Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.770115
Write A Review
April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

My name is Sandy. I am a 52 year old female. My mother has AMD and she is 86 years old. She is blind. I thought I too had AMD. I started having vision changes in my left eye this past summer. I felt dizzy and nauseated. I also had a migraine headache the day my vision changed. I noticed that my left eye had a gray spot in the center of my vision and words I tried to read were wavy. I also noticed that doorways and window frames were wavy. It was like being in a fun house with those crazy mirrors. The scariest thing was when I closed my right eye and looked in the mirror. It looked like my face was dropping or melting on the right side. I looked like a monster. I went to see a doctor at University of Michigan. He didn't think I had AMD, but diagnosed me with Chronic Serous Chorio Retinopathy. I had laser surgery done. It helped improve my vision only for about a month. It is bad again. I am scared that I will lose my sight in both eyes. I wonder if I too really have AMD like my mother.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

I am only 61 and have been dealing with wet Amd for two years. I called Discovery Eye Foundation and was able to speak with Judy Delgado the very same day. She listened and was able to confirm that the course of treatment my doctor is using is standard protocol. She also gave me the name of a doctor at Casey Eye Institute who would be a good physician should I choose to get a second opinion. After the conversation, I felt very reassured. It has been difficult dealing with this disease at such a young age. It was so nice to talk to a knowledgable person who showed compassion. They are providing a great service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

When I was diagnosed with Keratconus the foundation provided me with the information I needed to really understand what was going on with my vision. Hearing from others has been a great source of support for me. i feel so much more well equiped to deal with this eye disease with thier help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

DISCOVERY EYE FOUNDATION is a great non profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

My father is almost blind from Macular Degeneration. Recently I have found out that his sister is also showing symptoms, and I also have beginning signs of developing AMD. This organzation has become a valuable resource for me, to get the information I need to keep my own vision healthy, and to understand the implications of having AMD. Through this organization, I have been able to participate in research regarding the genetic factor in AMD, which is important to me since it clearly runs in my family. I feel very fortunate to have this wonderful resource to help me and my family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

I have been diagnosed with Keratoconus for 41 years. As new developments and proceedures have recently emerged, the NKCF website has been a saving grace. I am currently 61 and through the interchange of others with KC and physicians and contact fitters in the field, I am able to discern what treatments have been successful as well as others who have have similar side effects to new contact lenses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

AMD provides the latest research and care information for macular degeneration with timely emails and newsletters. When I've asked a more specific question of the director, Judith Delgado, I get a very prompt, informative, caring response. I've been helped a great deal to handle the AMD diagnosis in my life by this group, and have recommended them to others over the years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Thank you to NKCF for their great newsletter and website. Being a Keracatonous patient I have learned that there are not very many resources, and their website/newsletter gives me the resources and research results are extremely helpful to me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

My husband has had keratoconus for 25+ years and the National Keratoconus Foundation has kept him informed over the years. Their sample insurance letter helped get him medical reimbursement for his expensive hard/Rose K contacts ... probably common these days, but the NKCF lead the way to getting this much needed financial assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I find the National Keratoconus Foundation a great organization. They help people finding professionals that can help them manage their disease through contact lenses and other options. They keep up to date on research, and act as a clearing house of information for their clients. They have very helpful booklets that are in plain language on Keratoconus and Corneal Grafts that I give out to my new patients who have this disease. Although I discuss these options with my patients, I find it very helpful to have a booklet that also has these options in writing that they can refer back to. They are also great booklets for family, and friends so that they too can understand what Keratoconus is all about. They publish newsletters, and maintain a great chat site. They also hold seminars. Their administrator is excellent and very dedicated. I personally find the chat site interesting. It has given me a lot of insight into how patients assimilate the information they are given and what questions they often have, and in what areas there is often confusion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer