Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2011

DES Action USA was my saving grace when I found it 13 years ago. Suffering health issues from the effects of my pre-natal exposure to DES they provided the information I had been seeking for years. ... more

April 5, 2013

DES Action continues to be an amazing little organization. I am consistently astounded what the staff does and the quality of the information provided to the DES community on their small budget.

This organization has been a life-saver for so many affected by DES. They consistently make
DES issues a focus of research and it seems that each push results in more findings and the need to keep digging.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2011

DES Action USA was my saving grace when I found it 13 years ago. Suffering health issues from the effects of my pre-natal exposure to DES they provided the information I had been seeking for years. They are the ONLY organization that serves the DES (diethlystilbestrol) exposed community. They provide support, accurate and un-emotional information about our continued health risks in The VOICE newsletter, doctor lists culled from other exposed individuals, attorney lists and have remained connected to the research community to ensure the DES exposed are not forgotten or overlooked. The organization is as frugal as one could ever imagine. They do so much with a tiny budget - it is truly amazing! DES Action is the only organization that I donate to who's information and communications I read in full every time I get something. It has been a lifeline for my health and my mother's health over the years because of their dedication to continued research and providing accurate information. Our family is so thankful for this organization, which was started on someone's kitchen table in 1978!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

As a DES Daughter born in to an ethnic family, at home I heard "Don't tell anyone! No one will want to marry you!" DES Action and its members in my hometown were a lifeline for me in those early days as a source of invaluable information and support. I am proudly serving on the Board today as a way to give back a little of what I have been given from this transformational organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I originally found this organization while looking to educate myself on the affects of DES. Over the last three years I have found tremendous comfort, compassion and valuable resources through this organization. The members provide a great community of support. The amount of information provided by the organization is tremendous and the networking opportunities are fantastic. I am honored to be an active member of this organization andbe able to be a part of such a strong educational and advocacy for those affected by such a tremendous medical tragedy. As a DES daughter and a cancer survivor I find this organization as a life line.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I was in my 30s when I miscarried, over and over, for reasons I didn't understand until a doctor told me I had the "classic presentation" of a DES daughter. My mother, however, didn't think she'd ever taken this drug. But I remembered being given it as a teenager to stunt my growth--a popular practice in the Sixties, Seventies and Eighties to prevent tall girls from growing "too tall." I turned to DES Action's Pat Cody, the organization's late founder, for help. What was happening to me? What would happen to me? She offered tons of information as well as her own gut feeling about my double exposure to this toxic drug. She was a life-saver. Now DES Action works hard to help mothers, daughters, sons, and grandchildren with the same sorts of questions. DES Action is there to help when those people, like me, need help understanding what this drug has done to them and what they can do to protect themselves in the future. They do not accept money from drug companies, which for decades have denied responsibility for the tragedies DES-exposed individuals suffer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

It's all about education and the truth. DES Action has armed women, men and their children with the most up to date health information on the affects of exposure of his horrific drug. My respect for this organization knows no bounds. We have been fighting the good fight since the 1970's and will continue to do so - as long as there are people who are vulnerable. DES Action has truly written the book on health care advocacy - and standing up to the pharmaceutical and health care corporate interests. Without them the truth would never have been exposed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

When my mother told me her doctor had prescribed her diethylstilbestrol (DES) to prevent a miscarriage while pregnant with me I was stunned and wanted to learn more. Finding DES Action USA was such a relief because it provides accurate information about DES exposure. It also helps me know that I'm not alone. Millions of Americans have been harmed by DES but you can't look at someone and see the damage. It's primarily in our reproductive systems leading to a specific type of vaginal/cervical cancer, infertility and breast cancer among other issues. Learning about DES explained a lot about what has happened to me through the years. Now researchers are looking into the possibility that so-called DES Grandchildren may have health problems relating to this drug prescribed to their grandmothers! I trust the information provided by DES Action, which pushes for continued DES research and informs those of us who should know about special health screenings to protect our health. Where else would I turn for information if DES Action didn't exist? I was so pleased with this small organization that I got involved!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers