Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.983615
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

My daughter (16 yrs old) and I are avid divers and started working with diveheart about 2 years ago. The tireless work by willy and Jim is inspiring on its own, but seeing the joy that the organization brings not only the participants, but their family and their caregivers is awesome. It is a wonderful experience to volunteer at any of their events even for non-divers. Jim's vision to grow diveheart into areas for research, training and long term sustainability is exciting and we look forward to help reach those goals any way we can.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

As a volunteer for Diveheart, I have learned many things about people. They are willing to share their time and talent for an awesome organization. Diveheart helps handicapped individuals experience scuba diving. Yes, I could not believe what some of these people are capable of. Diveheart lets them feel the freedom in the water that they cannot experience on land. I do not scuba dive but I help as a deck hand at some of the pools and on land at the beach events. Like any nonprofits, help is always needed and welcome. If you are capable, why not give Diveheart a try?
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I help with the HSA buddy system. I am able to see the joy in the disables eyes by helping them get into a zero gravity setting, watch them have the freedom to move about without pain and being assisted by some kind of mechanical device.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I started diving with Diveheart about 3 years ago. I was scared a little because I had never done it before but all the volunteers put me right at ease the first day I went in the water. I have been in the pool and quarry numerous times. I even got to go diving in Florida twice. Now I am a certified scuba diver in spite of the fact I am physically disabled. I always have a great time when I join any Diveheart function.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I met Jim Elliott at the Chicago Scuba show and he introduced me to Diveheart. As Commander of the Northbrook, Illinois American Legion/VFW post and a scuba diver I meediately volunteered the posts services. What a tremendous organization and we are anxious to take part in the scuba traing and taking a group of disabled vets on a scuba trip. Absolutely a high energy high purpose not-for-profit. I am humbled to be a part of it. Rob Holt, NOrthbrook, Il
June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

When I met the work of diverheart group, i was very happy for the beautiful work of this team. I always get emotional seeing the smile on the face of each person when they go diving. i love see how this team helps people to be happy, finding diving a reason to feel your heart full of happiness. Congratulations to Jim and the whole team for this attitude so beautiful. I wish God bless all the team every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2013

more

November 10, 2013

My daughter Sophia who has CP and is unable to walk, with the help of The Center of Independence staff was able to experience Scuba diving with the Diveheart Foundation Divers, she was a little
hesatant and scared at first but was excited and still wanted to try it once she got the mask on
and
went under water she just loved it. She did not want to come out of the water. The divers were great
and she hasn't stopped talking about it and would love to do it again, it was a great expierence for
her. Thank You to The Center of Independence in Countryside and to the Diveheart team for giving
her that chance to experience scuba dive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

You only have to see a slide presentation given by Jim Elliott, the president, of Diveheart, and your heart goes out to this organization. You don't have to like Scuba, you only have to care about easing the pain in others.

No matter who you are, your disability or that of a loved one,
this group can make it better. They can ease the physical pain & the emotional ones, build your strength, your self confidence, your social status, it's all the a pool of water filled with diver buddies with big, big hearts helping you every step of the way to a better & brighter future.

Every age, every color, every gender, every walk or crawl in life can benefit thru association with Diveheart.

I'm proud to help when & where I can & fully support their efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a permanent home base that would last forever. They have the foundation. They just need the millions of dollars for the land, pool & building to give the future generations the same chance for their success. Whether it's for the returning Vets, needing rehab & new occupations or the youth with deformities etc., this organization needs to grow permanent roots so it can shelter those we love until they can go out on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I first began working with Diveheart a year ago. The mission of the organization spoke to me, as I have a son with special needs and my father was a Vietnam veteran who suffered from untreated PTSD. I decided to become a volunteer and have found great joy in the work, connecting with other divers of all ability levels. Diveheart is my dive community and I'm proud to be a member! If you have any interest in sharing your passion for diving with EVERYONE you know, get involved. You won't regret it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved, all over the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I learned about DIveheart in 2011 and started volunteering that same year. It's been wonderful meeting all the people both volunteers and participants over the past two years - they all inspire me! It's amazing the impact even one pool dive can do for a participant's vision of themselves and the gratitude that is expressed at a Diveheart DSE is always a gift that lifts my spirits every time I volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep expanding!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers