Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1.266672345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

This charity run by a family of scammers is total bullshit. They do nothing but collect millions and hand out M&Ms to our brave soldiers.

They should be run out of town. Or jailed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Toss them out, put them in prison.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

was gonna give but after 5 minutes of reviewing their past-i said nope-not gonna do it wouldn't be prudent.

not gonna buy m&m's and hand sanitizers - not needed

I can not believe this organization has the audacity to continue after being expose as to who they truely are. Your a
fraud and should be shut down.

signed
an unlikely donor

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Disabled Veterans National Foundation has helped thousands of veterans- we have found their programs to benefit directly to our veterans in the form of grants, scholarships and education. The webinar series is always helpful for veterans in their search for employment tips. The volunteers and staff for DVNF dedicate so much time to a mission near and dear to their hearts...most of the board members are veterans themselves. I would recommend a donation or any type of support to DVNF to give back to our brave men and women in the military. With those returning soon, they need programs like DVNF's even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 13, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

The underlying issue with fraudulent charities is that 1. They are easy to set up and cheap, around $300 to make it legal. 2. The law has no minimum requirement as for how much $$ they have to give to their cause. Due to the prior 2 reasons it has be become a large systemic scam used for more than simply getting money on false pretenses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I would support any Congressional action to prevent those organizations that use Veteran causes as a way to raise funds for the enrichment of their own pockets while nothing or a trickle of funds go actually to the veterans. Absolutely shameful - this group should be shut down. An abolute disgrace - another chapter in the moral decline of corporate America or "making a buck" no matter what

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 25, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 25, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Was donating monthly to this organization until they mailed a 'gift' of an American flag. The package had a "MADE IN CHINA" sticker on it. This is an organization that supposedly uses the donations to assist in locating employment for disabled American vets?! I've learned to rely more on Charity Navigator reports before future donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Just a comment. Based on the reply to Senator Max Baucus, chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, and Senator Richard Burr, the senior Republican on the Veterans’ Affairs Committee from the DVNF site here are the annual fund raising costs (%) for the last three years, for contributiosn of: 2009: $ 20,959,255

2010: $ 24,787,094

2011: $ 29,149,836, fund raising costs were: 2009: $ 12,606,167/$ 20,959,255 = 60%

2010: $ 10,772,550/$ 24,787,094 = 43%

2011: $ 9,256,075/$ 29,149,836 = 31%. There is a trend of sorts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

My wife has been sending DVNF $25.00 each month for 1 1/2 years, but earlier this month when we saw the CNN piece on DVNF, that has stopped. My wife is very upset about this as she has been very supportive of Veterans Charities for about 25 years. We are now checking into the background of three other charities for veterans to see if they are worthy of our donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I also have been watching Anderson Cooper's report on DVNF (Disabled Veterans National Foundation) on CNN...This appears to be a fraudulent "charity" according to the reports. They use a fundraising company I believe called Guadriga Art who charges more for the money they obtain for the so called charity than the "charity" receives...And, according also to the report, DVNF has collected some $56 million dollars and will not answer any questions as to where this money is going...how it's being used for the Vets...when questioned by a reporter the door was slammed in his face by a rather old and rude woman who heads the "charity". As the daughter of a WWII pilot who flew many missions over Europe including the bombing of the oil fields in Romania I am appalled. This "charity" should be investigated immediately. To think that our Vets who have served our country are being ripped off by DVNF makes my stomach do backflips.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

CNN has just aired a 2-part report suggesting fraud consisting of taking in millions of dollars for Vets and then sending Veterans organizations things they get for free and things that are not useful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers