Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 12, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Based on their reported earnings and expenditures, in 2011 this organization spent 61% of its revenue on "professional fundraising services" alone, for a total of $3,717,894. That's not a great ratio. Does not constitute proof of fraud, but your money could be better spent.

The source is
below:

http://www.faqs.org/tax-exempt/TN/Disabled-Veterans-Services-Inc.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend AT LEAST 50% of annual budget on actual charity, and certainly not as much as they do on professional fundraising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

"Disabled Veterans Services, Inc."

Envelope address is a UPS Store, Google this zip code "53211-2042"

According to one report, 35% of funds collected goes to vets, half goes to fund raising (telemarketing scam?)

HQ is in Pompano Beach, FL. Found more than four other
addresses for this organization. Something is very fishy about this. You can find many better vets organizations.

See http://www.military-money-matters.com/questions-about-veterans-charities.html

And especially

http://www.military-money-matters.com/veterans-charities.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

Received a phone solicitation from this group, the woman claimed that she was Laura Lipinsky( sure it is Laura) and that she had talked with my mother earlier. She also claimed that my mother had pledged $15.00 and Laura wondered where it was. I told Laura, as my mother's Power of Attorney, we will not be giving to her group. She insisted that Joan gave many times in the last year which was total "trash". You see my Mom has Alzheimer's Disease, & I now handle all my elderly Mom's finances. I asked "Laura" to put us on her "do not call list" and that seemed to be a problem for her. She was very pushy about my reason to request this and it really started to irritate me. Because my Mom has Alzheimer's Disease and was given money to every group out there, it has been an up hill battle getting these "charities" to stop pestering us via the phone calls & the mail.
Finally in totally exasperating, I went outside & at the "top of my lungs"screamed at her in colorful language and hung up. All I can say is that felt good, even though I know they will still be pestering us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2012
20 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
20 people found this review helpful

Like others in the reviews, I had not made a contribution to this organization. Although the phone call was friendly, I still had my reservations. When I received the bill, I felt unease, especially since they spelled our name wrong, so I started an investigation. I was able to find the finicial report of 2010 on New Jersey records. The contributions were 49.6 % to fund raising, 47.5% to services, and 2.8% to management and general expenses. We did not like the percentages and will not be contributing to the organization. We sent the bill and decal back with a letter of explanation and request to be removed from any further contacts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Got a "statement" from them thanking Peggy for making a $25 pledge when they called her May 12, 2012, and asking her to remit payment by May 24. Hmmmmm - Peggy has been dead since 2008, so I don't think she pledged anything in 2012. I have a family member who didn't pledge but continues to get "past due" notices that her pledge has not been paid. DISHONEST, UNETHICAL SCAM! This so-called charity should have no stars at all on the rating, but I clicked on one because I couldn't post without it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

I got a phone call from them thanking me for my donation of last year (which I knew I had not made) and asked me to donate again this year. Told them I don't donate over the phone but they could send me the information and I would check them out on the internet and if they were a good charity I would donate at least $10. Everything I have found about them is negative and I will not be making any donation to them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

My experience is the same as the previous two reviewers, I just wanted to add my voice to the growing chorus. They will not be receiving a donation from me either.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no experience

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more transparent

June 11, 2011
15 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2011
15 people found this review helpful

As with the previous reviewer, I was solicited by this charity via a cold call and asked to make a pledge. I do not make decisions on charitable giving over the phone, so they said they'd put me down for the minimum and then send me information by mail. Upon receipt of the pledge card, I was skeptical because of the shoddiness of the whole thing. After searching their Web site (very unprofessional) and GuideStar (with limited data and none since 2008), I'm no more confident in this group. It may not be a scam, but they certainly have not convinced me that the organization delivers value (however great the cause). Needless to say, I will not be returning a donation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

n/a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Invest in a more professional presence online and add more transparency as to details and activities of the organization. Maintain IRS listings and filings (even if not required by law given size of the organization) and other activities that bolster the organization's legitimacy on paper.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

Phone solicitation

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2011
25 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2011
25 people found this review helpful

This charity approached me for a donation through an unsolicited phone call from their paid professional fundraiser, Courtesy Call Inc., in April 2011. After receiving the pledge card they mailed me, I was concerned enough by the vagueness of the 'services' they claim to provide to disabled veterans, and by the fact that their mailing address for donations is in a different state from where their office address is, that I did some detective work. Turns out that this charity is not listed at all by the Better Business Bureau Charity site (gift.org), nor is it mentioned by any watchdog site, e.g. charitynavigator.org. The last mention of this charity on Guidestar is dated 2008, with their address in TN, with not much detail, while the address on their corporate website is in FL. I could find no testimonials from veterans themselves or any business that had used their employment services for disabled veterans. Since it is way too difficult to get any information about the workings of this charity, and I highly value transparency from charities, I will not be sending a donation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

finding that I could not locate any results, at least on the internet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

institute greater transparency with financial reports, e.g. how much of the money this charity takes in does it actually use to provide veteran's services. I would also provide actual testimonials from veterans being served as well as reports from business who have used the employment services provided by the charity to hire disabled veterans.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers