Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2010

Hi, My name is Lilian and was diagnosed with Keratoconus at 22 years of age. For any sufferers of KC and their families, it can be a rather trying experience. It's been about 10 years since I found NK... more

September 8, 2013

In the early days of my KC diagnosis, before the KC stabilized, the regular NKCF newsletters/forum provided much needed information and support. Discovery Eye Foundation/NKCF provide a valuable and much need resource for a disease that does not get as much visibility as other more obvious and prevalent conditions. KUDOS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2010

Hi, My name is Lilian and was diagnosed with Keratoconus at 22 years of age. For any sufferers of KC and their families, it can be a rather trying experience. It's been about 10 years since I found NKCF while browsing the web for information about KC. I registered for the forum and received great support and feedback from participants. A recent relocation to a new city left me without a clue about finding a specialist. The efficient and easy referral service offered by NKCF pointed me into the direction to some of the best, most friendly and professional, MD and Optometrist (at a University Hospital in Jackson, MS) who fitted me with perfectly fitting Rigid Gas Permeable lens on the first try. I am so appreciative of the tireless efforts of forum and referral coordinator C. Warren. We are lucky to have her's and NKCF's 100% commitment to the holistic care, treatment and research of KC. Kudos to NKCF!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Excellent organization deserving to maximum support for Keratoconus an non-obvious eye disease for which sufferers require very specific assistance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only more growth, more assistance, a greater web presence, more international coverage and public enlightenment about this condition and progress in research.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Daily web forum digest Comprehensive website information Great insurance reimbursement letter

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Excellent!! 5 stars!!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build a dedicated state of the art facility and international network of providers and suffers and optometrist. Have a advocacy or even its own insurance coverage for a medical condition for which medical insurers refuse to cover.

Ways to make it better...

NKCF on facebook International perspectives Chronology of "famous" or prominent persons living with KC

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding Exposure Access to greater number of KC suffers for more data on KC

One thing I'd also say is that...

It is possible to have a full life with KC thanks to specialists and experienced optometrists.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

Hi friends,
I'm Danny prem from India. I'm really happy to have link with this organisation as I live with keratoconus with more than 6 years in a country with less knowledge about the disease and NKCF's newsletter helped to know more about my problem and also boosted my confidence
to face this world.. thanks for giving a hope for new life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I was told I had kertaconsis in 1990 wen i was 26 and i had 3 small children under 6. It was the most devastating you I can't at the age of 26. A full time working mom wife. The doctor told me the name of the disease I went home and read up on the disease that I had. I recall being scared and ASHAMED aashaking t

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes very good organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

This foundation (NKCF) has provided me great information and support. Keratoconus is not a well known condition, it is mostly misdiagnosed. Thanks to this foundation its information is disseminated to patients, families and even ophtalmologists!!! It also provides great service updating the latest research and treatments through the website and newsletter; promotes corneal donation, seminars, research and great support to patients by sharing common experiences. I am very thankful to NKCF. It has been very helpful to us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

I have had keratoconus for more than 30 years. This Foundation provides a great service by disseminating the latest information on treatment and research for this eye disorder through its Website and newsletter. The Foundation also offers a discussion board for patients to be able to ask questions, share information, and find support from others with similar experiences. It is a much needed resource for information and support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

Discovery Eye puts out a very informative newsletter a few times a year. Judy Delgado has consistently responded promptly and thoroughly to requests I have made for info about macular degeneration treatments, etc. She runs support groups in the LA area that are very helpful for individuals with AMD and their family members. They helped my Dad, who had AMD, and have helped me, with early stages of AMD, a lot.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

Hi My name is Antonio Mendoza, 46 old, I live in Mexico (sorry for my English) I have Keratoconous for +20 years.The reason for typing this message is because I want to share my experience trying to control it. In my case, I have periods with critical sensations in my both eyes. In that moment It has been greatful to use soda can soda cold direct to my eye for a short moments. also I have access to traditional Mexican herbal medicine and with some herbals I have the possiblity to manage my eyes when I have crisis.It has been helpful for me because I have the possibility to stabilize the keratoconus. I share this info in order to help others and also try to give some ideas for making new studies. Regards. Antonio amendoza@cableonline.com.mx

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

My name is Sandy. I am a 52 year old female. My mother has AMD and she is 86 years old. She is blind. I thought I too had AMD. I started having vision changes in my left eye this past summer. I felt dizzy and nauseated. I also had a migraine headache the day my vision changed. I noticed that my left eye had a gray spot in the center of my vision and words I tried to read were wavy. I also noticed that doorways and window frames were wavy. It was like being in a fun house with those crazy mirrors. The scariest thing was when I closed my right eye and looked in the mirror. It looked like my face was dropping or melting on the right side. I looked like a monster. I went to see a doctor at University of Michigan. He didn't think I had AMD, but diagnosed me with Chronic Serous Chorio Retinopathy. I had laser surgery done. It helped improve my vision only for about a month. It is bad again. I am scared that I will lose my sight in both eyes. I wonder if I too really have AMD like my mother.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

I am only 61 and have been dealing with wet Amd for two years. I called Discovery Eye Foundation and was able to speak with Judy Delgado the very same day. She listened and was able to confirm that the course of treatment my doctor is using is standard protocol. She also gave me the name of a doctor at Casey Eye Institute who would be a good physician should I choose to get a second opinion. After the conversation, I felt very reassured. It has been difficult dealing with this disease at such a young age. It was so nice to talk to a knowledgable person who showed compassion. They are providing a great service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

When I was diagnosed with Keratconus the foundation provided me with the information I needed to really understand what was going on with my vision. Hearing from others has been a great source of support for me. i feel so much more well equiped to deal with this eye disease with thier help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer