Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
123.6666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Just writing to counter another review below. This may sound petty, but it is very important to me that my donations not be spent on marketing and fundraising. I get my own body weight in junk mail every 5 months and I don't want charities wasting their money adding to it. In 2011 I donated to 5 US charities and requested that each of them keep me off of any kind of mailing lists. DAV is is the only one of the 5 who was able to completely honor this request. I don't doubt the other reviewer's experience but for me all I had to do was ask up front. So DAV gets 5 stars from me.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Although I believe in the worthiness of helping disabled American veterans, I was dismayed to find that a $100 donation to the DAV has resulted in years of junk mailings. All the calendars, return address labels, memo pads, Christmas cards, postage paid envelopes and the rest ,end up in my tras , as I don't need or want any of them. I think it's a very wasteful use of limited resources and I believe that my entire donation has been spent sending me trash. I think it's poor policy to reward donors with non stop pleas for more money. I never repeat donations to any organization which employees this method of fund raising.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The United States of American exists today because of the bravery of countless men and women who have risked everything to protect the freedoms we enjoy. I am proud to say that there are veterans in every branch of my family and many have even laid down their lives for our country. I honor their sacrifice and that of every person in our military. Disabled American Veterans is one of the rare organizations that repays our debt to the men and women of arms. Through the DAV, my family can reach out to those who have lost their hope and help them rebuild their lives. We trust and proudly support this noble organization in its important work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

After serving our great Country during the Vietnam war I purchsed my first home in 1980 on a VA loan. A couple of years later my job required me to move so I sold my home. The person that bought my home was a former veteran so he just assumed my loan. In 1983 the VA contacted me and advised that they had foreclosed on the home and that I owed them over $25K! They asked for all my income and expenses so they could begin garnishing my wages. They set a court hearing date for me in Houston if I wanted to contest it. I spoke to my attorney and he advised me that nobody would represent me due to the fact that congress doesn't allow veterans to pay more than $10 for legal representation against the US Government. He also told me that the title company I used should have given me a release of liability when I sold the home. It seems the least the VA should have done was notified me when the buyer defaulted on the loan and allowed me to take the loan back but instead they just auctioned it off! Nervously I showed up for court at the VA's office on the designated day. While having a cup of coffee I struck up a conversation with an older gentleman. Apparently he could see my nervousness and asked why I was there. I told him my story and he asked me to come down the hall to his office. There he told me he was a counselor with the DAV and was going to represent me in the hearing. Together we went top the hearing and he told the VA that I had sold the home in good faith and that the buyer had made 12 consecutive payments on time and they had no case. He scolded them for knowing the fact and what they had put a veteran through. To this day I am forever grateful for what DAV has done for me and others and will continue to be a donor for such a good cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Through DAV’s Voluntary Service Program dedicated volunteers drive sick and disabled veterans to and from VA medical facilities for treatment.

In addition, many individuals volunteer to assist at VA facilities across the country.