Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.925235
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Always a leader & in the forefront for all of us affected by diabetes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Always at the forefront, always relevant, always timely and always effective. Whether advocating for change, raising awareness either of or for the diabetes community or striving for greater education and innovation in the treatment of diabetes, The Diabetes Hands Foundation has been a tour de force. I have had the good fortune to work with them over the past few years and I'm continually amazed at their tireless devotion to raise funds, develop lasting partnerships and make a real difference in the lives of those they truly serve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Diabetes Hands Foundation provides an invaluable service to those with diabetes, as well as their friends and families. When someone is feeling lost and alone in the sea of diabetes, Diabetes Hands Foundation is there to toss out a lifeline. Thanks to DHF, no one ever has to be alone with diabetes again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a volunteer for the Diabetes Hands Foundation early this year and I am blown away by the amazing things that the DHF does not only for the diabetes community but also for its volunteers. They are a top notch non profit!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This organization and its initiatives have truly changed my life. I've found the support I needed when I felt most alone as a person with diabetes, I achieved all of my health goals with the support and information I gleaned from the people I met through the organization, and I continue to offer my support to it! With their help, I've enjoyed two healthy pregnancies and made many lasting friendships. I believe in DHF's mission and am continually impressed by the way it upholds its values.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me find the support I needed to lower my A1c and become pregnant

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clarify their mission, promote them to health care providers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

through the social network TuDiabetes

What is its top priority in the long run?

to make sure that no one touched by diabetes has to feel alone

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am bothered by the activism of this site toward one fringe diet. It actively advocates ultra low-carbohydrate eating, in line with Atkins, Weston Price, Bernstein, etc. It is also, therefore, anti-American Diabetes Association. This activism extends beyond the many volunteer posts that are made - in fact some of the site administrators as well as the co-founder of this site join in the ultra low-carb, anti-ADA, activism. I would not raise my rating of this foundation until they learn that there is more than one diet that works for diabetics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I am grateful for this organization for having TuDiabetes. It has helped me so much understand the many dynamics of T1 diabetes through open discussions and blogs from other diabetics. Before I joined I had 5 years of frustration and misdiagnoses from doctors. I have learner how to get a lower A1c, true side effects of Mersey and how to avoid lows while excercising. I don't feel alone anymore and I am grateful for that :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Ten days before my 55th birthday I heard the doctor say "You have diabetes". The rest of that conversation is a blur. I hadn't been feeling well, but I never really get sick. Not even a cold. I ate well and was not over weight. How could this be? I knew next to nothing about diabetes. I needed desperately to learn what I needed to do. How do I eat? What did I have to do to bring my blood sugar down from the dangerous 436 that it was? I was overwhelmed. A trip to the CDE only frustrated me. All of this unknown was daunting. Where and how could I ever get the knowledge I needed to save my life? I knew I could not spend the kind of time it would require simply making Dr. appointments.TuDiabetes was the answer. Somehow in that early fog of uncertainty my wonderful wife came across a link. A community, a home with answers. Answers to questions I didn't even know to ask. I have spent countless hours over the last year reading and learning from the experience of other people with diabetes. The fog and the fear quickly melted away. I have a much better idea now of what to expect. And, I know I have a solid resource to lean on when I need to. A wonderful support team that spans the globe. I cringe to think where I might be today without TuDiabetes. That is no exaggeration. This is truly how I feel about DHF and TuD. They have become a critical member of my healthcare team. Knowledge is power and support is key.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2011

more

February 11, 2011

I just came across this website and I have to say I am so happy to see that there are sites like this out there. My sister died at a young age due to complications of diabetes. There weren’t sites like this when she was alive. I believe it would’ve made such a difference in the quality of her life to be able to be part of a community that allowed her to comfortably be a diabetic. Now that I’ve found it I must volunteer!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Just knowing that there is support for those with diabetes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing yet but volunteer

February 4, 2011

more

February 4, 2011

The Diabetes Hands Foundation operates an online community known as TuDiabetes which is an ever-growing community of people who are going through the same things in their day-to-day lives.

A place where someone who is Diabetic can be just that, a Diabetic, or a place where someone newly
diagnosed can come to get advice on how to cope and handle with what life has thrown at them. TuDiabetes is a place to remind you that you are not alone.

I just joined a couple of weeks back, and already I'm diving into the community. I've even found myself in situations where I can't wait to see a reply, or what someone has posted next.

It's a great community for all of us that are in the same boat, and its refreshing to know that we're not in it alone. We have eachother.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization offers a place where a Diabetic can be just that, a Diabetic. What more can anyone ask for when they just want to be themselves?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Personally I'd like to see/hear more about potential gatherings that the entire community can participate in, whether it be online or in person.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

The people are friendly and candid. The two makings of a great community about such a serious topic.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

It's gotten me to be more open about what I go through everyday since my initial diagnosis just over 2 years ago.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers