Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is the most wonderful organization! My son learned to snowboard here, and as a kid with learning disabilities he would NEVER have been able to make it in a typical group class. He grew confident in his skills and loved the time he spent with his counselor / teacher, and as a parent I felt completely secure that he would be safe and in great hands.

He has since gone on to winter weekend trips with his dad, who is a lovely skier - and my son can keep up with anything they try. The solid foundation in skills and confidence will be a life-long treasure.

Love you, Disabled Sports USA Far West!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My husband, a wounded warrior and I had the privilege to participate in their adaptive sports program this summer. The experience was nearly overwhelming as the kindness and the entire event were amazingly well organized and executed.

Every one from Disabled Sports USA Far West was great
and they deserve all the consideration possible. Seldom have we encountered a more caring, professional and energetic group of people who made our experience one that we'll remember until the end of our days.

Thank you Disabled Sports USA Far West, you're the best!!!

SSG Kelly D. Strong, Senior Combat Medic 870th M.P. Co., 49th M.P. BN, US Army, retired

Kornelia Strong, Department of Veterans Affairs Caregiver-Mentor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Disabled Sports truly made our Ski trip to Tahoe an AWESOME one. Our son is autistic and I (dad) have had such a tough time trying to get him skiing. We had tried various one-on-one lessons at some of the large resorts, but it wasn't until our experience with Disabled Sports (@ Alpine Valley) that things really clicked. My son LOVED it. The instructors were amazingly patient with him. I couldn't recommend them enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They're amazing in every way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been a client of TASS, the name I warmly remember for over 20 years. My son started there in the 90's. I was poisoned by the contaminated L-tryptophan while I was pregnant. He was born with the disease, lived in a lot of pain and had a lot of leg problems. They were so patient with him even on the days he could barely get out of bed. They would wait. He had become over weight and hated life. Every winter we came and spent a week. My son grew to not only love skiing, but also to love himself. They were all so loving and empathetic my son gained emotional strength as well as becoming an advanced skier, forward and backward. They loved to ski with him. It was hard to tell he was disabled.

During my divorce he was put in the middle by my X and struggled. He stopped coming with me. They all banned together and tried to get him to come. It was like having an extended family. I realized at this point I could take the lessons and grow for myself. I had already been skiing for 30 years and thought I knew everything. They turned my skiing around, made it less stressful on my legs and helped me to regain the love of skiing I had lost due to the pain of which I lived.

I would name names, but I fear I might forget one. The instructors, staff and administrators are ALL some of the nicest caring people we have ever met. My son has been back to get hugs a few times in the last few years and everyone has a big smile for him. I will mention one person who was a major player in my son's leaving the poor me's and becoming self confident. It was Bill who not only is in a wheel chair, but also a champion skier. It helped my son see that if Bill could do that much he could, too.

I even went last year knowing I couldn't ski due to an ankle fracture. I needed my hug fix and got it. Look out you guys, I am coming in February as I always do. It is my birthday present I give myself every year. I live in PA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a Jeannie who had a bottle filled with money so they could have all the things on their wish list, expand and serve more clients and get paid!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Disabled Sports are amazing for working with us; disabled! I am a fairly new paraplegic and they taught me both snowskiing and waterskiing. To be able to teach someone of any level injury in a way that they can excel is awesome! I feel so fortunate to have a fabulous group to be able to get out and enjoy sports. Since I have a very high standard as a business manager, I really appreciated the professionalism and care I received from all those I have encountered at Disabled sports. And, I really have to Thank Bill Bowness for teaching, encouraging and helping me appreciate all that we can do in the snow, in the water and out and about. Thank you to all at Disabled Sports!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the seasons, so that we can train longer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I’m a BK amputee that needed a lesson in skiing deep powder. Mother Nature delivered a HUGE storm the day of the lesson. I assumed the lesson would be canceled due to extreme weather. I was pleased to learn they teach in all kinds of conditions. After the lesson, I was so impressed, I signed up as a volunteer. I’m starting my 3rd year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advertise more

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I started skiing with Disabled Sports USA at Alpine Meadows 15 years ago. I never thought I'd enjoy the slopes again after being paralyzed from a car wreck 32 years ago. I have had so much fun wiping out on the intermediate slope and gliding down the bunny slope. My life is full! People cannot believe that I can snow ski. I tell them its all because of Alpine Meadows adaptive ski program.

Love you guys!
Shirley

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am fortunate enough to have experience with DSUSAFW both as a volunteer and as the guardian of a client. I became involved because I wanted to make sure that my nephew has access to outdoor recreational opportunities. He's only six years old, but the staff of DSUSAFW went out of their way to make sure that he could participate. Thus far, we've had him out in the bi-ski, during their snowsports program, and out on the water ski, during their summer watersports program. The expertise, enthusiasm, and kindness embodied in the DSUSAFW staff is truely outstanding.

Because we (i.e. my nephew and I) had such a great experience, I've now enrolled to be a snowsports instructor. I've already participated as a volunteer during their summer watersports program and was blown away by the quality of the program and how easy staff made it for volunteers to just jump in and get involved (while ensuring client safety and enjoyment, of course). I am very much looking forward to becoming more involved and doing more fun things with my nephew and all the other wonderful people at DSUSAFW.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This organization is so important in the life of our family! It makes a true difference and provides kids and people of all ages not just with opportunities to do things they wouldn't be able to do otherwise, but with tools and confidence to pursue their dreams in life and with the powerful "I can" attitude. What they do is truly remarkable and goes well beyond just the activities - it's character building!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is absolutely fantastic and much needed and appreciated. We live in San Francisco and before we moved here and found Disabled Sports Far West at Alpine Meadows my family member had never participated in any sports due to their disability. This place has really revolutionized my family members' attitudes toward what they are capable of doing and experiencing. We've participated in both monoskiing and summer sports and adventures and have never been disappointed. My family members entire outlook on life has really been affected in a positive way by our experiences with the incredibly dedicated and kind volunteers and paid staff at DSUSA Far West. We have donated in the past and plan to do so in the future because we know that all of the proceeds they collect go right back into the program. It's cliche to say that the staff and volunteers are angels at places like this- but in this case there are few other words that adequately capture the kindness and dedication that these fine people bring to their work. We are really lucky to have such a place within driving distance of San Francisco and we are already planning some winter trips up to Alpine to see our many friends again this year. If you are uncertain as to whether to donate to this organization, I suggest you take the opportunity to go to Alpine Meadows this winter and go observe the staff working with people of all ages and levels of ability to see the joy they bring to students and family alike. You'll be transformed, and you may just want to volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

re-hire the fantastic mechanic who's expertise in fitting ski equipment to students really made the process of getting up on the mountain smooth! Bring that man back!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Solicit silent auction items for our fundraisers. Volunteer