Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.255
Write A Review
August 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 30, 2012

The impact Desire Street has on young men and women is far-reaching. They are positioned to help the helpless and have done amazing things for inner-city youth around the southeast. I will gladly sow into this non-profit and encourage others to do the same.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

God is using Desire Street Ministries greatly to serve His poor, those near His heart, across America. They are currently reaching out beyond New Orleans to other cities across the southeast. It's an extremely focused organization, working to effectively revitalize inner cities. They daily serve "the least of these", bringing the love and hope of Jesus Christ along with much needed resources to those less fortunate. Desire Street is led by people committed to loving their neighbors, and that begins at the top with Danny Wuerffel. Furthermore, they support deeply dedicated community leaders (ministry partners) that are investing their lives, each taking up their cross, and serving in ways that most of us are unwilling to do, which includes putting their families at risk as they not only minister in inner cities but live there as well.

I take issue with the person who thinks money designated for New Orleans has been invested in other cities. Certainly DSM is expanding their services beyond the original New Orleans site. Praise God for the vision and the God-anointed work that's being done in Montgomery, Lakeland, and other cities. Plus, the original site is being transformed as of this date through partnerships with FEMA and others. They are working daily to re-establish the New Orleans site, which will house another school. When those plans are complete, the light in the 9th Ward will be far brighter. This organization is doing its work with integrity, following God's leading, and can be trusted implicitly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 26, 2012

I have been familiar with Desire Street Ministries for 10 years, when it was headquartered in New Orleans before Hurricane Katrina, as well as in its present location of Atlanta. The organization's staff and board are deeply committed to DSM's mission, as guided by vision, faith, commitment and leadership. Their impact, along with their strategic partners throughout the South, is truly making a difference in the fight against poverty and the fight for social justice. I am constantly amazed by the staff's dedication to the poor and am grateful and humbled by my association with Desire Street Ministries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 26, 2012

Desire Street Ministries is a well managed non-profit run by not only business savvy individuals, but people who have a heart for ministering to others no matter the economic or social status. This organization employs strategic business minded employees with visions for growth and corporate modernization while at their core, a dedication to simplify, remain personable and connected to those they serve. My multiple volunteer experiences have been met with quality individuals, streamlined operations and evidence DSM's strategy is navigated by faith, families and dedication to service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 26, 2012

My experience of Desire Street Ministries (DSM) has been nothing short of life-giving, transformational impact. The staff, partners, and board members of DSM are people of prayer and of character, committed to the long haul, honest about reality, and willing to listen and take time to get at the heart of what's needed in the moment. DSM offers analysis and counsel, spiritual support, family retreats, fundraising support, and genuine friendship to ensure that urban leaders and ministries are thriving and sustainable. I know leaders in many cities who are on the edge of burnout, hoping for a partner to back them up with holistic support to go the distance. DSM is striving to create that extended family of friends through mutual learning, along with measurable tools that tangibly demonstrate qualitative and quantitative impact. While continuing the process of re-building in the 9th Ward post Katrina, DSM is extending the love of God to many leaders throughout the Southeast. I thank God for DSM, and I'm committed to hold DSM (partners, staff, and board members) in prayer.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our relational, financial, and spiritual support has increased because of Desire Street Ministries (DSM). Our family is healthier because of the love and support of DSM.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase DSM's capacity to encourage more leaders in more places.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Some mutual friends introduced us in Atlanta.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Healthier life rhythms, a closer walk with God, increased focus and leadership skills, and increased understanding of fundraising for the purpose of restoring under-resourced (distressed) communities.

July 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 26, 2012

Desire Street teaches me to think in completely new ways. I have learned the value of encouragement and work every day to make it central to my approach to others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

Desire Street Ministries is a great Kingdom work that has grown far beyond one neighborhood. They facilitate relationships between many urban ministries in a growing list of at-risk neighborhoods in cities in Louisiana, Florida, Alabama, Texas, and Georgia. They provide expertise, encouragement and funding. My organization has benefitted directly from DSM in all these ways. Networking with similar organizations is crucial in improving urban ministry and Desire Street has created a structure to foster these relationships. DSM's strategic partner network gives us the privilege of learning from others' mistakes and their successes without starting from scratch. We also have the privilege of sharing our own mistakes and successes with others. It's exciting for us in our at-risk neighborhood to impact other neighborhoods. DSM's model has allowed that to happen.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 3, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Desire Street Ministries was founded in New Orleans and received a lot of money from Katrina donations, according to their 990 for 2005, 2006 and 2007. It seems as though they took the money and ran to other cities. What portion of their donations were spent and are being spent to rebuild in New Orleans 9th ward? They have set up an office in Atlanta with highly paid staff, while their building in New Orleans still remains in ruins. Why did they take the money and run? What are their plans to reinvest the millions they received in the Ninth ward or are they like others who ran out on a community still in need?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Driving by every day to look for progress.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move headquarters back to New Orleans or change the name in Atlanta.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers