Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They are extremily hard working people. They are always out in schools , churchs and other places to educate and identify high risk people that may have or could have diabeties. They do this on a very controlled budget with little overhead.. Hardest working non-profit I have ever been associated with..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a Board Member of the Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi for over 12 years. The board members of this nonprofit organization represent some of the top leaders in their fields in our state and strongly support the Foundation as do I. The staff of the Foundation go above and beyond what is expected to ensure that Mississippians with diabetes have access to education, medical attention, and in many cases, medical supplies. Never have I seen such dedication to the goals if an organization. In addition, administrative cost is kept extremely low to ensure that funds raised are available to help diabetic citizens. I have served on other nonprofit Boards but this Foundation is superb in my estimation in comparison.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have a child that has Type 1 diabetes. My first interaction was at the hospital. I was shown such compassion and interest in how my daughter was doing. I was invited and encouraged to attend Camp Kandu, the diabetes camp they sponsor. The camp was a perfect place to meet other parents of children with diabetes. It was also a great opportunity to get more education on diabetes management from the top medical professionals in the field. The Diabetes Foundation has been a godsend to me for support and continued education on the latest advances in diabetes management. Every dollar that is raised in Mississippi stays in Mississippi to help those affected by this disease. I am so grateful to have this wonderful nonprofit available, and for all the many programs they offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am from a family where diabetes and cardiovascular disease runs rampant. I moved to Mississippi 11 years ago and saw the tremendous burden of Diabetes in communities across the state. Both adults and children were affected. I later went on to lead the Medicaid Program for the State of Mississippi as Executive Director. When I needed additional resources for my beneficiaries, the ONLY entity in the state that I could consistently count on was the Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi. After leaving the Medicaid Program, I joined the Board of Directors of the Foundation. I returned to the University of Mississippi Medical Center and founded an Institute focused on eliminating Health Disparities across the state. Through the Institute, we have funded many successful projects with the Diabetes Foundation. The most significant project is the Annual Superconference which brings together hundreds of lay people from across the state to find out what is new on learning to prevent and live with if necessary Diabetes. In addtiona, I've found that the Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi is the ONLY organization addressing Diabetes in which 100% of funds remain in the state to help the people of Mississippi. As a funder, I've found that critically important. Finally, the fiscal prudence of the Diabetes Foundaton's staff is beyond reproach! I will continue to support their tremendous efforts in any way I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Bottom line....all funds raised stay right here to help those in need, be it screening or medecine needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers