Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 4, 2014

DFW Pug Rescue has had some serious issues in the past several years. They have lost several long term and effective volunteers due to an ego driven board of directors that doesn't change. There have not only been circumstances of volunteers that are driven by the needs of their foster pugs being in conflict with monetary issues that the board faces and many fosters have left out of frustration that their pugs needs are not being met. One of the board members handles monthly donations from a local Wal-mart and passes the donated goods onto friends and family without notifying other fosters of the donation. Animals that are under the care of fosters have been dropped off at local clinics for 'checkups' only to be destroyed without the fosters' input or knowledge. DFW Pug Rescue has not had a volunteer meeting in over three years. All volunteers communicate via Yahoo Groups, and if you disagree with a board member, you are eliminated from the Yahoo Group. The charity does not allow members and the board is self directed and appointed. Since November 2013 several donors have asked for financial information only to have their donations returned with no other information. The members of the board of directors each have access to debit/credit cards for the group and are known to sometimes 'accidentally' use these cards for personal use.

Recently the group has begun purchasing dogs from breeders who are closing operations, thereby filling foster homes with puppy mill purchases instead of rescuing homeless dogs from shelters.

Overall, Pug Rescue puts on a good face and helps some pugs, but overall the operation is made up of disjointed volunteers who do not have a strong support system under a board of directors who do not participate in fostering and have lost touch with the purpose of the rescue group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the board of directors. Have social events so the volunteers can work more as a team. Put the interests of the animals first and not the egos and personal desires of the board. Overall, the group is very unhappy and unhealthy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2011

more

August 22, 2011

I started volunteering as a foster home for DFW Pug Rescue in July 2011. We wanted a pug but were unsure how our family would be able to care for one. It would be our first dog with three young children. We transport pugs for vet care and adoption events. We also provide food and a loving home while evaluating the pug to determine what home environment would be best for adoption. We have had over 50 pugs come into our home in one year's time.
I also started as an adoption counselor in March 2011. I review applications and work with volunteers that visit homes and transport pugs to finalize adoptions. It is a time consuming process but an essential part of the rescue. We generate funds through adoption fees that enable the rescue to help more dogs get veterinary care and find the perfect homes.
After realizing that we are able to provide a permanent home for a needy pug, we adopted Joe in December 2011. He is perfect for us and our children adore him.
I continue to volunteer because I know how important it is to do what I and others do for the entire group to provide for this wonderful breed. There are so many jobs to do that many of us cross over to be able to keep this group functioning. No one is paid. All moneys go to providing for the pugs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I love to see the smiles on people's faces when they choose their new family member. I love it even more when the pug wags his tail and never looks back as he walks away with his new family. That means that no matter my role, I helped make this happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word further, louder, and repeatedly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing really comes to mind.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met many new people and made some friends. I have been a homemaker for longer than I have planned and felt out of touch with professionals and adults in general. The networking, communication, and management skills that it takes to keep current in this group are skills that I will use in any professional field. It has kept the rust off me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Useful. Challenged. Appreciated. Never hopeless. I have made a difference. I will continue to make differences.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2011

more

June 4, 2011

I have been actively involved with group for almost 5 yrs.....they are truly a great group of people to volunteer with....they really believe in helping every pug...If I could afford it I would continue their mission full time! I love pugs and they are honestly the sweetest dogs.

This
group has a lot of great volunteers that always step up to the plate when needed. They also have great fundraisers throughout the year...

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen this group grow over the years with more and more great volunteers rescuing more and more pugs!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Na

June 1, 2011

more

June 1, 2011

I foster for DFW Pug Rescue and love this organization! They really do rescue the right way; they take all pugs regardless of age or condition, they get them the appropriate veterinary care, and thoroughly investigate the homes to which they are adopted.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the day in and day out operations and dedicated volunteer activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase its visibility to potential donors through non-profit and public relations marketing. I would also develop enhancement and retention programs for foster volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

They could develop and maintain a feedback system for volunteers that also recognizes their time and dedication.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have had the heartwarming experience of providing a home for pugs who are too ill to be placed in adoptive homes.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled and enriched.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2011

more

June 1, 2011

I adopted a senior pug in 2008. As soon as the dogs are received, they are checked in at the vet and treated before being sent to foster homes where they are loved and nourished and their behavior diagnosed before being adopted into their forever homes. The volunteers really love these animals and are dedicated to their overall well being. They travel many miles to pick up these animals from other shelters or bad situations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As previously mentioned, I helped out at one charity function and have a sweet senior pug that was fostered by this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything I'd change about this organization. They go above and beyond for these sweet pugs.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers