Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.767445
| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review
March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I have a family member with macular degeneration and as so, am at risk for developing it as well. The information on this website has been extremely helpful for my family so far. I would recommend that anyone who has the disease or wants to know more information about it visit the website. As they are a resource for people with diminished vision, they thoughtfully publish everything in larger font sizes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

When my son was diagnosed with Keratoconus his grades had already been failing in school and he was frustrated that over the course of a year spent going to eye doctors we couldn't find a contact that he could either see through or that stayed in his eyes! That is when I turned to The National Keratoconus Foundation, a program of The Discovery Eye Foundation website for help. Within a day we received a list of eye Doctors in our state who are affiliated with NKCF. These Doctors understood that disease and the issues of good sight correction. After One Doctor visit my son had a pair of contacts he not only could wear but could see well with too! Now each month when we get a newsletter update we both read the articles and discuss the information. It has made dealing with the disease easier now that we are better informed. Thank you NKCF for your life changing help with this complicated and not well understood disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

As a doctor of optometry specialiIng in keratoconus, i rely heavily on the national keratoconus foundation to support and educate my patients throughh all aspects of this disease. I remember practicing before nkcf was in existence and its presence and service to the public and those with the disease is of immeasureable importance. Thankyou cathy warren and the whole national keratoconus foundation organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I knew nothing about keratoconus (KC) when I was diagnosed. I was frightened and worried about my future. When I found NKCF online, it was such a relief. I was not alone! There were doctors who were ecperienced with this condition; there were patients like myself who really, truly knew what I was going through. It was a tremendous support. Their day-long seminar at the Skirball was very informative, and a chance to meet other KC patients in person. When it came time for my first cornea transplant, NKCF was there, too. Their booklet about cornea transplants was extremely helpful in my planning and knowing what to expect. And it was free! Although my transplanted corneas are healthy now, I still visit the NKCF and support them with my participation on the chat board and monetary donation. This organization is suberb, and has made a huge difference in my life with KC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I tell all my keratoconus patients about NKCF. It is the first place I send them for reliable and up to date information on their condition.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The Discovery Eye Foundation is a highly respected organization in the field of eye care. As director of MD Support, I am proud to have been partnered with Macular Degeneration Partnership, a division of Discovery, for over 10 years. Thousands of patients have received considerable benefits from this outreach under the caring and knowledgeable guidance of director Judi Delgado. Discovery Eye Foundation and MD Partnership get my highest recommendation as one of the nation's top nonprofits!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

This organization provide a badly needed informational service to people suffering from keratoconus. This disease is fairly rare and thus it can be very difficult to get timely and accurate information about it. Thank you. Bill Simkins

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The first time I heard about the NKCF/DEF was almost 20 years ago. I was feeling a little down and felt sorry for myself because of my keratoconus. It was so comforting to read other people stories and feel that I’m not alone. I’ve been receiving the quarterly newsletter for many years and keeping up-tp-date with the latest discoveries in the KC treatment. Because of the DEF information, I was more informed patient, asking my doctor and optometrist questions and getting more information and answers to be able to get the best treatment for me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I am very thankful for the information that Discovery Eye Foundation distributes to the KC community. I have learned valuable information that helps me take better care of my eyes and stay informed on the latest research and surgeries. They do a great job disseminating information!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Hello, I have been a user on the Discovery Eye Foundation website and newsletter for many years. About 12 years ago I was diagnosed with myopic degeneration in both eyes resulting in scarring on the macula and bleeding. I fortunately am in the great care of an east coast eye speciality hospital. I have to give credit to the wonderful physicians who have treated me over the years for saving my eyesight. Although, I do not have perfect 20/20 vision even with correction and have had double cataract surgery as well, I can function well in my ADLs and work full time. I am extremely grateful for all of this. I read the AMD Updates regularly and it has provided me with excellent information that helps me to have meaningful conversations with my physicians. It keeps me up to date on the latest vision research and provides me with resources in which I benefit. I have recommended this newsletter to family and friends who also have to cope with vision disorders. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer