Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.142865
Write A Review
September 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have donated to Doctors without Borders for years and feel confident that my money is going to save lives effectively. I used to receive more mail than I wanted, but I contacted them and the mail has slowed considerably. On their site, this is their suggestion for updating mail preferences:

"We can send you mail as often as you would like. We can limit the mailings to quarterly, twice a year, just once a year, or none at all. Simply state your preference when making your gift or send an email, with your name, address, and mail preference, to donations@newyork.msf.org.

Please note that due to our mail production schedule it may take up to 6-8 weeks for this request to take effect."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I'm sure Doctors Without Borders is well worth any donation we can give. When they sent me a snail mail request for a donation, I donated $50.00 through Charity Navigator rather than write a check and mail it. As it turned out, the total charge to my bank account was $57.37 -- "processing fee" of 2.37 and another, unspecified fee for 5.00. Charity Navigator won't let me rate them, and this unknown intermediary, "Network for Good" (which seems to have claimed the unspecified five dollars) doesn't appear on Charity Navigator's list of charities. I didn't authorize these charges. I will donate to Doctors Without Borders again, but guess how I will NOT be doing it from now on.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 20, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I have a family member who just returned from E. Africa after having spent nine months with the U.S. Military on the Kony mission. I asked him if he came across any charitable organizations working there I should support. His immediate answer was DWB. He said it is reaching people like none other. I’ve been a long-time donor and getting his first hand confirmation sealed the deal for future donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give regular donors a way to opt out on frequent mailings and emails. As much as I appreciate DWB this is an irritant--and I see it as a common criticism.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012

more

July 8, 2012

I wrote this charity, explaining that I could not contribute in the near future and suggested that they could try again in two years. It had no effect. Well, I tried. If they persist, I will keep any gifts received and throw everything else away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I seriously considered stopping my donations to Doctors without Borders because I could not get them to stop sending me solicitations by mail. I finaly wrote to directly to a board member when I received a solicitation signed by her. I have not received any mail from Doctors without Borders in several weeks. I am cautiously optimistic at this point that the mail has stopped.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Doctors Without Borders is one of the premier international medical non-profits. Doctors Without Borders medical staff provide health services in areas of the world that are too dangerous from other non-profit agencies to work in. The courage of these doctors is unbelievable. They are literally laying their lives on the line to provide medical services in conflict zones around the world. Critics who question the fund-raising practices of DWB are directed to www.charitynavigator.org and www.charitywatch.org.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Like some others who have commented, I receive about one mailing per month from this charity, each with a 45-cent stamp on the enclosed envelope. How many people are likely to donate this frequently? I feel it is a real waste of money on their part and would like to see that money go to their field work instead. If people want to donate, they will provide their own stamp! This practice has made me less likely to contribute in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

Yes, they do wonderful work but I too am tired of all the snail mail (and environmental degradation that goes with it). Seems like that would be better spent on non-donors. If you stop donating, does the mail ever end?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

stop nagging donors so often. Spend the money and paper on getting new donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have donated to Doctors Without Borders for many years. They absolutely will not stop the snail mail, no matter what we do. We donate to quite a few charities, and all of them have honored our request to stop the calls/snail mail. But Doctors Without Borders will not. Also, their privacy choices are difficult to find on their website, and I'm not sure they will honor those preferences either. There are so many wonderful international charities that we find it easy to stop our donations to this group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

Doctors without borders is one of the most proactive and altruistic charities I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Their efforts around the world have an immediate impact, and their non-bias and anti discriminatory policies is one of the reasons why I hold them in such high regard.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers