Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
115 Reviews
1234.017395
Write A Review
December 15, 2014

more

December 15, 2014

After rescuing several chained dogs in the middle of winter, I was left feeling in over my head with all of the vet bills. I applied for the Hero Fund with Dogs Deserve Better and I heard back within several days- I received the grant! They were helpful, quick to respond, and easy to communicate with. I am very appreciative of their help!
December 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

How amazing Dogs Deserve Better is ! The day we picked up Droopy he was emaciated and hanging on to life on a chain and in the mud. We had no ideal how we would get him the needed vet care. He had sores on all pressure points and you could not recognize even his breed. His owner will be prosecuted for animal abuse. But you know what, Droopy is gonna have a wonderful life. Dogs Deserve better knew his circumstances, and the next day we had him to a vet to get the care we needed for him to survive. A week later he is better and eating and healing and in a good soft bed. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. His sores are healing, he is gaining strength and he is doing some "big time" eating. He would not have survived without your help. Thank you for this wonderful organization and for your promptness in getting him vetted. He is an amazing dog, and you are amazing for helping him!
December 1, 2014

more

December 1, 2014

When I was planning to help a penned neighborhood dog, the local rep from DDB was incredibly helpful in advising me and a friend on how to handle the situation. She also alerted me to the Hero Grant, on the chance that I was able to rescue the dog. Well, I got the dog and the Hero Grant which covered a nice portion of the pup's vet bill for tests and de-worming. Not sure how I would've paid those expenses otherwise. Thanks, DDB!!!
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

I am the co-founder of a small rescue in Delaware. We are always getting requests to accept dogs. While we'd like to take them all we can't because we wouldn't be able to afford to give them all the care they deserve. This past week we were contacted about two dog desperately needing rescue. Both were forced to live outside and temperatures have recently dropped to freezing. We agreed to take them and because of Dogs Deserve Better, have been able to fully vet both of them. They are now both available for adoption, this wouldn't have been possible without this wonderful organization.
Thank you so much!!!
November 25, 2014

more

November 25, 2014

What a simply amazing organization. They have personally helped me rescue a puppy who spent all 6 months of his life at the end of a rusty chain. They were quick to respond with financial support. Thank you to Tamira and all Hero Fund supporters! You are making such a difference.
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better is a non-profit that helps rescue chained and penned dogs. We found Gracie on November 8th 2014. She was starving and had the end of a tie out cable still attached to her collar. Gracie has a long road to recovery ahead of her. She is in need of many veterinary services including treatment for parasites, heartworms and a full mouth extraction to remove her broken and rotting teeth. Providing this level of care for Gracie requires a substantial financial commitment; Dogs Deserve Better has been instrumental in providing financial assistance in order to get Grace the care she needs. We submitted our grant request to Dogs Deserve Better on November 16, 2014 and within a day, Dogs Deserve Better approved the request and had the grant amount credited to Gracie’s veterinary account. Dogs Deserve Better in an organization truly dedicated to its mission of dog rescue, this is an organization everyone should support!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

It was brought to our (Legacy Dog Rescue) attention of a dog tied outside, 24/7 with minimal human interaction and his dog "house" was a dog carrier, which was always in two parts. In no way, could we leave him out there. We asked the owner to surrender and she claimed to love him, but that we was 'bad' in the house. We continued to ask her if we could help, we had the authorities out to check on him and see if he was licensed. She then contacted us and agreed to relinquish him. Sadly he was purchased at a puppy store a couple years ago, and has lived outside, with no vet care. He was extremely nervous at first, but has since calmed down is loving life in his foster home, playing with the other dog and enjoying rolling around on the bed! Dogs Deserve Better granted us the Hero grant to fully vet Dodger - what an amazing group, helping the dogs out there with no voice. Thank you!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

They are an amazing group!! I adopted an american bulldog/border collie mix who had been abused and tied to a tree for months. He has some health isssues and needs to be fixed, and with the help of dogs deserve better I can take him to the vets without worrying. THANK YOU DOGS DESERVE BETTER!!!!
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I can not say enough about the good that Dogs Deserve Better does to help chained and penned dogs! I am a rural mail carrier and noticed a pen on my route that contained a very small short haired Chihuahua. After seeing this dog for a while and knowing the weather would be turning cold I approached the owner and inquired about him. The Owner said his wife banned the dog to the outside pen after moving into a new home because of marking. He had not been neutered and I tried to educate them about the benefits but he said her mind was made up. I was able to get them to surrender the dog (now named Zachary)and brought him home on Saturday. He went to the vet on Tuesday to be neutered but it was learned the surgery would be more complicated (and expensive). He got his shots and was rescheduled for surgery on Thursday. All went well and he is recovering nicely. DDB paid the bills for Zachary's vet care. THANK YOU DDB!!! You Rock :)
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

WOW.....Dogs Deserve Better helped us so very much. We rescued a boxer who not only needed spay, but had a small tumor to be removed and sent off, and she was hw positive. Their contribution made her vetting possible....we cannot that them enough!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer