Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.767445
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I have been diagnosed with dry Macular Degeneration. My father and grandparents all suffered from the disease and went blind. Thanks to the Macular Degeneration Partnership and the great information that is emailed to me from AMD.org, I am learning more and more about the disease and keeping informed as to things in the pipeline. Thank you for your help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Great as it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

My father has macular degeneration. I a grateful for the services provided by Discovery Eye Foundation. I always check your email newsletter as soon as it arrives.
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I am grateful for the Macular Degeneration Partnership. I depend upon it to keep me up to date with the latest developments in the field. Otherwise I would be lost for reliable and useful information. Again, I am most appreciative of this service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I was diagnosed with wet & dry macular degeneration two years ago and was devastated I do have sight loss in the eye with wet, because of the cost i was afraid we would have to choose between loosing our home or my eyesight because of your connection with Macular degeneration partnership i receive $ to help with my co pay and have regained some loss in that eye I sincerely want to thank you and your donors for all the help you have helped someone who really needs it and is grateful beyond belief Evelyn
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I was diagnosed with macular degeneration at 45. It has been a very scary and life changing diagnosis. At present my eyesight is stable, but by reading articles provided by Macular Degeneration Partnership, I believe I will have better information when I need to make treatment choices in the future. Macular degneration doesn't run in my family, and I have lived a healthy lifestyle, so my risk factors for getting this were low. Never thought I would be dealing with this at my age. Grateful for any information that can help me understand and come to terms with these cards I have been dealt.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

Having AMD myself along with several family members and friends, I'm really thankful we have DEF to keep us up to date on the latest information regarding this awful condition of the eye.
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I DISCOVERED I HAD MACULAR DEGENERATION ABOUT 2 YRS. AGO. I HAVE HAD SHOTS IN BOTH EYES. I've BEEN ON DIALYSIS FOR 214 YRS. & I'll TAKE THAT ANY DAY TOTHIS PROBLEMATIC EYESIGHT:) I TAKE pRESERVISION & I APPRECIATETHE COUPONS!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

As an Ophthalmologist dealing with patients with Keratoconus, I cannot emphasize enough how much the discovery eye foundation has been helping these patients in ways complementing their medical and surgical treatment thereby obtaining better outcomes both in the patients' function and in their quality of life

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have seen DEF grow over the years and they provide a great source of information and comfort for those suffering with eye disease. They sponsor ground-breaking research into the source of many of these aliments and provide patients with support and clear information to help them manage or treat their disease. It's amazing to see such good work produced by their small, but dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2010

Hi, My name is Lilian and was diagnosed with Keratoconus at 22 years of age. For any sufferers of KC and their families, it can be a rather trying experience. It's been about 10 years since I found NK... more

September 8, 2013

In the early days of my KC diagnosis, before the KC stabilized, the regular NKCF newsletters/forum provided much needed information and support. Discovery Eye Foundation/NKCF provide a valuable and much need resource for a disease that does not get as much visibility as other more obvious and prevalent conditions. KUDOS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2010

Hi, My name is Lilian and was diagnosed with Keratoconus at 22 years of age. For any sufferers of KC and their families, it can be a rather trying experience. It's been about 10 years since I found NKCF while browsing the web for information about KC. I registered for the forum and received great support and feedback from participants. A recent relocation to a new city left me without a clue about finding a specialist. The efficient and easy referral service offered by NKCF pointed me into the direction to some of the best, most friendly and professional, MD and Optometrist (at a University Hospital in Jackson, MS) who fitted me with perfectly fitting Rigid Gas Permeable lens on the first try. I am so appreciative of the tireless efforts of forum and referral coordinator C. Warren. We are lucky to have her's and NKCF's 100% commitment to the holistic care, treatment and research of KC. Kudos to NKCF!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Excellent organization deserving to maximum support for Keratoconus an non-obvious eye disease for which sufferers require very specific assistance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only more growth, more assistance, a greater web presence, more international coverage and public enlightenment about this condition and progress in research.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Daily web forum digest Comprehensive website information Great insurance reimbursement letter

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Excellent!! 5 stars!!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build a dedicated state of the art facility and international network of providers and suffers and optometrist. Have a advocacy or even its own insurance coverage for a medical condition for which medical insurers refuse to cover.

Ways to make it better...

NKCF on facebook International perspectives Chronology of "famous" or prominent persons living with KC

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding Exposure Access to greater number of KC suffers for more data on KC

One thing I'd also say is that...

It is possible to have a full life with KC thanks to specialists and experienced optometrists.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer