Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

My father is almost blind from Macular Degeneration. Recently I have found out that his sister is also showing symptoms, and I also have beginning signs of developing AMD. This organzation has become a valuable resource for me, to get the information I need to keep my own vision healthy, and to understand the implications of having AMD. Through this organization, I have been able to participate in research regarding the genetic factor in AMD, which is important to me since it clearly runs in my family. I feel very fortunate to have this wonderful resource to help me and my family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

I have been diagnosed with Keratoconus for 41 years. As new developments and proceedures have recently emerged, the NKCF website has been a saving grace. I am currently 61 and through the interchange of others with KC and physicians and contact fitters in the field, I am able to discern what treatments have been successful as well as others who have have similar side effects to new contact lenses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

AMD provides the latest research and care information for macular degeneration with timely emails and newsletters. When I've asked a more specific question of the director, Judith Delgado, I get a very prompt, informative, caring response. I've been helped a great deal to handle the AMD diagnosis in my life by this group, and have recommended them to others over the years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Thank you to NKCF for their great newsletter and website. Being a Keracatonous patient I have learned that there are not very many resources, and their website/newsletter gives me the resources and research results are extremely helpful to me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

My husband has had keratoconus for 25+ years and the National Keratoconus Foundation has kept him informed over the years. Their sample insurance letter helped get him medical reimbursement for his expensive hard/Rose K contacts ... probably common these days, but the NKCF lead the way to getting this much needed financial assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I have a family member with macular degeneration and as so, am at risk for developing it as well. The information on this website has been extremely helpful for my family so far. I would recommend that anyone who has the disease or wants to know more information about it visit the website. As they are a resource for people with diminished vision, they thoughtfully publish everything in larger font sizes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

When my son was diagnosed with Keratoconus his grades had already been failing in school and he was frustrated that over the course of a year spent going to eye doctors we couldn't find a contact that he could either see through or that stayed in his eyes! That is when I turned to The National Keratoconus Foundation, a program of The Discovery Eye Foundation website for help. Within a day we received a list of eye Doctors in our state who are affiliated with NKCF. These Doctors understood that disease and the issues of good sight correction. After One Doctor visit my son had a pair of contacts he not only could wear but could see well with too! Now each month when we get a newsletter update we both read the articles and discuss the information. It has made dealing with the disease easier now that we are better informed. Thank you NKCF for your life changing help with this complicated and not well understood disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I knew nothing about keratoconus (KC) when I was diagnosed. I was frightened and worried about my future. When I found NKCF online, it was such a relief. I was not alone! There were doctors who were ecperienced with this condition; there were patients like myself who really, truly knew what I was going through. It was a tremendous support. Their day-long seminar at the Skirball was very informative, and a chance to meet other KC patients in person. When it came time for my first cornea transplant, NKCF was there, too. Their booklet about cornea transplants was extremely helpful in my planning and knowing what to expect. And it was free! Although my transplanted corneas are healthy now, I still visit the NKCF and support them with my participation on the chat board and monetary donation. This organization is suberb, and has made a huge difference in my life with KC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

This organization provide a badly needed informational service to people suffering from keratoconus. This disease is fairly rare and thus it can be very difficult to get timely and accurate information about it. Thank you. Bill Simkins

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I am very thankful for the information that Discovery Eye Foundation distributes to the KC community. I have learned valuable information that helps me take better care of my eyes and stay informed on the latest research and surgeries. They do a great job disseminating information!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer