Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Write A Review
September 22, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 22, 2012

Im dsabled and Denver Rescue Mission. While at the Denver Rescue Mission Respite Program run by the Colation for the Homeless I slipped and fell while getting from my bed into my wheelchair. All I had asked for was a simple non-slip mat by my bed. 

Both the Rescue Mission and the Coalition
had asked if there were any safety issues that needed to be addressed. I told them about the mat, but nothing came.

Then I feel on the slippery tile floor. I hit my head on the hard concrete floor along with the rest of my left side. My clavicle was broken and a few days latter I began to loose vision in my left eye.

It was during this time when I spent three weeks in the hospital that some of my only belongings were lost or destroyed by them. 

To there credit they have found some items, but not others which include my $8,000 breathing support system which they are still trying to locate, but there are still clothes that I need. I'm left without nothing. No place to live, very few clothes. I'm also left with expensed and needs I did not have prior to my injury.

All I ask for is to make things right. I do have visual problems in my left eye which leave me completely unable to walk when I could a few feet before. 

This may or may not be a life time injury, but right now I sit in a rehabilitation facility dealing with the impact on my vision. Everyday that they do not help more personal needs and  limitations come to light. 

All I asked for is a small no slip mat like the ones found in most bathrooms. Not much just a mat. And now I may have a life time of visual limitations.

I'm not looking for some ridiculous legal settlement, but just to make things right so I can function. That's all, nothing more. sorry, but the Dever Resue Mission is in many ways a fraud. I stayed in the program which was run with the Coalition for the Homeless that provided interim medical related housing. At the Dever Rescue Mission property called The Crosding which I believe is a nicely converted Holiday Inn and houses many residential programs. I was hospitalized for nearly three weeks and during that time they destroyed $10,000 of my property, the bulk of which was my $8,000 dollar breathing support that keeps me alive at night.

I called twice a week to make sure my stuff was still there and was assured it was and because in was in the hospital they made an exception to the 72 hour rule for picking up belongings. As it turned out all of it was given away and destroyed. No one could give a straight answer as to what happened, but it was the manager of the facility that destroyed my property.

I have started calling major donors like the Denver Broncos to let them know what happened. They don't care one bit and are arrogant about it. The problem for them is that because of the life sustaining nature of one piece the destroyed it is a major felony. Stay tuned,,,,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2011

more

November 9, 2011

The Denver Rescue Mission is an amazing, amazing organization. They do SO many more things than just provide emergency housing and food for the homeless. The organization clearly cares deeply to see the poor and needy come full circle and have their lives restored - meaning they are self-suficient, productive members of society.
The organization is well run, organized, diligent in using funds wisely and most importantly, the employees all have amazing hearts for the people that they serve.
I can't think of a better organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen lives changed. I've been to a couple graduation ceremonies to see people come through their "New Life Rehabilitation Program" and it's amazing to see the transformation. I've also seen the hearts of my close friends changed as they serve the Mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the model they've built expanded to other cities in Colorado and more importantly, I think they could become a national organization that lays the groundwork on how to build a successful mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

November 8, 2011

The Denver Rescue Mission is a fine organization with great leadership and employees. It is an efficient organization and an effective one, helping people with basic needs and personal change on the road to self sufficiency. Denver's poor needs help now more than ever and the Denver Rescue Mission is helping in so many measurable ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

November 8, 2011

As a member of the Board of Directors, I am continually impressed with the service provided to the less fortunate members of societies, both in terms of basic needs (food, clothing, shelter) as well as providing a gateway to a life of self-sufficiency (programs, education, support). The organization is fiscally sound, financially responsible, and consistently aprpeciative of every person they touch and every supporter of their organization. I cannot say enough of the passion and leadership they provide in our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Observing the meaningful impact they have on the lives of those they serve, whether that impact is a meal, a bed, or the opportunity for a new and self-sustaining life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand emergency shelter services for women and children.

December 5, 2009

more

December 5, 2009

The Denver Rescue Mission is the best bet in Metro Denver when it comes to your monetary and gift donations. I've been involved with them for several years and see how lives are changed. So many people think of them as just a soup kitchen. But I have met the folks who participate in their long-term programs, where lives are restored. The cycle of poverty and homelessness is ended because of programs offered by the Denver Rescue Mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a volunteer who always thought of a homeless person as an old man, pushing a cart filled with his belongings. Since volunteering, I have seen homeless people who have jobs, families and single women. I saw the face of homelessness in Denver.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I enjoyed working alongside men in the rehabilitation program. To hear their stories about why they were working towards a new life, gave me a new perspective on everthing. Serving meals humbled me. I realized how fortunate I am.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

What is great at the Mission is rehabilitation program participants give tours to volunteers and also help train people on volunteer duties. You receive that one on one interaction with the people you are helping. It was a very meaningful experience.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers