Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.983615
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I first became a Diveheart volunteer in 2009 and it has become one of the most important parts of my life. Diveheart provides the opportunity to have a tangible and powerful impact on the lives of people with disabilities. By introducing them to the zero gravity environment of scuba diving, Diveheart broadens their horizons, dramatically improves their quality of life and, in many cases, frees them from physical pain that is an every day element of their lives topside. One of the greatest joys is seeing the reaction of children with disabilities when they first experience breathing underwater. For those of us who have had the privilege of being Diveheart volunteers, our lives have been enriched beyond measure.
Join the Diveheart team and Imagine the Possibilities!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it continue to grow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I first learned about Diveheart.Org through the Rotary Club. I have since seen Jim Elliott ' s presentation at the Orland Park Rotary and had them speak to the Oak Forest Rotary. Tonight they received a warm welcome from the Frankfort Lions Club. Having taught Special Education for 37 years, I have a special place in my heart for them. I hope to connect Diveheart.Org to many more organizations and hope by sharing this great organization one group at a time their story can be told forever and help many many people worldwide. Who do you know to help spread the word??
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

My daughter (16 yrs old) and I are avid divers and started working with diveheart about 2 years ago. The tireless work by willy and Jim is inspiring on its own, but seeing the joy that the organization brings not only the participants, but their family and their caregivers is awesome. It is a wonderful experience to volunteer at any of their events even for non-divers. Jim's vision to grow diveheart into areas for research, training and long term sustainability is exciting and we look forward to help reach those goals any way we can.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

We found out about Diveheart through my dad who saw the WGN special. My son and I attended one of their picnics and my 13 year old was able to experiencing diving. He was diagnosed with autism when he was 2yr. He has always loved swimming so to discover diving was simply amazing. He came out of the water with the biggest grin I have ever seen. if it wasn't for Diveheart I would still be searching for activities that my son could enjoy.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

As a volunteer for Diveheart, I have learned many things about people. They are willing to share their time and talent for an awesome organization. Diveheart helps handicapped individuals experience scuba diving. Yes, I could not believe what some of these people are capable of. Diveheart lets them feel the freedom in the water that they cannot experience on land. I do not scuba dive but I help as a deck hand at some of the pools and on land at the beach events. Like any nonprofits, help is always needed and welcome. If you are capable, why not give Diveheart a try?
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I help with the HSA buddy system. I am able to see the joy in the disables eyes by helping them get into a zero gravity setting, watch them have the freedom to move about without pain and being assisted by some kind of mechanical device.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I started diving with Diveheart about 3 years ago. I was scared a little because I had never done it before but all the volunteers put me right at ease the first day I went in the water. I have been in the pool and quarry numerous times. I even got to go diving in Florida twice. Now I am a certified scuba diver in spite of the fact I am physically disabled. I always have a great time when I join any Diveheart function.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I met Jim Elliott at the Chicago Scuba show and he introduced me to Diveheart. As Commander of the Northbrook, Illinois American Legion/VFW post and a scuba diver I meediately volunteered the posts services. What a tremendous organization and we are anxious to take part in the scuba traing and taking a group of disabled vets on a scuba trip. Absolutely a high energy high purpose not-for-profit. I am humbled to be a part of it. Rob Holt, NOrthbrook, Il
August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

Our 22 year old son Matthew has cerebral palsy and is in a wheelchair. During the 2013-14 school year, Matthew attended the Illinois Center for Rehabilitation and Education (ICRE) in Chicago. While at ICRE Matthew was introduced to Diveheart and scuba diving. He was apprehensive at first but decided to give it a try. With the patient help of Jim Elliott of Diveheart and Ron Rispoli of ICRE, Matthew was successful underwater in the pool at ICRE. We then learned that Ron Rispoli was planning an ICRE/Diveheart diving trip to Key Largo in July. We decided to sign the whole family up for the trip and my 20 year old son Jake and I also signed up to learn how to dive. Diveheart arranged several training sessions for all three of us as well as online training to become certified divers. Our family was now looking forward to an exciting vacation adventure and couldn't wait for July to get here. We ended up having our best vacation experience of all time. Our trip started off with a training dive off the beach at Pennekamp State Park. The next three days we spent on the boat with the Rainbow Reef Dive Center in Key Largo. The folks at Rainbow Reef went above and beyond in every way, getting four adults in wheelchairs on and off the boat and safely into and out of the water. The weather and diving was great all four days and we couldn't have asked for more (I give thanks and praise to God for that. I know he was with us on this trip). Because of Jim Elliott and Ron Rispoli, our son Matthew now has the confidence to do something we never even thought possible. We are now a scuba diving family, although we still have to get Mom Margaret under water. There are so many bad things in our world, but also more good things. We need to support people like Jim Elliot and groups like Diveheart. They are truly angels on earth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...give them all the money they need to make their dreams a reality.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

When I met the work of diverheart group, i was very happy for the beautiful work of this team. I always get emotional seeing the smile on the face of each person when they go diving. i love see how this team helps people to be happy, finding diving a reason to feel your heart full of happiness. Congratulations to Jim and the whole team for this attitude so beautiful. I wish God bless all the team every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers