Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I serve on the Board of Directors for Direct Action Welfare Group because I want to contribute my time and energy to an organization that is making real change in people's lives in my state. Instead of focusing only on immediate need and being a band-aid type of organization, Direct Action Welfare Group looks at the big picture and asks why are people hungry, why are people poor, and why are there no jobs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure the women of Direct Action Welfare Group had the opportunity to take their message to everyone living in poverty in West Virginia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

DAWG helped me get back in school and how to talk to important people in my community. Since getting with DAWG I am not afraid to talk to legislators and let them know what its like for me and my kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure everybody was part of DAWG.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

DAWG is vital to ensuring that the voice of poor people is heard in WV. DAWG is poor people organizing with poor people to stand up for poor people and demand change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they had all the resources they need to do all the vital work they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I learned about dawg about 4 years ago when they help my neighbor with a slumlord they fought and won I really thought that it was a thoughtful thing to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay the E.D.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Wonderful group of people, will help you in any possible way they can! Love y'all keep up the wonderful work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

The DAWG organization has helped to learn about the WV Houding development Fund and I in turn has helped assist three people to buy a home, who was turned down for conventional loans due to limited income that is atpoverty level. It was fun and very informative going to and sssisting in homeowners workshops. Evelyn Dortch spent some of her personal time answering questions and being able to refer me to others who wo uld help me make some dreams come true. I highly recommend this non profit to do volunteer work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them more accessible throughout the state.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

This nonprofit has helped so many folks who are marginalized to empower each others' voices. They work tirelessly to organize communities so that they can empower themselves to overcome the stigmas of poverty and recognize their own worth as human beings. Wherever they go, telling their stories, they gain support from others with stories to tell, and foster recognition that we are all suffering for lack of human rights and dignity in this country. The have been successful at overcoming sterotypes which disempower groups that are traditionally marginalized, and have lead with love, inspiring others to do the same. They have grown from a local organization to one that is recognized by human rights allies nationwide. They have provided support and solidarity to those struggling with oppression from the systems in place which do not respond to their clients with respect or dignity. DAWG has changed and continues to change that situation. I cannot speak highly enough of the work they have done wich spans all age groups, ethnicities and educational levels. They foster a unification of welfare parents and teens that would not otherwise be possible, and which continues striving to change the social injustices of the systems within which we all live.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

The Direct Action Welfare Group succeeds in doing what is often so terribly difficult in social services: to involve and inspire consumers and clients to take a personal interest in improving service delivery system for the benefit of all. "DAWG" does this by educating consumers, creating leadership opportunities, advocating for good social policy development, and encouraging consumers to become fully participating citizens. The importance of this work cannot be overstated: creating an atmosphere of self-reliance on the part of vulnerable people and families, and demonstrating the value of shared responsibility to the public at large.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide resources to allow DAWG to have a greater impact.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the good fortune of knowing "the DAWGs" since they were a small group of welfare moms meeting wherever they could to help each other survive. For these 20 years or so, they have continued to do that--while becoming a powerful force in the movement to end poverty. Deeply rooted in West Virginia, their vision and influence extend across the USA and beyond. I love them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . .clone them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I love this organization. I have been working with this organization since I was I was a child. My mother is one of the founders so this group is close to my heart. They have done so much good for our state and nationally. DAWG is for poor people by poor people. DAWG was incorporated in 2002 but the women who formed DAWG had been organizing before incorporation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make DAWG more known on a state level and hope for more people to get involved on a regular basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

•help with distributing information to low income families about public assistance programs
•help set up for a training or public forum
•assist someone with applying for college scholarships, writing a resume, or learning how to use email.
•help enter information in our database
•help with office repairs and cleaning
•answer phones and help out with clerical work
•share my knowledge and expertise with low income individuals
•help with DAWG’s monthly pot luck or conciseness raising movie night
•help sort clothes or set up for a clothing giveaway
•help solicit donations