Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have seen DEF grow over the years and they provide a great source of information and comfort for those suffering with eye disease. They sponsor ground-breaking research into the source of many of these aliments and provide patients with support and clear information to help them manage or treat their disease. It's amazing to see such good work produced by their small, but dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

As a person diagnosed with KC, the NKCF forum on their websitea allowed me to read what others with KC have gone through and are experiencing as well as learn about advances in treatments for this condition.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

The NKCF Discovery Eye Foudation is a very practical way to get tons of information about keratoconus.
The monthly newsletter presents the latest development for treatment alternatives. It's also possible to get in touch with other people diagnosed with keratoconus to learn about their
experience with different treatments. Overall very pleased with the work of the NKCF Discovery Eye Foudation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

When I was first diagnosed with Keratoconus, after having received several misdiagnoses, I went to the Internet to do research. My most positive experience has been with the NKCF, whose website and newsletters have been truly useful and informational. I was particularly impressed when I announced to the newsletter that I would be having a corneal transplant. I received immediately from Cathy Warren a booklet concerning the whole procedure, including factors which my surgeon didn't think to tell me. I was touched and pleased with her prompt response. The procedure went as described, and now I see well enough to drive with glasses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

DISCOVERY EYE FOUNDATION is a great non profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The first time I heard about the NKCF/DEF was almost 20 years ago. I was feeling a little down and felt sorry for myself because of my keratoconus. It was so comforting to read other people stories and feel that I’m not alone. I’ve been receiving the quarterly newsletter for many years and keeping up-tp-date with the latest discoveries in the KC treatment. Because of the DEF information, I was more informed patient, asking my doctor and optometrist questions and getting more information and answers to be able to get the best treatment for me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Hello, I have been a user on the Discovery Eye Foundation website and newsletter for many years. About 12 years ago I was diagnosed with myopic degeneration in both eyes resulting in scarring on the macula and bleeding. I fortunately am in the great care of an east coast eye speciality hospital. I have to give credit to the wonderful physicians who have treated me over the years for saving my eyesight. Although, I do not have perfect 20/20 vision even with correction and have had double cataract surgery as well, I can function well in my ADLs and work full time. I am extremely grateful for all of this. I read the AMD Updates regularly and it has provided me with excellent information that helps me to have meaningful conversations with my physicians. It keeps me up to date on the latest vision research and provides me with resources in which I benefit. I have recommended this newsletter to family and friends who also have to cope with vision disorders. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I was diagnosed with wet AMD several years ago. In researching this problem I came across the Discovery Eye Foundation site and it has been a big help to me ever since. Good information, response to E-mails and questions, personal attention when needed. I have recommended the site to several people who also suffer from AMD. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The charity has provided a newsletter which always I look forward to receiving. They keep the world of those who suffer from this condition updated on possible treatment options. They post details about research and have a fantastic support and awareness function. Great company, made a difference in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Web search

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I can't even remember where I learned about the AMD website, but I think it was in a magazine or from another website. I went to check it out because my mother and my oldest sister both have MD. I have really gotten a lot of information from their articles and they even sent me a chart to keep on my refrigerator to check my eyes with and that gives me security in knowing that I will catch it early if I develop it also. I am watching their research now to decide what the best vitamin will turn out to be. It's great to have so much information in one place that is keeping up with the latest information. Maybe I will be lucky and not have to go through what my mother and sister are doing. I know that they are very helpful now, and with any luck they will be life-changing for me and my other siblings and our children and grandchildren.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer