Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12.70492345
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
January 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 10, 2011

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended retur... more

January 31, 2014

I saw a chip in on DDB for a dog at the center, Jules, who had been previously pronounced vetted and healthy and ready for adoption. The chip in was for $280 for normal vetting. The donations exceeded the chip-in and the chip in was raised. This happened three times at least, it got up to over $650. Meanwhile it was announced that the dog had been adopted by a family and would be picked up the next week - the adoption agreement occurred during the week of the chip in, so obviously the dog was already vetted. It was a real cute picture and Christmas time, so DDB milked it for all it was worth. I used the chip contact feature to challenge the ethics of this behavior and received a nasty threatening email back from The DDB CEO. She asked: "What do you do, except hound someone you don't even know? Where does your hatred flow from? Do you have a very unsatisfying life or something? "
She said, " I know that because I wouldn't be associated with someone who is as cruel and hateful and spiteful as you are."
Totally unprofessional and this is not an isolated incident. She only tolerates those who agree and don't question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new CEO and Board of Directors. Clean house.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

for 2008 their fiscal year was from Sep 1 2008 to Aug 31 2009. Then for 2009 they issued a 990 in OCT 2010 for the same months, Sep 1 2009 to Aug 31 2010. THEN in Dec 2010 they issued an amended return and changed the fiscal year from July 1 2009 to June 30 2010 - and I can't see any difference between the two except for the change in the fiscal year. Kind of makes you wonder what happened in July and August 2010.

BRING JOEL HOME!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being promptly banned from their FB site after asking fair questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start with an IRS audit.

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Tamira Thayne is a menace to the animal rescue community. She tries to shove her philosophy down everyone's throats, then if you don't agree with her, she will incite theft, mob mentality, law breaking, and harassment. She should not be in animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dogs Deserve Better has potential to be an excellent organization, but under the leadership of Tamira Thayne, the organization will never flourish. She is too busy harassing everyone else, and not taking care of her own backyard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2013

more

December 11, 2013

If it was not for Rhapsedy, a DDB supporter and activist, my sweet Maci would be dead. An innocent
In terrible conditions, left to die in a tiny crate outside in the Summer heat. If not for these people, way too many dogs would die of abuse and neglect.

Rhapsedy of DDB fought the odds
with my girl, contacted rescues all over
the place until one was willing to take sweet Maci. KNICK KNACK PITTIE PACK in
Mont Alto agreed to take her 1/2 way cross country to safty. I was the KKPP foster and now forever mommy of Maci.

DDB saved her tbrough their network of caring citizens... through people who
Do Not get paid for their service... and DDB help countless Macis all over the nation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing but ask for even more caring people to step forward and help :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Visionary? The head of DDB, Tamira Thayne, AKA Tammy Sneath Grimes, is a charlatan, a sham, a mountebank, a fraudster, a liar.

Her behavior during her recent trial was nothing short of reprehensible. When notified that the charges would be refiled, she went on a self announced 30 day
hunger strike. When it became obvious she was not starving, she had to admit that she had been on a diet of vegetable broth.

She filed false charges against one accuser, which were determined to be unfounded. She went on social media spreading vicious lies against the witnesses, revealing intimate, private information, intimidating one witness from testifying.

In answer to DRDOG:

>How many of you have made the personal sacrifices she has , both as a Military Veteran and Advocate for Abused Dogs?

What an insulting question to those of us who rescue AND who've served. There are thousands of us and we were not rewarded with a $600,000 mansion for our sacrifices.

Not sure what personal sacrifices Thayne has made living in a $600,000 mansion, paid for by donors. Makes her better off by far then most people in this country.

>How many of you have nearly DIED in this cause?

Again, just about anyone who works in rescue. Again, just as insulting.

>Personally I can think of no FINER USE for Vick's former place of dog torture and death than this.

But I can think of an infinite number of ways that $600,000 could have been put to far better use instead of helping only 15 dogs and serving as Thayne's personal residence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire their leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As is normal practice for those who criticize visionaries, I noticed that the updated facts were NOT posted here regarding the FALSE Charges against DDB which have subsequently been DROPPED by Poindexter and his cohorts. ( His role in the Vick case was exposed in Gorant's Book " The Lost Dogs" )

In short, the entire episode was an attempted FRAME .
To read more about the facts on this one simply has to go to:
http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/inthenews.html
and read the PDF'S. dated 3/5 and 5/15 of 2013.

To Ms. Thayne's critics I would only asked these simple questions:

How many of you have made the personal sacrifices she has , both as a Military Veteran and Advocate for Abused Dogs?

How many of you have nearly DIED in this cause?

She HAS.

Personally I can think of no FINER USE for Vick's former place of dog torture and death than this.

Don't want to contribute to DDB work for chained dogs? Then Don't.
Don't want to contribute to other Orgs who work for the benefit of animals, the vast majority of whom have been criticized as well?
Then Don't.

Baseless negative comments are counter productive to the movement.

I need not add more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

State orders Surry dog rescue to place 8 dogs into foster care
September 27, 2012
SURRY – The state has directed Tamira Thayne, executive director of Dogs Deserve Better Inc., to place the organization's eight remaining dogs at the Good Newz Rehab Center into foster care by Sept.
30.

But that deadline is on hold while her attorney, Fred Taylor, works with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services officials, said Thayne. Elaine Lidholm, an agency spokeswoman, declined to discuss the deadline or other details of the state's ongoing probe into the anti-chaining dog rescue organization based out of the Surry County house where Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Michael Vick once ran a dogfighting operation.

The organization is not accepting any new chained dogs, Thayne said.

Thayne was charged with two misdemeanors — one count each of animal cruelty and inadequate care of animals — on Aug, 28, just days after a state veterinary and Surry Animal Control made an unannounced visit on Aug. 23. Thayne's trial is scheduled for Nov. 13 in Surry General District Court.

Dogs Deserve Better has been operating without the state's required approval since opening in June 2011, with records showing that least 30 dogs have been confined during that time, according to a Sept. 10 letter to Thayne from Daniel Kovich, a program manager with the state veterinary's office. Although the state reported giving her staff a verbal directive to stop accepting new chained dogs during a Jan. 25 inspection, Thayne said she never received the message.

According to the state's letter, the facility is violating some of the state's safe shelter laws because dogs are housed in groups inside the house and moved into different rooms of the house in response to aggression.

The state also referenced one dog fight that resulted in a $1,200 veterinarian bill, two dogs having been treated after being bitten by snake on overgrown property, and groups of dogs being kept in the kitchen with "direct access" to hazardous items including knives, glassware, small appliances and alcohol.

In his report, Kovich also noted that three bottles of pepper spray were found inside the house, one of which had been discharged.

While serving a search warrant on Aug. 27, Surry County deputies seized nine cans of pepper spray from the house, along with two Tasers, computers, vet records and a 1-year-old pit bull, according to search warrants. Ten days later, the courts awarded custody of the dog, Jada, back to Dogs Deserve Better.

"Use of pepper spray as a deterrent to aggression is in no way an appropriate husbandry practice in an animal shelter environment," according to Kovich's letter. "Negative interactions should be prevented from occurring in the first place."

The state and local investigation was spurred partially after several former employees, including former office manager Deana Whitfield, emailed pictures and complaints to Surry Animal Control in July. Whitfield and Dogs Deserve Better parted ways in late June, about one month after Whitfield filed an anonymous complaint alleging unsafe working conditions with the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

The May 21 complaint says that employees are not trained or equipped to safely deal with dog fights, that a single employee is frequently left alone in open rooms with large numbers of uncaged dogs, and that employees have not been trained to use the pepper spray provided to break up dog fights. The OSHA complaint was closed without an on-site inspection after Thayne had an additional on-site training class for employees.


More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

"I was with DDB as a Rep for three years. The tax records I was refering to were the 990's. You can see copies of them on Guide Star and DDB legally has to send you a copy if you request one. What Tami reports on the 990's doesn't jive with the amount that she claims is spent, what it's actually spent on, who is employed, who is an "independent contractor", and what monies are actually coming and and from what sources they're coming from. What she claims DDB gets in grants and what is reported on the 990's doesn't add up. Plus you can search other organizations, like HSU, that issue grants to verify the amounts they have awarded and to whom. I started considering leaving after I had so much trouble with her paying for vet bills she promised they would pay and reimbursing me for vet bills that I had paid for out of my pocket that I had gotten "pre approval" for. Also the extreme unprofessionalism from so many of the area "Reps" was too much to handle any more. The thing that forced me to resign was when she wanted me to sign a new and updated form of the liability waiver. I can understand the need to protect the rescue, but I can't understand not protecting those that go to bat for the rescue and the dogs every single day. I told her no I wouldn't sign and if that meant resigning, so be it. She laughed at me and told me how ignorant I was. That DDB couldn't carry insurance for the rescue because they were technically an educational organization, or some whooha mumbo jumbo. I told her that DDB never sticks it's neck out for me and I wasn't willing to do so for DDB any longer. I told her I would take liability for all the remaining foster dogs in my care and just walk away. I already knew I couldn't count on DDB to help with any of the foster dogs I had in my care anyway. Only one rep ever bothered to help me. I saw what happened to other DDB reps that left with still having foster dogs in their homes. Nothing happened to help those dogs. DDB doesn't care about the dogs. I'm not going to say who, but at the end when I left, things were getting pretty desperate in my state. Reps were even doing adoptions without home checks. They were just taking the adopters word for it and letting the dogs go. I was told, the higher DDB adoption numbers are the better their chances for bigger and better grants. WHEW! And that is that! I'm sure there is so much more I could get into.... It's almost theraputic to vent that a little bit!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

QUOTES from two former DDB reps -

"The Nat'l Coordinator was Tami's heavy. Tami had NOTHING to do with the Reps. The ONLY time calling her was acceptable was when she had to okay medical services. Tami/the nat'l coordinator put pressure on the Reps about Vet services being "too expensive".
And making an appt for a DDB dog to be Vetted was -always- an ordeal. Getting rescue dogs vetted became such a hassle that I paid for a few myself with my own money. I paid for everything involving the daily care of my fosters, with my own money. I couldn't rest knowing there was any dogs that went unchecked. I admit that I was blinded to Tami's absence because I was SO in love with the idea of helping chained dogs.

I was weary from having to explain and justify my actions and decisions as a Rep. So I quit. I couldn't over extend myself one more moment. Nor could I deal with anymore complaints from DDB. Of which 99% of complaints DDB would take to their Reps was money related. So that was it. And since then, there is NO help or attention for any of the chained dogs I was monitoring.

So my experience with DDB was negative throughout. And I saw Tami and DDB through rose colored glasses. But since then I've noticed the inadequacies more clearly. And when Tami bought that Vick house. And she put the Rep program on "hold" so she could focus her time and MONEY on this property..... Well I knew then DDB was not going in the right direction. The Rep program is the vital link between the dogs suffering in backyards, and the help they so desperately need."

***************************************************

"I was sad to leave, because I thought the cause was an honorable one, but didn't realize the reputation the organization has. I left because I don't agree with the organization's ethics and business practices. Since learning how they do business, I have definitely learned HOW NOT to run a Not-for-Profit Organization. I spent way too much of my own money on "their" dogs without receiving much back from the donations I solicited from them... sounding familiar? I could have over looked it a bit IF I didn't receive hundreds of vulgar hate e-mails during my final few days being an Area Rep for them, - I quit. Then I saw the people and the organization for what it was; sensationalist propaganda and sue-happy snarks."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

"Hello everyone, I am a former employee of Fairfax County Virginia Animal Shelter. I am a animal lover. I used to remove animals from terrifying situations like dogsdeservebetter describes. Now I rescue Huskies and Shepherds, even cats. Since that I am a consultant for a cyber security business, I have a lot of time to give to these beautiful animals.
But recently I received one of your Valentine Day presents in the mail. I am obviously unhappy. Why? Well because your services were used in proxy to harass me. A company I worked (Tiger Legal) for once are not happy with me for not involving them financially with my work.
I do actually have a chain in my backyard. In fact I use it once a day, 5 days a week for my neighbours to spend time with my German Shepherd, Bear.
In no way would I ever leave him out unmonitored, or left out for long periods of time. That is abusive to any animal, especially a Intelligent animal like a German Shepherd. The point of a chain is for the dogs safety. Also if he gets loose he can cause grave harm to others if provoked.
As a former employee of Fairfax county I have to follow the laws provided. Even know they are not strict enough, I do my best.
Two years ago I spoke with the owners/starters of dogsdeservebetter. We agreed that they were being used to harass. The ladies I spoke with promised to never bug me again unless they need help.
Well here we are again.
So since I don't tolerate this sort of behaviour I took it upon myself to legally scan dogsdeservebetter.org with an intensive scan that can expose certain vulnerabilities that show that credit card numbers, and email addresses are open to anyone who wants them. Proving your putting every user on that site at risk!
I suggest you stop stuffing letters and fix your website.
Next is you will never send me another letter or I will contact an detective to go up and down your business.
Consider this a thank you for your efforts to prevent abuse to animals, but not happy with your practices."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

ANOTHER ABANDONED DDB DOG - 

Here is the synopsis on Hank as I have lived it. I stand behind what I put in writing and will defend if need be.  This is the truth as I know it.  
In July 2011, A Buddy For Life, Inc was contacted by Tiffany Citino, a former DDB rep from the state of
Delaware, for help with placing a 4 year old Hound Mix named Hank.  Tiffany told us that she was going through some financial difficulties as well as being in the middle of a high risk pregnancy.  
 
When asked why she had not contacted DDB to take Hank back into their rescue, she said that she had asked them for help with a dog that she adopted from them years ago, (Kiddo) and that Tami Thayne emailed her and told her to euthanize said dog.  She said she already knew what Tami’s answer would be, so she did not ask.  She also said that a DDB rep in MA approved a home for him who subsequently dumped him at Kent County SPCA in Delaware, our local high kill animal control facility. 
 
Because of what she perceived to be this rep’s poor judgment in screening homes, she did not feel as though Hank would be safe if this DDB rep was involved with Hank anymore.  She told us that the DDB rep had given her permission to re-home Hank on her own.
 
A Buddy For Life, Inc, found a foster home for Hank at the end of July 2011.  He was in his foster home for approximately 2 months without incident.  He lived with two other dogs at that time, as well as a husband and wife and had a large back yard to run around in.  
 
In September 2011, A Buddy For Life, Inc, found an adoptive home for Hank.  His adoptive home was a previous adopter, as well as long time personal friends with one of the volunteers.   These people used to volunteer at a local no kill shelter, and have handled all types of dogs.  They are truly caring people who do right by any dog that comes their way.
 
After having Hank in their family for 5 months, Hank lunged, teeth showing, twice in a 10 minute time span at the woman.  There was nothing he was protecting (no bones, food, etc).  This came out of the blue, and startled me when I heard about this. Unfortunately, the couple decided that while they love Hank, they cannot have a dog that shows this kind of behavior unprovoked in their home. They had grandkids who visited often, and while they were always careful with the little ones and their dogs, they did not want to risk anyone getting hurt. 
 
Little did I know what I was about to find out.
 
I picked Hank up from his adoptive home on February 15, 2012.  Hank was happy to see me, and went willingly with me to my car.  I emailed Tami Thayne, CEO/Founder of Dogs Deserve Better, on February 17, 2012 in regards to Hank.  I emailed her with the situation as I knew it, and requested that she take Hank back to her rescue/rehab sanctuary to work on his behaviors, as we are a small rescue who does not have the resources or money to work with a dog like Hank. 
 
I felt as though since we were never made aware of Hank’s issues, it was only fair that DDB take him back into their care and work with him.  Hank is a liability, plain and simple.  Without intense training and the properly motivated home that is willing to follow the advice of a knowledgeable and competent trainer, he could possibly hurt someone in the future.  
 
Tami Thayne emailed me back, first telling me thank you for my civil tone and professionalism, and then in the next five paragraphs proceeds to slander Tiffany and Sean Citino.  I did not email Tami regarding the Citinos, I emailed her regarding Hank.  This was uncalled for and completely unprofessional in my opinion.  I did not respond to that part of her email.  
 
She also told me that her emails to me were to be kept confidential, again, I did not respond to that part.  I refused to respond to anything that didn’t have to do with Hank.  While Tami may be pre-occupied with her reputation, I am more pre-occupied with the dog, Hank, which I believe they failed. 
 
Tami said in her email to me and the MA rep for DDB, whom she cc’d on my original email to her:
 
 “*****, I'd like you to take responsibility for Hank, and if that means putting him down, then that's what it means. I know that he has had chance after chance and issue after issue. Let me know what you think. DDB will pay for the procedure if it needs to be done in DE, or whatever you think is best.”
 
Tami suggestion was that I euthanize Hank, as the DDB Good News Kennel was in its infancy, and could not rehabilitate a dog like Hank at this time.  She said that DDB would pay for the euthanasia.  She also copied the MA rep on this, who agreed with the decision to euthanize Hank, and also made sure she had some bad things to say about the Citinos.  
 
The MA rep’s email was troubling, and is what was the biggest catalyst for me to open my eyes and see that DDB as an organization FAILED Hank, not once, but 6 times.  
 
From the DDB MA rep’s email:
 
 “I am the original rescuer for Hank Williamsjr, the dog we are discussing. Hank was with DDB-MA for over a year and had 4 adopters that returned him always within the first week due to a strange lunge he would do for no real reason. I do feel that you should have emailed me directly when this issue occured. This is not an issue for Tami Thayne. This is my issue. DDB in VA is full and unpredictable dogs cannot be adopted out and so I personally recommend euthanasia for Hank.”
 
In the MA rep’s email to me, she disparaged the Citino’s, admitted that she knew that Hank had lunged before, and that Hank had been in 6 different homes while with DDB.  None of this was ever relayed to me by the Citino’s nor by the MA rep.  The MA rep knew that I had Hank as I had emailed her regarding his new home and our need for his microchip information in Sept 2011.  
 
Had A Buddy For Life, Inc, known of Hank’s aggression issues, we would have managed him differently and started looking at other options—we never would have placed him into a home due to his unpredictability. The MA rep even disparages the Citinos for going to rescue Hank at the local kill shelter when the home she approved for him dumped him there when she told the new home that she was in MA and there was nothing she could do immediately for Hank. She told them to take Hank to the local humane society. Hank was instead dumped at a high kill animal control facility. 
 
She also lets me know that I never should have contacted Tami Thayne regarding this issue, and that it is her issue to deal with.  Tami is the founder/CEO of the organization, and so I felt she had every right to not only know what was going on, but also that she had a chance to address it.  DDB reps are all over the US representing her organization.
 
My responses to all emails were polite and firm. Once they requested euthanasia, I asked for Hank to be signed over legally to A Buddy For Life, Inc, as I wasn’t going to fail him again.  Tami emailed me and the rep from MA and told her to sign him over to me, but I refused.  The MA rep is a volunteer within the organization who holds no official title that I am aware of.  Therefore, I requested that the surrender forms bear Tami Thaynes signature, which I did obtain on February 19, 2012.
 
After posting a plea to raise money to send Hank to a life long care sanctuary, the MA rep felt the need to respond to the posting on A Buddy For Lifes Facebook page.  Among some of her comments were:
 
 “a RESCUER HAS LIABILITY AND A RESPONSIBILITY TO HUMANS.”  When asked by BJH why she agreed to euthanize Hank, she responded:  “because I had no where to put him and he is a liability for a rescue since he is unpredictable. good rescuers dont adopt out unpredictable dogs” however, she found him stable enough, by her own admission, to put him in at least 6 different homes while Hank was with DDB, and each time he was returned due to his unpredictable behavior.  
 
I used to have immense respect for DDB.  I participated in the Chain Off, and donated money over the years.  I still feel as though their mission is a noble one—to get dogs off of chains and into a home.  However, after my experience with Hank and DDB, I can no longer be sure of what is going on within the organization.  Do all organizations make mistakes?  Sure, none of us are perfect.  As long as we learn from our mistakes, they build character and give us good life lessons. Rescue is hard work.  It is a thankless job. However, Hank was not failed once, he was failed multiple times by the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers