Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.791045
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 13, 2014

more

April 13, 2014

I am a "Be A Tree" presenter for Doggone Safe dog bite prevention program. This was my first presentation and it was AWESOME!! I loved the way the kids reacted to the program. They were engaged and excited and it was very interactive. From the answers on the questionaires, they really liked it!! It felt good to present this as I truly feel that the children came away with a good understanding on how to be safe around dogs and also the different between an "snarly stiff dog" and a "happy wiggly dog".

I am very excited to continue to share this information. Thank you Doggone Safe for putting together such an amazing and informativ tool to help us get the word out on dog safety and bite prevention.

Kathy Wolff, Be A Tree Presenter
Beginning Manners Trainer
Western Waukesha County Dog Training Club
www.wwcdtc.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Joan Orr and her partner developed and continue to grow this outstanding program. We will never know how may children over the years have avoided dog attacks due to lessons so easily taught and learned from their work. As a child and adolescent psychiatrist, I evaluated dog bitten children over my three decades in practice. Some unfortunate dog bite victims are affected for a long time. Some younger victims suffer secretly and silently from PTSD. Prevention, always worth more than a pound of cure, characterizes Doggone Safe's goal. In the past year they created a board game, Doggone Crazy, that presents a fun way for children, by competitive repetition, to learn dog safety. They continue to promote and distribute classroom presentations, my wife and I did them, that engage children by teaching them to "Be a Tree". The treatment of children following a dog attack is often inadequate from emergency departments to physician's offices. That is another reason that Doggone Safe's lessons on prevention will remain important for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Education is the key and this organization is the first I found that was so open and upfront with their information. Excellent advice, tips, and knowledge for people who might come in contact with an aggressive dog. However, I feel a large factor is missing. Education, knowledge, and responsibility for dog owner's is the main key for dog bite prevention. Where are the pamphlets of information for dog owners and what they can do to prevent their dog from attacking or biting. If the owner's were aware of their dog's body language, responsible with their training and handling, the education for others would not be as crucial as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2011

more

February 28, 2011

It never ceases to amaze me that children as well as adults will walk right up to a dog in the local pet supply stores and just start to pet it. I have personally stopped several children and explained how to ask to pet a dog and how to approach a dog. It never occured to me about teaching dog body language to children and adults until I found Doggone Safe's website. I have taken every opportunity presented to relay the information I learned as well as direct parents to the website for more information and pictures so they know what to look for. If I have stopped one mishap from occuring, they we all win.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching children learn how to know if a dog is safe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Include more body language pictures that show more than just the relaxed or tense dog. Examples could include front paw lifting (sign of stress), whites of the eyes showing (whale-eye indicating fear. Could bring about fear aggression), lip licking (also a sign of stress), etc.

February 27, 2011

more

February 27, 2011

The main goals of Doggone Safe are education and prevention. They do an ongoing excellent job toward achieving those goals. I recently wrote an academic article on the often unrecognized PTSD that haunts some children after a dog attack. In that process, I reviewed many articles and web sites on all aspects of dog bites. There is not one source that comes close to the thoughtful, non-conflict of interest and comprehensive coverage provided by Doggone Safe. I found their section on “If Your Child is Bitten a Dog” a supportive and useful recognition that there will always be unfortunate victims no matter how diligently we work on prevention. The parents of these victims appreciate the easy availability of that section. I will soon be presenting “Be A Tree” to a local school where I volunteer.

R. Larry Schmitt, M.D. Retired child and adolescent psychiatrist

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping with their wesbite

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is great as it is

February 23, 2011

more

February 23, 2011

My husband and I do "Pet Ed" classes to children in private and public school settings. The pictures that go with the kit are very good to help tell the story about safety with dogs. We use them with preschool up to 4th grade.

jim and Pat

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my volunteer work with The Humane Society of East Texas.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

February 23, 2011

more

February 23, 2011

I think be a tree is fantastic. I have recently got the pack and have used it in many cases with clients I am dealing with. The photos and information is great and very clear.I also felt that the pack was beautifully presented. I am always amazed how little people can read the signs of the dogs body language. Also how kids and adults approach strange dogs! I am so glad that the pack is available as it makes teaching so much easier. I am in Ireland and my pack was lost in the post . I contacted Joan and another pack was sent straight away. I also

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced results when I'm educating clients how to read body language. Many of the clients have no heard or seen what the body language is really saying

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

February 23, 2011

more

February 23, 2011

I think Doggone Safe is an excellent program. I take the "Be A Tree" program into our local schools every spring to present to the younger grades. I am always amazed and horrified at how many children and adults that have been bitten by a dog and at how many that are terrified of dogs. I can only hope that the presentation will prevent someone else from such an unnessisary outcome. I am so inspired by some of the really little students and how they really enjoy the presentation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Free powerpoint presentation with the purchase of the Be A Tree kit.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This has been great at helping me speak in public and given me more confidence.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2011

more

February 23, 2011

Cari colleghi,
scusateci se scriviamo in italiano ma il nostro inglese è davvero terribile!
E' da circa 1 anno che siamo membri di Doggone Safe e dobbiamo riconoscere che questo felice connubio è nato casualmente.
Siamo marito e moglie, da anni impegnati come volontari nelle attività di
pet therapy sul nostro territorio: in Hospice, centri per disabili, case di riposo e scuole(oltre ad essere conduttori di cani da soccorso)
L’anno scorso avevamo avuto richieste da parte di diversi insegnanti delle Scuole Elementari (con alunni di 8 anni) per un intervento che aveva come obiettivo parlare ai bambini dei comportamenti corretti da usare quando incontravano un cane.
Questo perchè la stampa e i mass media avevano dato molto risalto a delle aggressioni da parte di alcuni cani ad adulti e bambini e gli alunni erano rimasti impressionati da queste notizie.
Essendo già negli anni precedenti intervenuti nelle classi per parlare di educazione cinofila, cercavamo qualcosa che potesse realmente aiutare i bambini, renderli sicuri e rispettosi.
Nel panorama italiano non abbiamo trovato nulla che "praticamente" ci potesse supportare nel costruire il nostro intervento.
Così abbiamo ampliato la ricerca su internet e fortuitamente siamo arrivati sul sito di Doggone Safety. e' stata per noi una "manna dal cielo".
Era proprio quello che cercavamo: il programma "To be a Tree Program " programma trasformati in un albero".
Abbiamo preso contatti, ci siamo debitamente presentati e dato le nostre credenziali, tradotto parte del materiale e .... eccoci qui!
E' stato un lavoro impegnativo ma davvero molto stimolante perchè siamo riusciti a coinvolgere tutta l'equipe degli insegnati:
• l'insegnate d'italiano (storie di cani, i sentimenti, le buone relazioni, il rispetto degli essere viventi, ecc),
• quella d'inglese (che ha insegnato i nomi in inglese delle diverse emozioni grazie alla documentazione di Doggone), l
• l'insegnate di ginnastica (che nelle sue lezioni ha ribadito la posizione "to be a tree"),
• l'insegnate di scienze per evidenziare cosa ci accomuna e cosa ci distingue dal cane (il cane ci sente benissimo non c'è bisogno di urlare, ha un ottimo olfatto, ecc.),

Potete capire da voi che il risultato è stato davvero importate.
Abbiamo fatto una verifica e le insegnati ci hanno riferito chedopo un anno dai nostri interventi, tutti i bambini si ricordavano perfettamente il concetto e la posizionedi "to be a tree" e oltre il 70% ricordavano il 100% dei diversi argomenti trattati nelle 4 lezioni che abbiamo tenuto.
Per concludere il percorso formativo, abbiamo svolto una serata con i genitori soffermandoci a parlare del valore sociale di vivere con al proprio fianco un animale domestico, abbiamo illustrato il percorso svolto con i loro bambini ed in particolare quali sono le modalità per una convivenza serena con i cani (sia quelli estranei che di casa) e speriamo anche il messaggio che: non bisogna trasmettere la fobia nei confronti degli animali ma tenere sempre un comportamento consapevole, sottolineando la loro responsabilità di genitori nel tutelare i bambini per preservarli da situazioni di disagio se non da vere e proprie aggressioni.
Questo in sintesi un programma che pensiamo di riproporre perchè è stato davvero funzionale e ben strutturato. Grazie anche a Doggone Safe.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

il programma to be a tree è davvero un'attività utile e facilmente comprensibile per i bambini. L'organizzazione Doggone Safe da un buon supporto a tutti noi operatori.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

niente

February 23, 2011

more

February 23, 2011

I have just started the Be A Tree presentation and I have found the materials very easy to follow.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Haven't had my first presentation yet. Starting next week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help identify potential grant opportunities