Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 12, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Do NOT donate to this organization. It is a FAKE. You cannot get a hold of them. Their contact # from their web page goes to a messaging service, which then goes to another messaging service (RHQ they said, but could not find them anywhere online).
There is NO tax id information for them
anywhere and when you donate, you do not receive a statement which is required from non-profits.
January 2, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

I received a call a few minutes ago from an organization calling themselves Disabled Veterans Services. Never heard of them and I am fairly active with both retired and active military. Being a disabled vet this peaked my interest. I questioned the gentleman what the ratios were and gladly went forth and claimed what they do for the vets. I asked him what parent company he worked for and he would not answer the question. He stated they have a 85/15 ratio, i.e. 85% going to veterans services. With this, I immediately assumed this was another scam. probably by Dytel.
I told him he was full of bull---- , he made me sick to my stomach and that he should be ashamed of himself for what he is doing. This is pure and simple scamming people using the need that our veterans have. These SOBs should get castrated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Based on their reported earnings and expenditures, in 2011 this organization spent 61% of its revenue on "professional fundraising services" alone, for a total of $3,717,894. That's not a great ratio. Does not constitute proof of fraud, but your money could be better spent.

The source is
below:

http://www.faqs.org/tax-exempt/TN/Disabled-Veterans-Services-Inc.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend AT LEAST 50% of annual budget on actual charity, and certainly not as much as they do on professional fundraising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

"Disabled Veterans Services, Inc."

Envelope address is a UPS Store, Google this zip code "53211-2042"

According to one report, 35% of funds collected goes to vets, half goes to fund raising (telemarketing scam?)

HQ is in Pompano Beach, FL. Found more than four other
addresses for this organization. Something is very fishy about this. You can find many better vets organizations.

See http://www.military-money-matters.com/questions-about-veterans-charities.html

And especially

http://www.military-money-matters.com/veterans-charities.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

Received a phone solicitation from this group, the woman claimed that she was Laura Lipinsky( sure it is Laura) and that she had talked with my mother earlier. She also claimed that my mother had pledged $15.00 and Laura wondered where it was. I told Laura, as my mother's Power of Attorney, we will not be giving to her group. She insisted that Joan gave many times in the last year which was total "trash". You see my Mom has Alzheimer's Disease, & I now handle all my elderly Mom's finances. I asked "Laura" to put us on her "do not call list" and that seemed to be a problem for her. She was very pushy about my reason to request this and it really started to irritate me. Because my Mom has Alzheimer's Disease and was given money to every group out there, it has been an up hill battle getting these "charities" to stop pestering us via the phone calls & the mail.
Finally in totally exasperating, I went outside & at the "top of my lungs"screamed at her in colorful language and hung up. All I can say is that felt good, even though I know they will still be pestering us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2012
20 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
20 people found this review helpful

Like others in the reviews, I had not made a contribution to this organization. Although the phone call was friendly, I still had my reservations. When I received the bill, I felt unease, especially since they spelled our name wrong, so I started an investigation. I was able to find the finicial report of 2010 on New Jersey records. The contributions were 49.6 % to fund raising, 47.5% to services, and 2.8% to management and general expenses. We did not like the percentages and will not be contributing to the organization. We sent the bill and decal back with a letter of explanation and request to be removed from any further contacts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

Like other reviewers, I received a cold call from them asking that I renew last year's pledge (hmmmm...... I don't recall any such donation). I waited to receive the invioce in the mail which asked that I fulfill my promised pledge of $35, and they had a number to call for further inquiries. When I called the number however, I was prompted to leave a message for someone called Patty Baynet(?), and then when I attempted to do so, I was SHOCKED (not) to hear that her mailbox is full! There's obviously something very fishy going on here, so they won't be seeing a penny from me! Now, if I only knew whom to report them to for further investigation...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Got a "statement" from them thanking Peggy for making a $25 pledge when they called her May 12, 2012, and asking her to remit payment by May 24. Hmmmmm - Peggy has been dead since 2008, so I don't think she pledged anything in 2012. I have a family member who didn't pledge but continues to get "past due" notices that her pledge has not been paid. DISHONEST, UNETHICAL SCAM! This so-called charity should have no stars at all on the rating, but I clicked on one because I couldn't post without it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

I got a phone call from them thanking me for my donation of last year (which I knew I had not made) and asked me to donate again this year. Told them I don't donate over the phone but they could send me the information and I would check them out on the internet and if they were a good charity I would donate at least $10. Everything I have found about them is negative and I will not be making any donation to them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Got a cold call too and was asked to send in my check right away (after I demurred from using my credit card). Decided to look up this organization after getting my pledge 'bill' in the mail. Glad I did. I really want to help veteran's, not organizations making money off of them. Did not donate the $50 I said I would.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers