Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
123.9910745
Write A Review
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

I am the co-founder of a small rescue in Delaware. We are always getting requests to accept dogs. While we'd like to take them all we can't because we wouldn't be able to afford to give them all the care they deserve. This past week we were contacted about two dog desperately needing rescue. Both were forced to live outside and temperatures have recently dropped to freezing. We agreed to take them and because of Dogs Deserve Better, have been able to fully vet both of them. They are now both available for adoption, this wouldn't have been possible without this wonderful organization.
Thank you so much!!!
November 25, 2014

more

November 25, 2014

What a simply amazing organization. They have personally helped me rescue a puppy who spent all 6 months of his life at the end of a rusty chain. They were quick to respond with financial support. Thank you to Tamira and all Hero Fund supporters! You are making such a difference.
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Dogs Deserve Better is a non-profit that helps rescue chained and penned dogs. We found Gracie on November 8th 2014. She was starving and had the end of a tie out cable still attached to her collar. Gracie has a long road to recovery ahead of her. She is in need of many veterinary services including treatment for parasites, heartworms and a full mouth extraction to remove her broken and rotting teeth. Providing this level of care for Gracie requires a substantial financial commitment; Dogs Deserve Better has been instrumental in providing financial assistance in order to get Grace the care she needs. We submitted our grant request to Dogs Deserve Better on November 16, 2014 and within a day, Dogs Deserve Better approved the request and had the grant amount credited to Gracie’s veterinary account. Dogs Deserve Better in an organization truly dedicated to its mission of dog rescue, this is an organization everyone should support!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

It was brought to our (Legacy Dog Rescue) attention of a dog tied outside, 24/7 with minimal human interaction and his dog "house" was a dog carrier, which was always in two parts. In no way, could we leave him out there. We asked the owner to surrender and she claimed to love him, but that we was 'bad' in the house. We continued to ask her if we could help, we had the authorities out to check on him and see if he was licensed. She then contacted us and agreed to relinquish him. Sadly he was purchased at a puppy store a couple years ago, and has lived outside, with no vet care. He was extremely nervous at first, but has since calmed down is loving life in his foster home, playing with the other dog and enjoying rolling around on the bed! Dogs Deserve Better granted us the Hero grant to fully vet Dodger - what an amazing group, helping the dogs out there with no voice. Thank you!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

They are an amazing group!! I adopted an american bulldog/border collie mix who had been abused and tied to a tree for months. He has some health isssues and needs to be fixed, and with the help of dogs deserve better I can take him to the vets without worrying. THANK YOU DOGS DESERVE BETTER!!!!
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I can not say enough about the good that Dogs Deserve Better does to help chained and penned dogs! I am a rural mail carrier and noticed a pen on my route that contained a very small short haired Chihuahua. After seeing this dog for a while and knowing the weather would be turning cold I approached the owner and inquired about him. The Owner said his wife banned the dog to the outside pen after moving into a new home because of marking. He had not been neutered and I tried to educate them about the benefits but he said her mind was made up. I was able to get them to surrender the dog (now named Zachary)and brought him home on Saturday. He went to the vet on Tuesday to be neutered but it was learned the surgery would be more complicated (and expensive). He got his shots and was rescheduled for surgery on Thursday. All went well and he is recovering nicely. DDB paid the bills for Zachary's vet care. THANK YOU DDB!!! You Rock :)
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

WOW.....Dogs Deserve Better helped us so very much. We rescued a boxer who not only needed spay, but had a small tumor to be removed and sent off, and she was hw positive. Their contribution made her vetting possible....we cannot that them enough!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

What an incredible organization! DDB paid for the vet bills for a dog I rescued off a chain. I can only imagine how many dogs they've saved because of these services! Thank you, DDB and the Hero fund!
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

DDB has helped me free and spay/netuer chained and penned dogs on two occasions recently. On the first occasion, they launched an aggressive campaign on behalf on two dogs penned without shelter, suffering in the elements with little to no food and water. I have no idea how they lived through it. After 24 hours of phone calls and emails from DDW volunteers, the owner was cited with animal neglect and the dogs were no longer kept in the cages. Where I had no allies locally, the strong, kind-hearted and tenacious volunteers from across the globe acted as if this was happening in their own backyard.

On the second occasion, through the Hero Grant Fund, I was able to get three rescued chained dogs spayed and neutered. The fund provides $300 per dog to cover the cost of alteration, rabies, distemper, parvo shots, heart worm check or whatever you can get for that price. In my case, I was able to find a local spay/neuter clinic that operates largely on charity donations from the state license plate fund, Petsmart charities and other associations. Because of the reduced cost at this clinic, along with the Hero Fund, I was able to get three (3) spay/neuters, all the shots, heart worm checks, microchips and extra pain medication--all for $300 total. So 1 Hero Fund donation saved 3 lives in this case.

Here is why the spay/neuters literally "saved" three lives. The two male dogs were not neutered. It is my belief they broke off their chains to get to the third dog, a female in heat. Once in my house, it was chaos. I now had 7 large dogs. My dogs did not get along with the three off the street. All the male dogs wanted to do was hump the female. What made the situation more dangerous was that the two males had lots of fighting scars.They were large dogs and part pit bulls. Having observed their behavior, I surmised that the two boys were chained together. They were forced to compete for one food source and one water source. It was obvious there was never enough food or water. The boys had all the fighting scars of dogs forced to fight in pit fights. They may have been forced to fight other dogs, but I believe the two boys just fought each other.

In my house, all they wanted to do was hump the female. There was the constant threat they might fight each other. All they wanted to do was have sex with her and they never let up. She was forced to be crated most of the day and it was difficult to get her out of the crate and in to the yard without the boys forcing their way on top of her. My dogs responded to this aggressive energy. They were agitated and responding to the threat in their house. One of my neutered dogs started humping my newest young rescued female who had not yet had her first heat cycle. Keeping the males separated from the female at all times and away from my four dogs was a 24 hour nightmare. To make matters worse, I was unable to stop the males from having sex with her on the first day I had them.

I could not leave the house, I could not sleep long or well. I was worried about the neighbors possibly complaining about the barking, which was hard to control. I reached a near breaking point. It was so miserable, even as a former rescuer, I did not think I could continue this. I called animal control to inquire about them picking up the dogs. I came to the sober realization that the 2 boys with the fighting scars with most definitely not even be put up for adoption. They would deem them un-adoptable and kill them. The female would also not stand much of a chance. So I would be sending 3 dogs to their deaths. Even though they were not my dogs, I would be the one responsible for ending their lives.

Getting the dogs fixed was an immediate NECESSITY. It would ease the situation in the house significantly, so I could manage the dogs. If I could manage the dogs, then I could suck it up and foster the dogs until I could start searching for homes. That’s exactly what getting the spay/neuters did. It kept the dogs from being killed. I was able to manage them better. They are now friends with the female and don’t try to hump her. The house is calmer and manageable. I can’t think of a time where getting dogs fixed was absolutely necessary in saving their lives.

To complicate matters, I was unemployed and near broke at the time. There was no way I could afford the fixes. Because of the DDB Hero Fund and the excellent low cost spay/neuter clinic, I was able to get all three fixed with all shots, heart worm check, fecal exam and meds and microchips. Now all three have everything they need to be adopted out. They are 100% ready.

I am currently fostering these dogs and looking for forever homes. Each day things get a little easier in the routine. I mean this when I say that getting them fixed kept them from being sent to animal control. The situation was so dire. Now there is breathing room. The dogs are healing, gaining weight and receiving love.

I am the kind of person who puts himself out in the trenches, so to speak, to help animals. If you would like to support other people like me, then please donate money to the Hero Fund. It is such a great partnership. If you have money, but not the ability to rescue off the streets, you can be help people like me do this work. It’s not money you can’t trace. It directly changes lives and is measurable. I am not a man of much financial means. But I have the resilience to rescue dogs in the streets and care for them in my home. Financial donors help people like me help animals. Money and effort partnering is saving lives where and when we can.

Thank you to whoever has donated to the Hero Fund!!! You have saved three lives with $300 in my case. What a great charity!

Finally, Robin Budin at DDB has made all this happen. She picks up the phone, seven day a week whenever you call. She is relentless in her efforts to help the animals. She is so dedicated and always makes herself available to advise and help. She is the face of DDB to me. All the lives I have saved are attributed to her tireless efforts, warm heart and tenacity.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Wagon is one of many dogs that the American Lurcher Project has rescued from living outside on chains since August 20, 2013. The ALP Team is a group of people dedicated to saving the greyhound/coonhound racing dogs of underground racing. When we rescued Wagon in May of this year he was in poor physical shape and is still undergoing medical treatment to get him healthy and ready for adoption. Our vet bills and expenses were over $1,400 on Wagon. Thank you so very much Dogs Deserve Better for coming to the rescue and awarding us a grant to assist us with Wagon’s vet bills. Dogs Deserve Better responded very quickly to our urgent request and were very helpful. What a wonderful group of people and a wonderful mission!!!!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pet, play with, or bathe a dog at the Good Newz Rehab Center in Virginia or a foster home nearby Volunteer