Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

When I was first diagnosed with Keratoconus, after having received several misdiagnoses, I went to the Internet to do research. My most positive experience has been with the NKCF, whose website and newsletters have been truly useful and informational. I was particularly impressed when I announced to the newsletter that I would be having a corneal transplant. I received immediately from Cathy Warren a booklet concerning the whole procedure, including factors which my surgeon didn't think to tell me. I was touched and pleased with her prompt response. The procedure went as described, and now I see well enough to drive with glasses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

Discovery Eye puts out a very informative newsletter a few times a year. Judy Delgado has consistently responded promptly and thoroughly to requests I have made for info about macular degeneration treatments, etc. She runs support groups in the LA area that are very helpful for individuals with AMD and their family members. They helped my Dad, who had AMD, and have helped me, with early stages of AMD, a lot.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

Hi My name is Antonio Mendoza, 46 old, I live in Mexico (sorry for my English) I have Keratoconous for +20 years.The reason for typing this message is because I want to share my experience trying to control it. In my case, I have periods with critical sensations in my both eyes. In that moment It has been greatful to use soda can soda cold direct to my eye for a short moments. also I have access to traditional Mexican herbal medicine and with some herbals I have the possiblity to manage my eyes when I have crisis.It has been helpful for me because I have the possibility to stabilize the keratoconus. I share this info in order to help others and also try to give some ideas for making new studies. Regards. Antonio amendoza@cableonline.com.mx

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

My name is Sandy. I am a 52 year old female. My mother has AMD and she is 86 years old. She is blind. I thought I too had AMD. I started having vision changes in my left eye this past summer. I felt dizzy and nauseated. I also had a migraine headache the day my vision changed. I noticed that my left eye had a gray spot in the center of my vision and words I tried to read were wavy. I also noticed that doorways and window frames were wavy. It was like being in a fun house with those crazy mirrors. The scariest thing was when I closed my right eye and looked in the mirror. It looked like my face was dropping or melting on the right side. I looked like a monster. I went to see a doctor at University of Michigan. He didn't think I had AMD, but diagnosed me with Chronic Serous Chorio Retinopathy. I had laser surgery done. It helped improve my vision only for about a month. It is bad again. I am scared that I will lose my sight in both eyes. I wonder if I too really have AMD like my mother.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

I am only 61 and have been dealing with wet Amd for two years. I called Discovery Eye Foundation and was able to speak with Judy Delgado the very same day. She listened and was able to confirm that the course of treatment my doctor is using is standard protocol. She also gave me the name of a doctor at Casey Eye Institute who would be a good physician should I choose to get a second opinion. After the conversation, I felt very reassured. It has been difficult dealing with this disease at such a young age. It was so nice to talk to a knowledgable person who showed compassion. They are providing a great service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

When I was diagnosed with Keratconus the foundation provided me with the information I needed to really understand what was going on with my vision. Hearing from others has been a great source of support for me. i feel so much more well equiped to deal with this eye disease with thier help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

DISCOVERY EYE FOUNDATION is a great non profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

My father is almost blind from Macular Degeneration. Recently I have found out that his sister is also showing symptoms, and I also have beginning signs of developing AMD. This organzation has become a valuable resource for me, to get the information I need to keep my own vision healthy, and to understand the implications of having AMD. Through this organization, I have been able to participate in research regarding the genetic factor in AMD, which is important to me since it clearly runs in my family. I feel very fortunate to have this wonderful resource to help me and my family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

I have been diagnosed with Keratoconus for 41 years. As new developments and proceedures have recently emerged, the NKCF website has been a saving grace. I am currently 61 and through the interchange of others with KC and physicians and contact fitters in the field, I am able to discern what treatments have been successful as well as others who have have similar side effects to new contact lenses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

AMD provides the latest research and care information for macular degeneration with timely emails and newsletters. When I've asked a more specific question of the director, Judith Delgado, I get a very prompt, informative, caring response. I've been helped a great deal to handle the AMD diagnosis in my life by this group, and have recommended them to others over the years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer