Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
123.6666745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 1, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I was in the Navy during the Vietnam War. A disc ruptured in my back while doing some heavy lifting. Two weeks later the Naval doctors put me in pelvic traction. With no relief, they operated and removed the disc. I felt a weakness in my left ankle. While playing softball on the base, I suffered an extreme sprain. One year later, they discharged me with a 50% disability rating for my back, 0% for the ankle. The ankle kept spraining itself with the least amount of trauma. I was on crutches 50% of the time. Someone told me to put in a claim. After the exam and a search of my records, the VA conceded and gave me 10% for the ankle, but they said my back was getting better, so they took 10% away from my back. My back then began to go into muscle spasms, crippling me. Someone told me to go back and reopen your claim. The VA then said that my back really wasn’t any worse so they would not give me an increase. However, they said that my ankle was better. So they took away the 10%, leaving me with 40%. I wanted to go to college. You must be 50% disabled to get full benefits. I was too poor to go (SOL). A friend, John, told me to join the DAV and they will stop f... with you. Two years I was commander of a chapter and a life member. One more time my back put me back in the hospital. I had the National Service Officer plea my case for me. Next thing I know, I was awarded the 50% back and off to college I went.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Becoming a chapter commander and financial officer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their Reach out program. There are so many Veterans that truly do not know how much this organization can benefit them.

November 8, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

My husband is a disabled veteran with 32 yrs of service. He joined DAV to help with his outstanding VA disability claim. He called DAV 3 times over a period of a few months. Each time he was told he would get a call back from someone to help him. NOT ONE SINGLE RETURN PHONE CALL from DAV.org. I wish my husband hadn't wasted his hard earned money to join this rip-off place. I truly am shocked at the lack of professionalism from them. He would explain with each subsequent phone call to them that he had already called and was told he would get a call back soon . . . . was always assured he would get a call back . . .never happened.

My husband's claim has now been completed by the VA (no thanks to DAV) and he is 90% disabled. He has turned to another agency for help to get the max 100%. He is using RepForVets and he got a call back the same day, with legitimate help and a packet full of info is already on the way to help my husband. Shame on you, DAV.org. You ripped-off my husband with your membership fee and he got NOTHING in return from you. How dare you advertise your organization on television as helping veterans. I guess that's where my husbands membership fee went . . .to pay for your expensive advertising!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

put it out of business

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The DAV does not solicit donations via telemarketing company. They use .92 of every dollar to help veterans or support veteran programs, is.. transportation free of charge to veterans to their VA medical appointments, Winters sports clinic, VA Benefit assistance and advocacy. These are just a few examples of how the DAV uses donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I think the work that DAV does for the American Vet is a fantastic thing. My only problem with them is the money they spend on stuff they send to the people who contribute. I have written and ask them not to send me anything. I want every cent of what I send to these people to be used to care for the Vets. That is why I send it. I don't send it so I will constantly receive note pad, return address lables, awards for being a supporter etc. I want all the money I send to go for the care of the Vets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been recieving illegal phone calls from an out bound telemarketer on behalf of this orgainization. They call several times per day and will not allow for call backs or for me to opt out which is illegal. When I have asked to be removed from the list they hang up on me. My father is a veteran in poor health who lives with me and the calls are disturbing him and show that the organization has no respect for the public.I have contacted the main offices several times yet the calls persists. they are breaking the law by doing this and I would never donate one cent to them since they are not ethical. Give to Paralyzed Vetrans instead. They care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Just writing to counter another review below. This may sound petty, but it is very important to me that my donations not be spent on marketing and fundraising. I get my own body weight in junk mail every 5 months and I don't want charities wasting their money adding to it. In 2011 I donated to 5 US charities and requested that each of them keep me off of any kind of mailing lists. DAV is is the only one of the 5 who was able to completely honor this request. I don't doubt the other reviewer's experience but for me all I had to do was ask up front. So DAV gets 5 stars from me.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have always been a financial supporter and plan to continue my support; but not listing CEO compensation and a plan for CEO benefits is troubling. The board of directors should attend to both matters immediately; transparency and honesty are needed more than ever in this troubled economy.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Although I believe in the worthiness of helping disabled American veterans, I was dismayed to find that a $100 donation to the DAV has resulted in years of junk mailings. All the calendars, return address labels, memo pads, Christmas cards, postage paid envelopes and the rest ,end up in my tras , as I don't need or want any of them. I think it's a very wasteful use of limited resources and I believe that my entire donation has been spent sending me trash. I think it's poor policy to reward donors with non stop pleas for more money. I never repeat donations to any organization which employees this method of fund raising.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The United States of American exists today because of the bravery of countless men and women who have risked everything to protect the freedoms we enjoy. I am proud to say that there are veterans in every branch of my family and many have even laid down their lives for our country. I honor their sacrifice and that of every person in our military. Disabled American Veterans is one of the rare organizations that repays our debt to the men and women of arms. Through the DAV, my family can reach out to those who have lost their hope and help them rebuild their lives. We trust and proudly support this noble organization in its important work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

After serving our great Country during the Vietnam war I purchsed my first home in 1980 on a VA loan. A couple of years later my job required me to move so I sold my home. The person that bought my home was a former veteran so he just assumed my loan. In 1983 the VA contacted me and advised that they had foreclosed on the home and that I owed them over $25K! They asked for all my income and expenses so they could begin garnishing my wages. They set a court hearing date for me in Houston if I wanted to contest it. I spoke to my attorney and he advised me that nobody would represent me due to the fact that congress doesn't allow veterans to pay more than $10 for legal representation against the US Government. He also told me that the title company I used should have given me a release of liability when I sold the home. It seems the least the VA should have done was notified me when the buyer defaulted on the loan and allowed me to take the loan back but instead they just auctioned it off! Nervously I showed up for court at the VA's office on the designated day. While having a cup of coffee I struck up a conversation with an older gentleman. Apparently he could see my nervousness and asked why I was there. I told him my story and he asked me to come down the hall to his office. There he told me he was a counselor with the DAV and was going to represent me in the hearing. Together we went top the hearing and he told the VA that I had sold the home in good faith and that the buyer had made 12 consecutive payments on time and they had no case. He scolded them for knowing the fact and what they had put a veteran through. To this day I am forever grateful for what DAV has done for me and others and will continue to be a donor for such a good cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Through DAV’s Voluntary Service Program dedicated volunteers drive sick and disabled veterans to and from VA medical facilities for treatment.

In addition, many individuals volunteer to assist at VA facilities across the country.