out last year with $300 for vetting a Golden Retriever that we got off the chain and into rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2014

more

May 11, 2014

DDB helped us last month with a $300 Hero Fund grant for Campbell, who is one of the #367 dogs rescued from the second largest dogfighting bust in US history. The money was paid directly to Campbell's vet, Caring Hands, in DC, and was used to complete bloodwork and a health screen prior to his visit to his vet behaviorist to help him with his severe anxiety.

DDB was easy to communicate with, followed through with everything they said they'd do, and we are so grateful for the help with our fight bust (formerly chained) dogs.

Kate Callahan,
Co-Founder, Jasmine's House Inc (Founded in memory of Sweet Jasmine, a Vick dog)
May 11, 2014

more

May 11, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better helps many animals across the country get freed from life on a chain, and neglected and abused animals. I have seen many different volunteers for the organization in multiple states be effective and successful in saving animals lives from abuse. Great organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more volunteers in each state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

DDB is an amazing rescue. They are involved in all forms of animal rescue, but I love the main focus of helping dogs get off their prison of chains!
They also bring awareness to many additional plights, as example with dog chained campaign on steps of govt., OAS, Dogs living in a box & many
more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more DDB volunteer offices throughout south.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

I am the director of Southwest PA. Retriever Rescue Org, and also run the Shades Of Grey Sanctuary for senior and special needs dogs. We incorporated in 2000 and came into existance at just about the same time as Dogs Deserve Better. I have worked closely with DDB and promoted them over the years and have nothing but the deepest respect for their mission and their staff. While I have not made the long trip to the new rehab center in VA. yet, I have been to the former Tipton PA. location dozens of times. I can tell you from personal experience that the dogs in need are the center or DDB's focus just as it is for us.

Not only are we supporters of Dogs Deserve Better, we are also the recipient of a Hero Fund grant from them. We rescued a very senior black lab named Max who had lived his entire life at the end of a chain in Mt. Pleasant PA. He was thin, arthritic and and had a tumor growing in his right eye. DDB was kind enough to cover the cost of the tumor removal and made it possible for Max to live his last year and a half indoors in the comfort of our home, and to be able to see without the pain of the tumor he had lived with.

DDB and Tamira Thayne have supported us since our beginning by featuring our dogs in need in their flyers, including stories of our dogs in their books and publications and even featured our Maggie as the model for their lead dog in the book A New Name For Worthless. It has been our honor and pleasure to work with them for the past 14+ years and we intend to continue.

THANK YOU Tami and DDB for the wonderful work you do, don't let anyone tell you that you and not doing a great job!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer