Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
200 Reviews
1234.975
Write A Review
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2013

The Dog Liberator Inc. keeps me informed and involved in the all-important work of helping the herding dogs I love when they're down on their luck. I've referred many people from all walks to TDL and ... more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Gisele is one of the most conscientious and hardworking people in animal rescue these days. She's smart, driven, and pragmatic. It's all about what's right for the dogs, not her ego and not your ego. It's not about pushing people and dogs together to get them adopted and out the door. She waits for the right long-term match. If it doesn't work out, she takes that dog back in a heartbeat. She doesn't just run a rescue, she provides a lifetime safety net for Dog Liberator dogs.
October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Dog Liberator Inc. keeps me informed and involved in the all-important work of helping the herding dogs I love when they're down on their luck. I've referred many people from all walks to TDL and will continue to do so. It's a first-rate nonprofit service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't mess with success!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue was a huge help to me when I needed guidance on finding a great home for a stray dog that I took in. Within a week they had him matched with a wonderful family. The Dog Liberator does fantastic work and has helped save the lives of hundreds of dogs. They evaluate each and every one to assure they are placed in the best family possible. In the future I hope to have the honor of volunteering with this great group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 25, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

I love working with TDL (The Dog Liberator). I have Transported and provided pictures for them and each time it is met with love and gratitude. I have always been informed about the dogs I would be wo... more

August 25, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with The Dog Liberator (TDL) for over 4 years now. I have seen both the outside workings and the inside and I love the rescue through and through. They are a true non-profit and the money goes straight to the dogs and keeping the lights on. The first commitment is to the dog, and then the owner. They work with adopters who are experiencing difficulty and do their best to give their adopters and adopted dogs a positive experience.
There are some "rescues" out there that flip dogs for profit. This is NOT that kind of rescue. These dogs are spayed/neutered and vetted to a greater extent than the average rescue does. If the dog has an ear infection it is treated (and checked for). If their teeth need work it is done. They are groomed/bathed. I adopted a dog from a shelter and at our first vet visit discovered that she had infected ears, intestinal parasites, and a handful of other issues which racked up a decent bill. TDL dogs are different. TDL puts in the effort to ensure you are able to go home and bond (not bond over bills, real bonding!) That is what your adoption fee goes toward: real healthcare and also pulling the next dog.
I recently moved 12 hours away from the rescue, but I so strongly believe in what they are doing that I am still promoting this rescue, volunteer, writing posts, and doing whatever I can to make sure TDL is a success. I hope you will join me in supporting them. No one rescues like The Dog Liberator.
September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I love working with TDL (The Dog Liberator). I have Transported and provided pictures for them and each time it is met with love and gratitude. I have always been informed about the dogs I would be working with and given what I felt was fair and adequate knowledge about any concerns there might be (such as a dog being a "flight risk" on transport because they have a love of running free, or if a dog was feeling a little fearful due to the shelter). I write this because I feel far too often the average rescue just asks a volunteer to go get a dog and provides little to no information about the animal except its size, it's name or ID, and where it needs to be picked up and dropped off. TDL takes that next step to ensure the safety of both the dog and the volunteer (as well as the volunteer's pets) and that is why I will continue work with them as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not sure I would, however change is necessary to keep the rescue alive, new, and growing. So If one change had to be made (as far as volunteer work goes) I would try to maybe have a sheet or a page of resources a new transporters/volunteers might want to know about. Sort of like a "best practices" suggestion sheet to help all involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 23, 2014

Four years ago we found an older border collie online that needed a new home. The rescue was The Dog Liberator. We meet Dutch and Gisele (founder) within a week. Dutch is a wonderful dog and I am so t... more

August 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have adopted two dogs from TDL and I now volunteer, as well. I like that dogs are fostered in homes and, hopefully, their true nature can be observed. I'm not saying rescues with kennels are bad - this is just my preference. I like the personal attention everyone at TDL pays to each dog that is looking for a forever home - someone saves the dog from the shelter, someone drives them to the vet (this trip can be across Central Florida or across states), someone welcomes them into their home and family while a forever home is sought, many someones answer emails or post to social media to find good matches. TDL sends each dog to the vet and will do whatever it takes to help them to lead long and healthy lives. (Read - this is expensive) I am proud to adopt and volunteer for TDL.
May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Four years ago we found an older border collie online that needed a new home. The rescue was The Dog Liberator. We meet Dutch and Gisele (founder) within a week. Dutch is a wonderful dog and I am so thankful to Gisele. Her volunteers foster dogs in their homes, with their families and share their love. All so they can give up the dogs for someone else. The Dog Liberator is funded through mostly donations and volunteers. The adoption fees are a fraction of what is spent on vet care, food, etc. I trust The Dog Liberator to provide accurate knowledge about their dogs and good adoption advice. We adopted our second dog last year from them, as well. They are two wonderful dogs that give so much back to us. Thank you Dog Liberator.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 7, 2013

Wonderful rescue! I have followed TDL for years, so when it was time for us to start looking for a new member of the family, they were our first and only stop. Our dog Alfie has been such a wonderful ... more

August 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I adopted our wonderful dog from The Dog Liberator about a year and a half ago. As a fan of herding breeds and herding mixes, we had been following TDL for quite a while before deciding to adopt. When our 12 year old Border Collie passed away two years ago, we were devastated. We knew that our next dog would be a rescue, and that they would come from TDL.

We had a few requirements for a new dog, the main ones being that he or she would get along with other dogs and cats, and that they'd be OK with children as well (we have nieces and nephews that our dog would be around frequently). Because of the excellent job TDL does "vetting" their dogs, we knew exactly what we'd be getting based on the thorough write-ups on their website and on their Facebook page.

When we saw our dog's story, it really touched us. Here was a dog that had been a stray, covered in ticks, emaciated, and VERY fearful. Gisele, and the rest of the TDL family, did an amazing job of building his confidence and getting him healthy. They tested him with dogs, cats, and children, and he thrived under their care.

They are so committed to finding the right homes for the right dogs, and that commitment really showed with our adoption experience. We love our TDL dog so much. He's wonderful in every way, a gentle and kind spirited friend!

Since adopting from TDL, we have fostered two dogs. This experience has been a real pleasure - an opportunity to give back to them what they gave to us, and a chance to help connect more people with their perfect matches. And the support we've received from TDL during the fostering period has been great. These people are so committed to helping dogs find the right people. I really can't recommend them enough!
September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Wonderful rescue! I have followed TDL for years, so when it was time for us to start looking for a new member of the family, they were our first and only stop. Our dog Alfie has been such a wonderful friend! He is so sweet and loving. Without TDL, Alfie would have most likely been put to sleep. They saved our wonderful dog, and helped him find his way to us. We are so very grateful for that!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 14, 2013

TDL helped me place a Border Collie I fostered for over a year (and had been turned down for sponsorship by other rescue groups) within two weeks. Jack was a wonderfully mannered, handsome, mature Bo... more

June 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I think it is the best canine/human match-making service around. Delves beyond the application form and seeks ways to make adoptions happen instead of focusing on "deal breakers".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the mega-millions powerball winner donate a portion of their winnings so this group could help more dogs and people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

TDL helped me place a Border Collie I fostered for over a year (and had been turned down for sponsorship by other rescue groups) within two weeks. Jack was a wonderfully mannered, handsome, mature Border Collie with severe PTSD. Jack required a careful placement in a loving, nurturing, low-stress home with mellow, sensitive people with Border Collie experience that were home most of the time. He also had some minor health issues that needed to be addressed and was much happier with other polite dogs around. Giselle not only agreed to sponsor but helped me with his profile and pictures. She also told me to "pack Jack's bags" - that her network of adoptees was fantastic and boy, was she right! That impossible-to-find, narrow-niche forever-home called wanting to meet Jack and within days they drove from the Orlando area to Atlanta to pick him up in person with their Companion Dog certified Border Collie. After he adjusted to his new home, they arranged for the surgery he needed. I can never thank Giselle and TDL enough for finding the exact family that could finish healing Jack's shattered soul. Her network of REPEAT adopters speaks volumes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope TDL gets more funds and/or donations to help more herders-in-need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 12, 2013

The Dog Liberator is the BEST rescue I have ever come across. I have adopted 2 dogs from the rescue, and have absolutely fell head over heels IN LOVE with them. I have volunteered to foster many many ... more

May 28, 2014

I have been volunteering/fostering with this great organization for many years. The amount of compassion and dedication to these animals is beyond belief.
They CARE about these animals, including the deaf and or blind dogs!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make more programs available to HELP organizations like this one!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Dog Liberator is the BEST rescue I have ever come across. I have adopted 2 dogs from the rescue, and have absolutely fell head over heels IN LOVE with them. I have volunteered to foster many many times because I truly believe in the good work and positive outcomes I have seen affiliated with this rescue. This rescue has saved MANY many dogs in the 3 years I have been following, and I am soooo proud to own a TDL dog :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more funds available to assist homeless dogs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2013

The Dog Liberator Rescue group is one who stands out as educational, helpful, and gives top care to the animals it takes in to their care. They are willing to help people retain their animals when po... more

April 26, 2014

This is a great group who helps animals in need find good and safe homes. They match the animals with people who will be likely to keep them safe for a lifetime. If an unforeseen event happens the group will take an animal back into the rescue fold and replace it within another safe place. I know personally of animals who were helped. Some were older, and had little chance within the traditional shelter system. Some were sick,injured or very young. All have been given the best medical care and attention as they waited for forever homes. I do recommend them as a place to ask for help when needed adn as a place to adopt from when looking for a pet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is great as is, but could benefit by more foster families to help more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Dog Liberator Rescue group is one who stands out as educational, helpful, and gives top care to the animals it takes in to their care. They are willing to help people retain their animals when possible, and re-home when necessary. The rescue is willing to help educate pet owners, including those who have rescued from another organization. Animals who find themselves in need of rescue from open intake shelters or as owner surrenders, are very well cared for at TDL. They are given the veterinarian care, training and support they need to become good pets. Homes are found that match the needs of the animals best so these dogs, (and sometimes cats) stay with the new families for life. Thanks for a caring and nicely run rescue group TDL is one of the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask for more volunteers and foster families. I am very glad the group only takes in the number of animals it can truly give quality care and time to. I wish it had more volunteers and foster families. Other than the constant need for reliable loving foster homes and funding to help homeless animals I don't see any need for changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to work with this wonderful organization over the summer, and it was an honor to help TDL out. No one works harder to make sure these dogs get the right home than TDL. It is also important to point out that not only does the organization work hard to make sure that the home is right for the dog, but they also make sure that the dog is right for the owner. They go above and beyond for both the dogs and the owners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

TDL helped me understand the systemic needs of transitioning a rescue dog to a new environment. The factors and considerations we examined to ensure the process was proactive and positive for everyone made me realize the values of adoption. Volunteering at TDL has been my most rewarding and memorable experience. I'm deeply impacted by their family values and it was an honor working with The Dog Liberator!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us scout for grants, share our posts on Facebook or Twitter, Instagram, or Pinterest! Volunteer