Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.925235
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed as a type 1 diabetic about 2 years ago. Found TuDiabetes and found a wealth of information in one place. The volunteers and community is top notch. Have been having much better control of type 1 since joining.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the TuDiabetes Website for many years. It is run by the Diabetes Hands Foundation. I have had Type 1 insulin dependent diabetes and several other chronic disorders for over 25 years. I happened upon the site and found an amazing group of people with diabetes. I learned up to date information on how to care for myself the absolute best way possible. There are so many people involved in the site of all nationalities and ages, people with type 1 and type 2, pump users, people on injections and people on pills.
The environment is fun, exciting, interesting and friendly. I am always learning new ways of caring for myself and the emotional support is really astounding. I have made lifelong friends there. People get so connected that they actually end up meeting face to face.
There are fun parts to the site too, a forum, blogs, and you get your own page, and email option. They have a design studio for decorating and personalizing your own page. There are meet ups, fundraisers and gatherings. There is a live 24 hour chat.
The best thing is that people that actually live day to day with diabetes have become experts at caring for the disease are happy to share their knowledge. I have never been more impressed with any group and to tell the truth, I have learned more about studies, insulin, dosing, diet and exercise and balancing all of these Online at this site than I have ever learned from a professional. It is an invaluable part of my life. It is a site that truly saves lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing, it is fantastic already!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a member of TuDiabetes (run by Diabetes Hands Foundation) since the early days. I've connected with others close to me that have diabetes, I've been able to get useful and useable advice from other members. It's had a huge positive impact in my life.

DHF organizes an annual event
to emphasize the importance of exercise. I've taken part in this several times, it's a great reminder that frequent exercise isn't difficult and helps me control my blood sugars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help others learn about DHF and TuDiabetes, especially folks not on the internet.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am 85 years old. A Navy veteran of WW@. I was told I was a Type 2 diabetic. Not me. No man in my family ever had diabetes. I went on my merry way addicted to SWEETS in complete denial. I moved to Florida. Found a new endo. Shocked..My A1C was 9.5. Put right on insulin. Somehow I found DHF. I met people got serious got involved and got my A1C to 5.9. I am on the Care Team helping others. I say all the time THANK GOD for DHF it saved my life. I use it daily.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Being diagnosed as a type 1 diabetic is frightening. Once you are done at the doctors office or hospital you are left at home, with a ton of questions and very little answers. Sure you can search online, but interaction and support from actual people, those dealing with the same things you are, is what really helps. Thanks to the Diabetes Hands Foundation support like that exists 24/7. While there may be other resources, I have yet to find more comfort, welcome and information than I have from them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I find their website TuDiabetes to be a place were all types of diabetics whether they have Type 1, Type2 LADA, MODY , or any other type are welcome. It's a great resource for diabetes related information or it can be a place to discuss problems and issues common to diabetics. Heck, sometimes it's a place just to vent the flustrations of living with diabetes. A place to find understanding voices. I found TuDiabetes when I became an insulin dependent Type 2 diabetic. Without this foundation I don't know how I would have managed the transition to using insulin.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2010

Diabetes Hands Foundation, through their online community TuDiabetes.org, provides a well thought out, moderated community for diabetics (and their families and caregivers) to exchange information, su... more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Their website, tudiabetes.org, is best resource I've found for crowdsourced wisdom/experience/commiseration regarding life with diabetes. Everything from diet to devices, and lots in between is covered here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2010

Diabetes Hands Foundation, through their online community TuDiabetes.org, provides a well thought out, moderated community for diabetics (and their families and caregivers) to exchange information, support, photos, stories and more. It is an online oasis for those for whom diabetes can be a challenge/burden/mystery (or all of the above). I spend more time there than any other online community (sorry facebook!)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

education, health

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a person living with a chronic condition, I've always looked for a way to foster a positive outlook and spread it as well. Diabetes Hands Foundation gave me the tools to do this as a volunteer and the impact in my personal life has been profound - I've been able to deepen and refocus my personal my relationship with type 1 diabetes and have been able to steer my career in a direction that aligns with my passions. The work that DHF does is crucial and relevant to everyone because almost everyone today is somehow touched by diabetes - whether it is personally living with diabetes, or seeing its impact on others and on our society. I'm proud to be able to help and grateful for everything I've learned from DHF and Big Blue Test!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first discovered DHF when is started to look to social media as a place to connect with other people with diabetes. In addition to others with diabetes, I wanted to connect with a diabetes organizations to take advantage of their resources. There were many diabetes organizations, but dhf offered both things I was looking for - a place to meet others and an organization that offered many resources. The top brass of dhf don't sit behind a virtual desk all day; their execs and advisory board are made up of people who are in the diabetes online community every day and helping people in every way. You can talk to them one on one and they support you as an individual. Their BiG Blue Test event raises much needed money to buy supplies for people all over the world who have diabetes. IMHO they epitomize diabetes advocacy and everyone with diabetes benefits from their never ending efforts and important mission. Brad S. a person with Type 1 diabetes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Leaders and very active advocates for diabetes awareness. We participate in the Big Blue Test every year and I am inspired DAILY by what I read and learn at DHF. The strength of the diabetes community brought together by DHF is nothing short of AMAZING! Thank you for ALL that you do - I am honored to be a part of this community. Every day I read something innovative, interesting and important that I share on my personal social media connections - DHF is a vital resource!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers