Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

As an Ophthalmologist dealing with patients with Keratoconus, I cannot emphasize enough how much the discovery eye foundation has been helping these patients in ways complementing their medical and surgical treatment thereby obtaining better outcomes both in the patients' function and in their quality of life

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have seen DEF grow over the years and they provide a great source of information and comfort for those suffering with eye disease. They sponsor ground-breaking research into the source of many of these aliments and provide patients with support and clear information to help them manage or treat their disease. It's amazing to see such good work produced by their small, but dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2010

Hi, My name is Lilian and was diagnosed with Keratoconus at 22 years of age. For any sufferers of KC and their families, it can be a rather trying experience. It's been about 10 years since I found NK... more

September 8, 2013

In the early days of my KC diagnosis, before the KC stabilized, the regular NKCF newsletters/forum provided much needed information and support. Discovery Eye Foundation/NKCF provide a valuable and much need resource for a disease that does not get as much visibility as other more obvious and prevalent conditions. KUDOS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2010

Hi, My name is Lilian and was diagnosed with Keratoconus at 22 years of age. For any sufferers of KC and their families, it can be a rather trying experience. It's been about 10 years since I found NKCF while browsing the web for information about KC. I registered for the forum and received great support and feedback from participants. A recent relocation to a new city left me without a clue about finding a specialist. The efficient and easy referral service offered by NKCF pointed me into the direction to some of the best, most friendly and professional, MD and Optometrist (at a University Hospital in Jackson, MS) who fitted me with perfectly fitting Rigid Gas Permeable lens on the first try. I am so appreciative of the tireless efforts of forum and referral coordinator C. Warren. We are lucky to have her's and NKCF's 100% commitment to the holistic care, treatment and research of KC. Kudos to NKCF!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Excellent organization deserving to maximum support for Keratoconus an non-obvious eye disease for which sufferers require very specific assistance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only more growth, more assistance, a greater web presence, more international coverage and public enlightenment about this condition and progress in research.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Daily web forum digest Comprehensive website information Great insurance reimbursement letter

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Excellent!! 5 stars!!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build a dedicated state of the art facility and international network of providers and suffers and optometrist. Have a advocacy or even its own insurance coverage for a medical condition for which medical insurers refuse to cover.

Ways to make it better...

NKCF on facebook International perspectives Chronology of "famous" or prominent persons living with KC

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding Exposure Access to greater number of KC suffers for more data on KC

One thing I'd also say is that...

It is possible to have a full life with KC thanks to specialists and experienced optometrists.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

As a person diagnosed with KC, the NKCF forum on their websitea allowed me to read what others with KC have gone through and are experiencing as well as learn about advances in treatments for this condition.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

NKCF is a wonderful part of this non-profit. I applaud this organization's ability to reach patients with this condition who can not find eye doctors with the skills needed to help them see. I just finished fitting a young adult who found me through NKCF. This patient can now see well enough to drive with an unrestricted license; a world of difference for this young parent who works full-time! I look forward to the continued efforts made on patients' behalf by NKCF, especially the work with insurance companies and corresponding legislation to try to get this affordable care covered that allows working adults to remain productive and provide for their families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

Hi friends,
I'm Danny prem from India. I'm really happy to have link with this organisation as I live with keratoconus with more than 6 years in a country with less knowledge about the disease and NKCF's newsletter helped to know more about my problem and also boosted my confidence
to face this world.. thanks for giving a hope for new life

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

The NKCF Discovery Eye Foudation is a very practical way to get tons of information about keratoconus.
The monthly newsletter presents the latest development for treatment alternatives. It's also possible to get in touch with other people diagnosed with keratoconus to learn about their
experience with different treatments. Overall very pleased with the work of the NKCF Discovery Eye Foudation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I was told I had kertaconsis in 1990 wen i was 26 and i had 3 small children under 6. It was the most devastating you I can't at the age of 26. A full time working mom wife. The doctor told me the name of the disease I went home and read up on the disease that I had. I recall being scared and ASHAMED aashaking t

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes very good organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

This foundation (NKCF) has provided me great information and support. Keratoconus is not a well known condition, it is mostly misdiagnosed. Thanks to this foundation its information is disseminated to patients, families and even ophtalmologists!!! It also provides great service updating the latest research and treatments through the website and newsletter; promotes corneal donation, seminars, research and great support to patients by sharing common experiences. I am very thankful to NKCF. It has been very helpful to us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

I have had keratoconus for more than 30 years. This Foundation provides a great service by disseminating the latest information on treatment and research for this eye disorder through its Website and newsletter. The Foundation also offers a discussion board for patients to be able to ask questions, share information, and find support from others with similar experiences. It is a much needed resource for information and support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, computer entry and events. Volunteer