Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.770115
Write A Review
March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Discovery Eye Foundation brought me a great deal of knowledge at a time of great fear for my future well being. The knowledge was an excellent pacifier for those fears, since understanding relieves the apprehension of ignorance. They have, and continue to this day, to provide a great deal of continuing knowledge concerning my condition, which is keratoconus.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I was diagnosed with wet AMD several years ago. In researching this problem I came across the Discovery Eye Foundation site and it has been a big help to me ever since. Good information, response to E-mails and questions, personal attention when needed. I have recommended the site to several people who also suffer from AMD. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Discovery Eye Foundation has helped me in many ways since I was diagnosed with AMD. In a time of great fear, it gave me comfort. I was supplied with the latest research along with the available aids & nutrition to help in my fight against this disabling disease. I am very appreciative for this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The charity has provided a newsletter which always I look forward to receiving. They keep the world of those who suffer from this condition updated on possible treatment options. They post details about research and have a fantastic support and awareness function. Great company, made a difference in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Web search

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

After receiving my yearly reminder card from my Ophthalmologist's office, I made an appointment and went in for my eye exam. During the exam I was unable to see the chart from my left eye due to a large black area. He immediately had me go to a specialist to confirm his concerns and I was told that I had Wet Macular Degeneration. After receiving some informational materials from my doctor, I went home and immediately look for more information on the internet. I found AMD.org, was impressed my the information that was available to me and registered to receive their newsletter. It has been important and helpful to me to have a better understanding of Wet Macular Degeneration.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I was diagnosed with keratoconus thirty years ago. As a result my eyesight problems have gradually worsened over the years, and despite ongoing development of new rigid contact lens, my eyes have suffered repeated corneal scratches and injuries, to the point where cornea transplants seemed inevitable. The problem is sufficiently unusual and rare that even my wife did not have any real understanding of KC. Fortunately, my corneal specialists are on the leading edge of medical advances and after decades of trying new lenses, my latest scleral lenses have been injury free, and I learned about NKCF from their office. Since then, my wife and I attended a half-day program in Chicago presented by NKCF for patients and family members. One of the featured speakers was one of my doctors. Everyone who spoke helped my wife to better understand my condition, and increased my knowledge and perspective on my own condition. Patients attended from three or four states, some of spent hours travelling to the program. NKCF also has an email list of patients and professionals exchanging information to help each other. Recently, from there I learned of a new keratoconus lens available in Europe and patients' experience using it. This is another encouraging benefit of NKCF. Now I have reasons to hope that I will never need corneal transplants. NKCF has helped me improve my quality of life and hope for future years of stable and possibly improved vision. Too many people take eyesight for granted.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Illinois as a keratoconus patient.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it greater funding resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Chicago Cornea

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Having sufficient eyesight quality to read, write, and drive is critical to my professional and personal life. My hopes for ongoing functional eyesight were decling and my wife did not understand keratoconus and its impact on me until we attended a half-day program sponsored and conducted by this organization. Now my wife has a basic understanding of keratoconus and its impact on me, I have more useful knowledge to help me compensate for my condition, and I am more hopeful that I will preserve or improve my eyesight, notwithstanding my keratoconus. All of these things have improved my life and hopes for the future.

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Being diagnosed with macular degeneration is both frightening and overwhelming. A source of current information relating to this condition is extremely important to someone trying to cope with the potential for loss of vision. Discovery Eye Foundation has become that trusted source of information for me. I sincerely appreciate the frequent updates from Discovery Eye Foundation that are conveniently delivered via email. They do an excellent job of presenting the latest information on research studies and therapies in an easy to understand format.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I can't even remember where I learned about the AMD website, but I think it was in a magazine or from another website. I went to check it out because my mother and my oldest sister both have MD. I have really gotten a lot of information from their articles and they even sent me a chart to keep on my refrigerator to check my eyes with and that gives me security in knowing that I will catch it early if I develop it also. I am watching their research now to decide what the best vitamin will turn out to be. It's great to have so much information in one place that is keeping up with the latest information. Maybe I will be lucky and not have to go through what my mother and sister are doing. I know that they are very helpful now, and with any luck they will be life-changing for me and my other siblings and our children and grandchildren.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

When I was diagnosed with Wet AMD in June 2011, I was crushed and afraid. AMD.org was a huge help in assisting me in understanding what I was going through, what to expect, and how to help my eyes retain the health they did have. I also found that I'm not alone, there are many others like me who also benefit from AMD.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

With this organization's newsletter I found a new hybrid contact that has essentially granted me 20/20 vision. I had no idea that I was seeing so poorly with glasses until I was fitted with this medical device. It actually won medical device of the year 2009 against even prosthetic devices. It's a miracle!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer