Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Mississippi is inundated with diabetes. The Mississippi Diabetes Foundation is a locally run, locally funded non-profit organization which aims to improve the lives of all Mississippians struggling with diabetes of any type. All monies raised are spent within the state and not siphoned off to a national office. This group is a model for how other states and communities should organize themselves to combat chronic diseases in the 21st century. I have been involved with the group for over 4 years and could not recommend them more highly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We were overwhelmed when our then four year-old daughter was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes several years ago, but the Diabetes Foundation of MS came to our rescue. They helped provide test strips when we had to pay out of pocket while we got insurance to approve additional strips and have trained multiple day cares and summer programs so that they could properly care for our daughter. In addition, we love Camp Kandu and the Diabetes Super Conference which gives my daughter a chance to meet other kids like her and us a chance to benefit from the experience of other parents and other experts. I am not sure I would have the confidence I have in dealing with my daughter's condition if it wasn't for the programs and help provided by the DFM.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

DFM has been a blessing to our family and our community. They are there for us everytime we need them. More than willing to go to any length to help us. We are blessed to have such helpful knowlegeable staff at DFM

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They are extremily hard working people. They are always out in schools , churchs and other places to educate and identify high risk people that may have or could have diabeties. They do this on a very controlled budget with little overhead.. Hardest working non-profit I have ever been associated with..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

DFM provides a strong and much need service to the people of Mississippi. Those affected with diabetes have a knowledgeable and compassionate resource where they can gain information and support in managing their disease. Thousands of lives have been changed for the better through the education, awareness, and outreach of DFM. Until there's a cure, there is DFM.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

DFM always does everything first class. Mississippians are fortunate to have such knowledgeable staff at DFM. Their conferences, workshops, and fundraisers are second to none. The lives they touch daily are blessed by their caring spirit. To know that the funds raised by their tireless efforts stay in MS is truly what sets them apart from others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer with DFM for several years. Diagnosed with Type I in 1960, I've witnessed many benefits provided by DFM to individuals with diabetes and their families also. DFM provides educational information to families after being diagnosed, many times while still in hospital. Each year DFM provides a camp for children with diabetes which is staffed by drs and nurses so the parents know their child is being cared for. Annually, DFM hosts a "Super Conference" with experts from all over the USA making presentations to everyone interested in learning how to improve diabetes management. Vendors are on hand to show new items and answer questions. Also, annually they provide one or more continuing education programs for diabetes health care professionals. Throughout the year, diabetes educations programs are conducted to schools, colleges, fire departments, law enforcement and civic groups. DFM assists the needy in securing insulin and testing supplies and has recently added the allert dogs to this list. DFM is made up primarly of volunteers which enables about 90% of funds raised to go directly toward benefiting people with diabetes in Mississippi. Thank you for allowing me to provide a review. Frank Cockerham

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a Board Member of the Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi for over 12 years. The board members of this nonprofit organization represent some of the top leaders in their fields in our state and strongly support the Foundation as do I. The staff of the Foundation go above and beyond what is expected to ensure that Mississippians with diabetes have access to education, medical attention, and in many cases, medical supplies. Never have I seen such dedication to the goals if an organization. In addition, administrative cost is kept extremely low to ensure that funds raised are available to help diabetic citizens. I have served on other nonprofit Boards but this Foundation is superb in my estimation in comparison.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have a child that has Type 1 diabetes. My first interaction was at the hospital. I was shown such compassion and interest in how my daughter was doing. I was invited and encouraged to attend Camp Kandu, the diabetes camp they sponsor. The camp was a perfect place to meet other parents of children with diabetes. It was also a great opportunity to get more education on diabetes management from the top medical professionals in the field. The Diabetes Foundation has been a godsend to me for support and continued education on the latest advances in diabetes management. Every dollar that is raised in Mississippi stays in Mississippi to help those affected by this disease. I am so grateful to have this wonderful nonprofit available, and for all the many programs they offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am from a family where diabetes and cardiovascular disease runs rampant. I moved to Mississippi 11 years ago and saw the tremendous burden of Diabetes in communities across the state. Both adults and children were affected. I later went on to lead the Medicaid Program for the State of Mississippi as Executive Director. When I needed additional resources for my beneficiaries, the ONLY entity in the state that I could consistently count on was the Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi. After leaving the Medicaid Program, I joined the Board of Directors of the Foundation. I returned to the University of Mississippi Medical Center and founded an Institute focused on eliminating Health Disparities across the state. Through the Institute, we have funded many successful projects with the Diabetes Foundation. The most significant project is the Annual Superconference which brings together hundreds of lay people from across the state to find out what is new on learning to prevent and live with if necessary Diabetes. In addtiona, I've found that the Diabetes Foundation of Mississippi is the ONLY organization addressing Diabetes in which 100% of funds remain in the state to help the people of Mississippi. As a funder, I've found that critically important. Finally, the fiscal prudence of the Diabetes Foundaton's staff is beyond reproach! I will continue to support their tremendous efforts in any way I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers