Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for Discovery Arts, I see the accomplishments of this wonderful organization. The hundreds of children and the families Discovery Arts has assisted each year is staggering. When we first walk into the hospital playroom these ill children seem tired, a bit under the weather, but once we roll out the craft of the day eyes widen and the smiles fill their beautiful faces. Their energy level seems to increases. The kids know that something good is coming. We get out the musical instruments and watch them focus on the sound . . . music transports them far, far away from the hospital. Soon all the kids will be beating on drums or shaking a tambourines, and another will be a rock star singing on the karaoke machine. We might form a parade out into the hallway. It is a miracle to see the changes right there before me. Sciences tell us that there is an actual chemical changes which allows their bodies to better deal with pain. Some patients require less pain medication after a session with Discovery Arts. Parents of the patients choose to get their outpatient treatment on the days Discovery Arts shows up . . . it helps the medicine go down. I have been a volunteer with Discovery Arts for many years. As a volunteer I have also changed. I am happier, more tolerant, and understanding in my daily life. I think of these special children all week, and especially on my way to Children’s Hospital. I thinking about “the kids” I’ll be working with that day. I don’t know their names just their need for tender loving care . . . helping them to escape the stress, pain, and bourdon of the hospital stay. I think to myself as I walk from the parking structure, “I wish I could heal every child. How wonderful that would be.” On my way to the front door, I pass a mother comforting her son. I give them a smile wishing I could do more. The boy looks up as if he knows me. Have I spent time in the playroom with this young man, I wondered? The big doors open into the lobby and I spot my Discovery Arts family. I see their smiles and eyes full of hope and joy. Ready to give whatever is needed. They have changed too. I feel so good here with my friends and team mates. Being a volunteer has changed our lives for ever. This is where I’m supposed to be . . . with my Discovery Arts family and the inspirational children who have healing me.
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Discovery Arts could also be called Discovery Hearts because of the love, dedication, and energy founders Marilyn Clements and Nancy Marshall and their families, friends, board members and volunteers have devoted to this wonderful organization. It was created when Marilyn, a very talented dancer and choreographer, and her equally talented family members, saw seriously ill children at the Jonathan Jacques Cancer Center; the children were in their rooms going through unimaginable treatments and pain. Wouldn't it be great if those children had the opportunity to express themselves through the arts and spend time being creative and having fun when they had time during their hospital stay? So they started Discovery Arts to provide that escape and opportunity to express themselves. I have seen many of these children come back to thank Marilyn and the team, expressing how important Discovery Arts was to their healing process. Some have even returned to volunteer in the hospitals. All patients get a costume and face painting. Sometimes guests come in and sing with the children. Crafts are also an important part of Discovery Arts. If patients are unable to get out of bed, they receive bedside kits that they can use in bed. Discovery Arts is so valuable to the children and it wlll always be in their and their families' hearts.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My youngest daughter was a patient in a children's hospital when I first saw Discovery Arts. I walked past the playroom and thought how fun, making arts and crafts with sick children in the hospital. It's 12 years later, from when I first saw Discovery Arts, and to this day I continue my volunteer efforts with Discovery Arts. As a volunteer with Discovery Arts, I have seen the program grow from 2 Arts Adventure programs to 6 Arts Adventure programs in Orange & LA county hospitals as well as an out of state Arts Adventure program at a children's hospital in Missouri. Seeing a sick child smile when they create a craft or put on a princess costume or superhero costume is priceless. Receiving a hug from a child's parent in gratitude, is humbling. Discovery Arts has made an impact on a child's ability to get well with their weekly visits, bringing with them art & craft activities, costumes, music and guest artist. Parents plan their child's chemotherapy sessions to coincide with Discovery Arts visits to the hospital. Discovery Arts has made an impact in my life as well: Working with children in the hospital as a volunteer with Discovery Arts, gave me the experience needed to work in special education. In addition, I meet my life-long companion, who is also a volunteer with Discovery Arts. He and I have enjoyed participating in fundraising events, special events and activities for Discovery Arts. I've had the pleasure of a parent or adult child stop by a booth at an event and say Thank you for being at the hospital with arts and crafts activities or a bedside kit and for helping to make a terrible hospital experience a more pleasant & happy experience. Teresa Carlisle, Volunteer, Discovery Arts
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the great pleasure of being an older adult volunteer for Discovery Arts. This program in its unique way brings the best medicine known to man, love and laughter. Watching these ladies teach these special children the art of song, dance and creative abilities is a blessing in itself. To see these children come to the play room with beaming faces waiting for the special surprises for the day. The beautiful new costumes that are given to each child to keep, the special trophies awarded to each one for participating, hearing their little voices belt out a tune over a kareoke machine, or slip on a tap shoe to make noise on the tile floor. I cannot imagine anyone turning their back on donating to this very special program for children with cancer and other blood disorders. Take a moment to go on-line and meet Marilyn Clements and Nancy Marshall, the backbone of this wonderful program.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Being a volunteer for Discovery Arts has positively impacted my recent move to the west coast. While working under the guidance of Marilyn Clements she has shown me that love, passion, and a thriving heart can uplift so many children and adults who are undergoing an unfortunate time in their lives. Discovery Arts gives children a moment to utilize their creative expression using hands on materials. When a child enters the Discovery Arts room they are embraced with flourishing smiles and lively energy which lets medicine and needles to be forgotten about for a moment in time. Through my time as a volunteer, I have heard parents and children say that they wish they could come to Discovery Arts every day. The founders of Discovery Arts are skilled in understanding the individual needs of each child. It is the continuous fundraising, innovation and a genuine love that has made such a successful program. I am proud to be a Volunteer for Discovery Arts!
May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for Discovery Arts for a few years now, and I can't say enough about them. I help out in the office where they organize costumes, plan hospital activities and projects, and put together art bedside boxes for the children. So much thought, caring, and heart goes into everything they do. Not one detail is missed when preparing to bring light to an otherwise dismal situation for the children. They make sure each child gets a unique and artful experience at Discovery Arts.
I also volunteer at the hospital with Discovery Arts where I facilitate art projects and help create an open and friendly environment where the children's creativity and happiness can flourish. Each week, patients are giddy with excitement as we help them find their very own costume from the rack of costumes. Next comes an art project (with everyone typically in costume) accompanied with music and dancing and sometimes even singing! By the end of each program session, the kids (and parents) are already asking when we are coming back again. Volunteering for this organization has truly made me realize my purpose in life. Their compassion is endless and they are always looking for new ways to make each child's life better. Discovery Arts has positively affected so many children and their families and it inspires me to strive for the same greatness in my goal of becoming an art therapist. This organization is extraordinary and brings so much joy to children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This therapy WORKS! Discovery Arts uses the arts as a form of therapeutic expression for children who are sick in the hospital. This incredible charity is well-run and has become such a passion of mine! Keep bringing smiles to those sweet kids, DA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Discovery Arts is an amazing organization! They give children with life threatening illness opportunity to have normalcy in their lives! When a child is diagnosed with cancer, their life stops. School, sports, outside activity and sometimes friends go away. Discovery Arts brings fun, creativity, and imagination to these children, so they can just be a "child." Music, Art, Dance, and Drama bring healing powers! I am truly blessed to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered and worked for Disovery Arts for about 6 years. It was one of the most enlightening experiences of my life. I met and worked with so many caring and dedicated people...all working toward one cause..to see a smile on a child who was suffering and looking for a chance to just be a kid with no worries. I was able to make such a difference in so many young lives because I spent time here and it has changed me forever. I will always remember certain little girls and boys grabbing the microphone and blasting out the latest Britteny Spears or Justin Beiber song...dressed in the latest dragon or princess costume...in full make-up of course! ....The children's adventures are truly the only focus when you are talking to anyone in the organization....you will always hear.."what else can we do to make their experience with us more memorable"?? Everyone involved has dedicated their lives to making this organization work and grow into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Discovery Arts produces results!

I've seen kids who are literally on their last months of life, bedridden and very sick. It hurts. When Discovery Arts arrives, the energy starts to pump in those little veins and those beautiful children magically sit up, get fully inspired, get out of bed,
and become kids............once again.

There is a saying that miracles are an act of God. I agree. Discovery Arts has proven that God winks at their kids, then plays with them too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us prepare supplies, art projects, costumes and Bedside Adventure Kits for Arts Adventures! Volunteer