Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I was exposed to Discovery Arts for the first time in April of 2012, when I visited their program at Miller Children's Hospital in Long Beach, CA. My first impression was of how passionate and involved the Executive Director and Program Director were with the Discovery Arts mission. They both are hands on, they know the hospital staff, the patients who participate and even their families! It's amazing to see the children who are able to join the Discovery Arts team in the playroom be filled with joy and full of heart in the middle of such a scary and serious time in their lives. The difference Discovery Arts makes in these children's lives and their families lives is forever life changing and deserves to be highly commended.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I have been a volunteer for Discovery Arts for a few years now, and I can't say enough about them. I help out in the office where they organize costumes, plan hospital activities and projects, and put together art bedside boxes for the children. So much thought, caring, and heart goes into everything they do. Not one detail is missed when preparing to bring light to an otherwise dismal situation for the children. They make sure each child gets a unique and artful experience at Discovery Arts.
I also volunteer at the hospital with Discovery Arts where I facilitate art projects and help create an open and friendly environment where the children's creativity and happiness can flourish. Each week, patients are giddy with excitement as we help them find their very own costume from the rack of costumes. Next comes an art project (with everyone typically in costume) accompanied with music and dancing and sometimes even singing! By the end of each program session, the kids (and parents) are already asking when we are coming back again. Volunteering for this organization has truly made me realize my purpose in life. Their compassion is endless and they are always looking for new ways to make each child's life better. Discovery Arts has positively affected so many children and their families and it inspires me to strive for the same greatness in my goal of becoming an art therapist. This organization is extraordinary and brings so much joy to children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

This therapy WORKS! Discovery Arts uses the arts as a form of therapeutic expression for children who are sick in the hospital. This incredible charity is well-run and has become such a passion of mine! Keep bringing smiles to those sweet kids, DA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Discovery Arts is an amazing organization! They give children with life threatening illness opportunity to have normalcy in their lives! When a child is diagnosed with cancer, their life stops. School, sports, outside activity and sometimes friends go away. Discovery Arts brings fun, creativity, and imagination to these children, so they can just be a "child." Music, Art, Dance, and Drama bring healing powers! I am truly blessed to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Discovery Arts touched our lives about 15 years ago and since then we have become part of their family ... We lost our daughter, Cherese Mari Laulhere when she was 21 years old while on a trip in India. We started a foundation in her memory because she always said she wanted to help children and make a difference in this world. We were contacted by Marilyn Clements to see if we were interested in their program. It was amazing, we were so impressed with everything they did for the kids and with them. From dancing to face painting, singing, making crafts, it really touched our hearts and knew Cherese would love to be involved in Discovery Arts. Cherese was a dancer and loved crafts ! Discovery Arts definitely deserves to have an award from " Great Nonprofits " ! They all work so hard and have proven what a difference their program makes for all the sick children's lives they have touched. We have seen it in person and have watched the kids smile and laugh ..... it's amazing ! And our daughter, Cherese, will always be involved with Discovery Arts !!! If you have a moment, please look at our daughter's website at www.cherese.org Thank you for letting us share our thoughts about Discovery Arts, we couldn't be happier to have said what we did, we could go on and on .... Most Sincerely, Chris and Larry Laulhere

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I volunteered and worked for Disovery Arts for about 6 years. It was one of the most enlightening experiences of my life. I met and worked with so many caring and dedicated people...all working toward one cause..to see a smile on a child who was suffering and looking for a chance to just be a kid with no worries. I was able to make such a difference in so many young lives because I spent time here and it has changed me forever. I will always remember certain little girls and boys grabbing the microphone and blasting out the latest Britteny Spears or Justin Beiber song...dressed in the latest dragon or princess costume...in full make-up of course! ....The children's adventures are truly the only focus when you are talking to anyone in the organization....you will always hear.."what else can we do to make their experience with us more memorable"?? Everyone involved has dedicated their lives to making this organization work and grow into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Discovery Arts produces results!

I've seen kids who are literally on their last months of life, bedridden and very sick. It hurts. When Discovery Arts arrives, the energy starts to pump in those little veins and those beautiful children magically sit up, get fully inspired, get out of bed,
and become kids............once again.

There is a saying that miracles are an act of God. I agree. Discovery Arts has proven that God winks at their kids, then plays with them too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2011

more

February 18, 2011

Discovery arts provides a sense of normality for hospital patients through fun activities including singing, dancing, costumes, crafts, art and face painting. The quietest and shyest of kids that come in are welcomed into an environment that allows them to just be a kid, and not worry about their next treatment or what doctor they are scheduled to see next. Our volunteer and staff core are an amazing group of artists that truly care in the mission of Discovery Arts. Thank you discovery arts for all that you do everyday!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering for discovery arts has been the most rewarding experience of my life, I have hundreds of experiences that humble me everyday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes I can think of is that we need to me in more hospitals! We are growing everyday and looking forward to the day where every kid can enjoy the fun of Discovery arts.

January 20, 2011

more

January 20, 2011

This organization brings love and happiness to children and families in local hospitals. Each child gets individual attention and time from the volunteers. It gives kids choices, who wouldn't usually have any say in their daily activities. It is a WONDERFUL organization and I hope to see it's growth in the coming years.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the smiles and hearing the laughter of the children and their families we spent time with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring this program to additional local hospitals. It's refreshing to have the opportunity to bloom where you're planted.

January 19, 2011

more

January 19, 2011

This is such an amazing charity. The art's always need support. But this charity supports art and health bringing happiness and expression to children in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization is the perfect setting for me. It allows me to donate my time doing something that I am passionate about (arts & children)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could visit the kids every week! But for now we go bi-weekly.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us prepare supplies, art projects, costumes and Bedside Adventure Kits for Arts Adventures! Volunteer