Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Being a volunteer for Discovery Arts has positively impacted my recent move to the west coast. While working under the guidance of Marilyn Clements she has shown me that love, passion, and a thriving heart can uplift so many children and adults who are undergoing an unfortunate time in their lives. Discovery Arts gives children a moment to utilize their creative expression using hands on materials. When a child enters the Discovery Arts room they are embraced with flourishing smiles and lively energy which lets medicine and needles to be forgotten about for a moment in time. Through my time as a volunteer, I have heard parents and children say that they wish they could come to Discovery Arts every day. The founders of Discovery Arts are skilled in understanding the individual needs of each child. It is the continuous fundraising, innovation and a genuine love that has made such a successful program. I am proud to be a Volunteer for Discovery Arts!
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't think of a greater tragedy encountered throughout our life's journey than to discover our child, or one close to us, has encountered cancer or other life threatening disease. To date, I have been spared that horrific circumstance, but have been privileged to become involved in an organization that helps children and their parents when they in fact DO enter that dark world. One aspect of Discovery Arts that is often forgotten in our sole focus on the needs of the afflicted child is the incredible blessing it is to the parents of these children. As parents, they would take on the child's pain and suffering if they could without a moment's hesitation, but instead they are forced to sit back helplessly, and all they can do is wipe their child's tears. When Discover Arts visits, the parents get the opportunity to see their child laughing...playing...without the needles in their arms, and the desperate pain they experience night and day temporarily taken away. The children are greatly helped by this beautiful organization, but we should always remember that their parents suffer with them, and through DA they get the momentary chance to rejoice at seeing their child's smiles and hearing their laughter.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot begin to tell you about the work that this nonprofit organization is doing with and for very sick hospitalized children. What you see with Discovery Arts is very heartwarming and an incredible lift for the patients, as well as the patient families. It adds another dimension to the hospital setting that is very healing and brings some joy and normalcy to a very difficult situation. Discovery Arts has become very important to the children and their families. Having a child diagnosed with cancer is a journey through hell and having Discovery Arts there on a regular basis, to give the children something to look forward to and to rely on, makes a big difference. Bravo to all of you for your fine work!
July 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sarah was diagnosed at 14 months old with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. She spent 26 months in treatment only to relapse 11 days later with a rare leukemic infiltrate in the iris of her eye. Sarah would go through another rigorous 28 months of chemo and radiation therapy. With painful treatments and days on end spent in the hospital, Sarah looked forward to Wednesdays knowing that Discovery Arts would be there welcoming her with a costume an fun things to do.
When Sarah was at her lowest Discovery Arts would nurture her spirit and encourage the artist within her. She would sing and dance enjoying each moment with the incredible loving members of Discovery Arts.
Sarah had less than a 40% chance of survival and we believe that the positive energy and healing properties of the arts helped Sarah to win her battle with cancer. The joy they brought her and us is priceless. They were integral in Sarah's recovery and because of their love and encouragement 9 years later Sarah is cancer free and continues to perform as both a ballerina with Southland Ballet Academy / Festival Ballet Theater and as a singer. Thank you Marilyn and friends for loving us and caring enough to help children like Sarah, your legacy lives on through these incredible children.
Wendy, Howard, & Sarah Grant

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our daughter was diagnosed with an adult-form of leukemia when she was 22 mos old. We had a 3 yr old daughter at the time to care for as well. The volunteers at Discovery Arts brought a lot of joy into our month-long hospital stays (for over 6 months!)...coming every Thursday with costumes, face paint, craft projects, music and big, bright smiles!! Jillian would dance and sing and play her little heart out, making everyone forget about her cancer for a little while. My other daughter was treated so special each time she would enter the playroom with Jillian. One day, Both if the girls were given brand new tap shoes because they showed an interest in them...they still have them (5 years later)! Jillian's closet was FULL of dress up outfits from the time she spent with Discovery Arts...so many projects and photos adorn my house--reminders of the positives of living in the hospital. The love Discovery Arts volunteers give freely and enthusiastically to children with cancer and their families is beyond measure!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Come to the hospital more days or maybe morning hours (for little ones who need to nap in the afternoon).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Spent December of 2003 in Miller Children's hospital when my son had his 1st brain tumor surgery. Every day was physical therapy and occupational therapy and speech therapy, mandatory school work, nasty medications, needle pokes and IV woes - and most days Yay! a fun Discovery Arts project appropriate to a 5 year old with limited fine motor skills. Ten years out we still put on the Christmas hats he made, his art decorates our tree and we are reminded that we often had a ball in the middle of all that trauma. For a few years Miller Children's was almost a second home. Discovery Arts was a vital part of making hospital stays positive, happy experiences. One of my most precious possessions is tiny sculpture of our family made by another patient in for his chemo. My son is well and happy now - thanks to the great care he got at Miller Children's hospital and thanks to the wonderful art therapy of Discovery Arts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was exposed to Discovery Arts for the first time in April of 2012, when I visited their program at Miller Children's Hospital in Long Beach, CA. My first impression was of how passionate and involved the Executive Director and Program Director were with the Discovery Arts mission. They both are hands on, they know the hospital staff, the patients who participate and even their families! It's amazing to see the children who are able to join the Discovery Arts team in the playroom be filled with joy and full of heart in the middle of such a scary and serious time in their lives. The difference Discovery Arts makes in these children's lives and their families lives is forever life changing and deserves to be highly commended.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for Discovery Arts for a few years now, and I can't say enough about them. I help out in the office where they organize costumes, plan hospital activities and projects, and put together art bedside boxes for the children. So much thought, caring, and heart goes into everything they do. Not one detail is missed when preparing to bring light to an otherwise dismal situation for the children. They make sure each child gets a unique and artful experience at Discovery Arts.
I also volunteer at the hospital with Discovery Arts where I facilitate art projects and help create an open and friendly environment where the children's creativity and happiness can flourish. Each week, patients are giddy with excitement as we help them find their very own costume from the rack of costumes. Next comes an art project (with everyone typically in costume) accompanied with music and dancing and sometimes even singing! By the end of each program session, the kids (and parents) are already asking when we are coming back again. Volunteering for this organization has truly made me realize my purpose in life. Their compassion is endless and they are always looking for new ways to make each child's life better. Discovery Arts has positively affected so many children and their families and it inspires me to strive for the same greatness in my goal of becoming an art therapist. This organization is extraordinary and brings so much joy to children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This therapy WORKS! Discovery Arts uses the arts as a form of therapeutic expression for children who are sick in the hospital. This incredible charity is well-run and has become such a passion of mine! Keep bringing smiles to those sweet kids, DA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Discovery Arts is an amazing organization! They give children with life threatening illness opportunity to have normalcy in their lives! When a child is diagnosed with cancer, their life stops. School, sports, outside activity and sometimes friends go away. Discovery Arts brings fun, creativity, and imagination to these children, so they can just be a "child." Music, Art, Dance, and Drama bring healing powers! I am truly blessed to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us prepare supplies, art projects, costumes and Bedside Adventure Kits for Arts Adventures! Volunteer