Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

Doctors Giving Back (DGB) changed my life. Ive gone with them to assist with medical relief efforts in one of the most fogotten places in the world.

The people I met while there keeps me wanting to go back, along with such gratifing and neeeded work.

Honestly, I cannot think of
anthying I'd rather do than travel with DGB to Ethiopia. DGB is family and I cant think of any other organization I'd rather be with on a medical team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more trips w/ fewer people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am an ardent fan, and financial supporter of the Doctors Giving Back organization. it was brought to my attention several years ago when the cofounders, Drs. John and Jana Turns spoke at a conference at our church. I was greatly impressed with their fervent concern for the personal welfare of the Ethiopian people. The Turns, and their dedicated team of volunteers are enthusiastically determined to make a difference in the lives of those they have been called to serve. The positive impact the DGB team has made through their compassionate, humanitarian care in remote regions of the African Bush, is truly amazing. Whether the need be acute medical attention, resources for purifying water, shoes, eyeglasses, over the counter medications, or simply to lovingly share a handmade Stuffed Teddy Bear with a frightened child...the DGB team is ready and willing to do so. It is truly a FIve Star organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for Doctors Giving Back since its inception. While I have not physically made a trip to Ethiopia, I know in my heart that I have made that trip many times over by working with the dedicated and caring DGB team of volunteers and board members. This life changing non-profit has shown me and countless other volunteers that we don’t have to get on a plane in order to make a change, to give hope, and to give life to the people of Ethiopia. On the “home front” we knit bears for the little ones, we gather shoes and clothing; we share with those here the impact that an inexpensive water filter can have on literally giving life to the people of Ethiopia, we hold garage sales, crab feeds and auctions. DGB is a medical relief organization yet it is so much more. It is an organization that helps humankind far beyond medical relief only. It gives hope to thousands that others care. After their own life changing trip to Ethiopia several years ago Dr. John and Jana Turns who started this non-profit inspires us to give unselfishly of our time, our money, and ourselves as they travel to Ethiopia year after year doing just that. The opportunities to give are many, the returns are invaluable. Doctors Giving Back is a non-profit that I believe in 100%.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that more recognition- thereby more funding would come their way as they continue to grow in their outreach to the peoples of Ethiopia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I met the founders of Doctors Giving Back many years ago through church. Perhaps 10 or more years ago they participated in a mission trip to western Ethiopia, which forevermore changed the course and focus of their lives. Since that first trip, they have returned yearly, sharing their medical expertise with the poorest of the poor indigenous people in the area around Assosa, Ethiopia, where there are only 3 doctors serving over a million people. (The statistics may be even worse now than when I heard an update last.)

On their yearly trips, they are accompanied by several dozen kind-hearted volunteers, not all of whom are medically trained. They conduct clinics every day for several weeks, treating people with diverse maladies, delivering a C-section baby, sharing medicine, taking blood pressures, checking eyes, etc. They also distribute as many mosquito nets, water filters, eyeglasses, and hand-knit teddy bears for the kids as they can cram into their luggage. Volunteers for the several-week trip take only a smallish backpack for their own personal items. The remainder of their allowed baggage space is devoted to all the supplies that are taken and freely distributed during clinics and in various communities around the region. DGB provides more love, hope, and encouragement to this remote part of the world than can ever be imagined.

During the trips they have made, DGB founders have worked with Ethiopian government officials to start to address the issue of a gutted and abandoned 'hospital' in the Assosa area; in this region, if surgery is absolutely necessary to save a life, the one Ethiopian surgeon in the area (if he is actually available at the time of the crisis) has at his disposal an 'operating room' with no lights, virtually no surgical instruments, used gauze (rinsed out in the nearby river and air dried from the last time), no anesthetics or antibiotics, a few rusty and torn 'hospital beds', and other appalling lack of sanitation. DGB founders and volunteers have painted walls, scrubbed tile, and tried to outfit the hospital supply room with as many supplies as they can bring each trip. But progress is slow, and the need is very great. A few years ago, DGB founders worked tirelessly to bring a young Ethiopian girl to the US, where services from US hospitals and medical personnel were donated, in order to remove (successfully) a malignant growth on the girl's eye.

The lack of sanitary conditions in the country contributes greatly to spread of disease and illness throughout the region. Because disease-laden water contributes to the disease seen in a large majority of cases that DGB treats in clinics, DGB’s focus also includes the distribution of water filters, and training people to use them properly to improve the overall quality of life in their communities. DGB founders have devoted many hours and much effort to locate a reliable supplier the water filters they deliver to the many communities surrounding Assosa.

In addition to their work among the people and at the Assosa 'hospital', DGB has in the works the establishment of one or two orphanages, where children would be loved and cared for by trained staff, and where they would receive schooling and have opportunity to learn viable ways to help themselves as well as the orphanage become self-sustaining, such as by growing vegetable gardens and raising chickens for egg production and for sale in the community.

I have not had opportunity to travel to Ethiopia yet, but I look forward to the day I can. Meanwhile, as I have opportunity, I try to help with publicity or fundraising efforts to help this worthy organization. DGB is run with utmost integrity, and I know that the founders spend countless hours pouring into the efforts of DGB (in addition to running their own medical practice). Funds donated as gifts or grants to this organization are spent with great scrutiny, so as to make the most difference in the country of Ethiopia, to those who need their help the most. You would not regret having made a contribution to this fine organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The DGB founders are stretched so thin that they could easily benefit from administrative help. Yet so much of what gets done is accomplished just by them. In the faraway country of Ethiopia, assistance by more natives could multiply even further the impact of DGB. Tapping into and networking for even more resources of supplies and materials for their clinics, hospital, orphanage(s), and other humanitarian efforts would be an effective way to help the overall mission of DGB.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I had the honor and pleasure of joining DGB for the 2011 Ethiopia trip. I am a Registered nurse and my experience was life changing? DGB volunteers have helped thousands of people who are without healthcare, provide shoes, medical care and clean water, among many other wonderful things. This group of people are loving, compassionate and amazing and I continue to work with DGB.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have had the privilege of accompanying Doctors Giving Back on two trips to Ethiopia. The experience is life changing!!! DGB is an amazing organization that provides medical care and supplies to a much needed area in western Ethiopia. To see smiles on the faces of people that get relief from their suffering is unexplainable. DGB travels to remote villages offering free medical clinics, shoes and clean water systems. Many of the villagers hav3 never seen a doctor before in their life. 100% of donations go to help provide these services. Please consider helping this amazing non-profit!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more volunteers and funding their way!!! DGB does a lot, but there is so much more to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have volunteered with Doctors Giving Back for many years now, including having the privilege of being a Board Member for a few of those years. During all my time working with DGB, I have been apart of many events... Dessert Socials, Garage Sales, Crab Feeds and I have had the opportunity to travel with a team to Ethiopia and see all our "at home" efforts pay off. This is an AMAZING organization that does truly AMAZING, life changing things! Making the trip to Ethiopia and seeing our non-profit donations at work really has changed my life forever! It was the most incredible experience I have ever had. We helped thousands of people each year; people who quite literally have nothing... Barely, if any food to eat, no clean drinking, cooking, or bathing water, people who have no shoes on their feet... And some without clothes. Most of the people of this region have never had the chance to see a doctor... We give them that opportunity! We give them glasses to see and read with, sunglasses to help with blocking the sun and the dust! We set villages up with water filters so they can have one of the most basic human essentials... Clean DISEASE FREE water! And the people we help... They are SO eternally grateful! I have never seen people with as little as they have be so happy, blessed and just full of faith and love!!! My heart is FILLED with pure LOVE at what this organization accomplishes all year long and each and everytime our teams make the trip and help these people who are less fortunate than anyone I have ever known. After traveling with DBG to Ethiopia once, I can honestly say this organization and those people of Assosa truly have a special place in my heart and have shown me what love and faith and just being a good human being is all about.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I began volunteering for DGB almost four years ago. It is a 100% volunteer group and I am constantly amazed at what this small group can accomplish. Each year our trip to Ethiopia impacts tens of thousands of people and provides health care and clean water, as well as medical supplies for the local hospital. I am proud to volunteer for this group and everything I have contributed has come back to me ten-fold in life-changing ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find some funding for part-time administrative help so that we can branch pit and spend more time helping those who truly need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have volunteered with DGB for several years. The great thing about DGB is that the mission of health and clean water in Ethiopia is very much needed and has an impact for good, but it also very efficient with donor funds. Since it is all volunteer and volunteers pay their own was on the trips, all my funds go directly to the programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make bigger

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Very good non profit. All members share a devotion and passion for the organization. Do the very best they can to provide the best service possible. A very noteworthy cause and goals to help provide a better standard of living and providing services that are unattainable by the people they are helping.

Wonderful job keep up the good work DGB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to be able to provide this organization with more help in efforts to try and go to the region more often in order to further help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers