Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.3076945
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

Alright, extremely disappointed. My puppy who was adopted through denkai, recently went in for her spay. When she was released she did not receive a cone and received minimal pain medication. Three says later she ended up popping a stitch open. Because it was late at night we had to take her to a twenty four hour clinic. The veterinarian who took care of her was not impressed by the stitch job and was disappointed by the fact that shedid not receive a cone or more medication. She patched her back up so we could take her back to denkai at eight am so that they could fix her back up. Well we got there at eight fifteen and there was no body there. Door locked, no answer on the phone, and nobody in the parking lot. Their website claims that they are open at eight am but this does not appear to be the case. Needless to say that as I am on my way to a trusted clinic in longmont, I have no trust out respect for this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just do equine care since that is what they appear to be good at

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was called at last minute to foster pups,had to wait 2 hours before they arrived, they called to many foster and adopters ,was not happy that used gas and set for 2 hrs and then turned away empty handed, felt that after hearing bad story with experience with this place would not recommend this shelter or offer my services to them
May 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

2 weeks ago I responded to an add about a dog that needed a home. This pup was in a shelter in Texas and was supposed to be in Eaton in 2 days. It was one thing after another when I called to find out if she ( the pup) had arrived. I was finally told the pup would be there last night at appx midnight and I could come when they opened this morning. I was there at 8:00 still floss had not arrived with the van of dogs she had picked up in Texas. Was told it would be 2 hrs. Came back in 2 hours and myself and 2 other people who were waiting for their adoptions to arrive, were told it would be another 2 hours. They had spend the night in Colo springs and from 8 till 1 is 5 hours and no way does it take that long to drive from Colo springs to Eaton. Floss knew people were waiting. Low and behold finally she arrived, but to my dismay they brought me the wrong dog! I am devasted, I looked at the picture of the pup I was supposed to get countless times in the let 2 weeks. How could they have made such a mistake?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have someone intervene

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a big fan of Denkai for about 3 years now, since they helped me in being able to rescue 2 horses from auction where they would have been sent to slaughter. The founder is just awesome in her devotion and management and her vision. Every effort is made to help animals with special needs to become a likely adoption candidate. The compassion displayed by the Denkai staff is amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them tons of money so they could devote more time to the animals and less to having to raise funding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had experience with Denkai Animal Sanctuary since 2007. Horses and dogs. The facilities are always disorganized and a mess. They take on too many animals and they put press out there that they need money and do things, the money comes, but the things are not getting done. Sadly if people were following up, they would see they are basically donating to pay for the founder to travel around and waste money and make false promises. The animals that get adopted out are never followed up on. I mean EVER. The horses are rarely trained. They had a nice bed and breakfast facility that they ran into the ground and in the end they were giving away all of the dogs. I saw a horse get injured by some kids trying to load it into a trailer that day too. I have had some interactions with the founder Floss Blackburn and asked her bluntly why she is not doing things to the Grover facility that she has in her "master plan" that she actively markets to the public/media.... and she basically gets nasty, then will not email you back or correspond with you again. I have wondered if she is really a legitimate 501 3C, or if she has just gotten blind board members who she can pull the wool over their eyes to get away with stealing peoples money that donate with the conception it will actually go to help the animals and not be used for her "vacation" or wasted on her kids/family/current boyfriend. I even was made aware that the founder, Floss Blackburn went to an auction in WY where the Cloud Foundation was trying to buy a herd to keep the mustang herd family together, and Floss Blackburn was trying to bid on the horse to take it away from them. Be very careful with any donations that go to this "Sanctuary", I would consider others that are always doing more of the right things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are too many things to list, sadly, it's disorganized, not friendly to volunteers and should be monitored, or just shut down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2011

more

June 16, 2011

I too have experienced the change of hands of this facility not just once but 3 times. Aside from the financial aspect, the people who try and or excel at these facilites, their hearts are in the right place. I have seen some very selfish humans come through those doors to give up animals. The reasons are many, but some should be ashamed of themselves. The man hours are endless in this type of work with upkeep, care of the animals and the day to day issues that occur. All of the staff has done the best they can with what they have and what is donated. It can be a little chaotic at times, but so is grocery shopping. The main thing is the well being of the animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been a volunteer, with my husband for over 4 years. I have watched the change of hands and improvements that have been made at both facilities. There have been 100's of hours put into the facility grounds and buildings. Sadly the key to any non-profit if funding and volunteers. The owner has dedicated all of her time and life to building this organization from nearly nothing to where she is today. Just think one persons dream, has saved lives. What did you do today?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The change I would make is to recruit more loyal volunteers that are dedicated to the care of these animals and the time to help with events. We do have a handful of these individuals and they have gone beyond in effort. The youth, to be more involved. Local school leaders in Greeley, Windsor, and surrounding areas to commit involvement and education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

To be able to serve and have more time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, new friends, community involvement, community awareness, and the education of young children. Our church youth have had the opportunities to serve, our missionaries, and scout troops to earn their Eagle Scout awards. For me the knowledge of working with businesses and the functionality of a non-profit. The planning and execution of activities and fundraising.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Grateful that we, my husband and I, could make a difference not only in the animals lives, but those around us.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 1, 2011

more

May 1, 2011

I heard about Denkai through the newspaper. I started volunteering a few months ago. I have found it to be well-run for a non-profit shelter. I have volunteered consistently at animal shelters for the past 15 years, so I have good experience with both the Humane Society and a similar non-profit.

The organization is well-managed, and does a good job of selecting dogs, not just breed-specific rescuing. The majority of dogs that do have behavorial problems have been at the shelter too long, or have typical problems which all shelter dogs may face.

The volunteer assistance is a little too free-form, do what you want to help, but that is because there really is not much help.
The assigned duties to clean up kennels and feed are permanent positions so that they are done everyday.

The kennel does a good job managing food and medicine, and caring for its animals. The vet is there consistently checking all animals. These animals definitely receive more medical care than I've seen at other shelters.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Animals that are unadoptable have been specifically worked with so that they become adoptable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The changes I would have made a few months ago have been undertaken. Volunteer duties have been made a little less free-form. If they had a million dollars, I would re-do the kennels and enclosures, and wash facilities.

April 7, 2011

more

April 7, 2011

Hi,
I couldn't get on your web-site so thought I would write a request this way.
Do you ever get any Bashkir Curly's or Curly Mustangs.
Thank you...Beth

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

a ok

January 26, 2011

more

January 26, 2011

I've read some of the negative reviews - "disorganized mess" etc. - and agree that volunteering at Denkai had it's problems. But please do not judge this by a chaotic transitation period when Denkai was taking over K-9 Bed & Biscuit. Denkai has been running the shelter for only 11 months and in that time has placed over 70% of the animals who had been with K-9 for years. Placement time for new arrivals is usually only a few weeks. Denkai has saved many, many animals who would have been killed or died out on their own. As of Jan 1st - I'm the new volunteer coordinator and promise to keep volunteers informed and interested, so please consider volunteering with us. We need the help and it's a good cause.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have placed more animals in a shorter period of time, rescued animals from shelters in other states.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As the new volunteer coordinator I will be making changes. Volunteers will be kept more informed, much needed projects will be organized. I will actively be seeking new volunteers for all committees.

January 11, 2011

more

January 11, 2011

I have enjoyed volunteering with Denkai for nearly 5 years now. I have helped with basic animal care, many public outreach events, adoption events & fundraising.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen first hand how Floss, her staff & volunteers have all worked kindly & patiently with a variety of abused or neglected animals. The goal is always to give the animal it's best opportunity to get a new loving home. Animals are given quality veterinary care if needed. They are given time to heal emotionally & physically.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more public outreach activities in order to let more folks know about this unique northern Colorado organization.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Socialize animals, update website information, create or distribute literature, clean kennels and cages, groom animals, walk dogs, pet and give love to horses or other livestock, clean pens, feed animals, work in our gardens, transport an animal from a shelter to the adoption facility or sanctuary, transport an animal to a foster or adoptive family, help with repairs or maintenance on structures and buildings or yards, take photos for petfinder and websites, THE SKY IS THE LIMIT! Volunteer