Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have just been elected to the Board this month and am very excited about serving for the next two years on the Board. I first received exposure to CAWS about 5 years ago while in the town of Paonia on a motorcycle rally. CAWS had a food booth in the town park to feed the 1,300 hungry motorcycle riders AND to talk about what they do in the town and the whole county of Delta. I eventually moved to Paonia (from California) because I fell in love with the area and immediately became involved in helping out CAWS with some of their fund raising activities. I worked on increasing inventory in the Barkin Bargains Thrift store with items to sell to the local community in an effort to support the many excellent programs run by CAWS. I completely agree with the mission of CAWS and believe that it is very important to communities to have fair, prevalent, and caring animal control. Helping with the control of the animal population (by spay/neuter activities) is an excellent way to improve the community. I am looking forward to the many years of work with CAWS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I am on the board of directors of CAWS and foster dogs and cats,and am proud to be part of this wonderful animal rescue organization. We find loving homes for our dogs and cats, as well as offer spay and neuter coupons to low income families. We recently acquired the Delta Animal Shelter, run by the Delta Police Dept. It is now operated by CAWS. It is a much more animal friendly environment now and our terrific staff, Jessica and Cory, get the animals adopted pretty quickly. We also go to adoption events whenever we can. Caws continues to grow and we recently received a grant targeting spay/neutering to low income folks in Delta, a large town with a large low income and hispanic population. We hope to be able to continue to offer help to folks who love their dog/cat but can't afford the vet care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2011

more

October 30, 2011

I moved to Delta County 3 years ago from Raleigh NC. In Raleigh I volunteered to be a foster mom for cats. we took in sick cats, nursed them well and turned them over to the adoption clinic. I loved it. I saw the Rescue Magazine at my Aunts prior to moving here and knew I had to volunteer.

I signed up as a foster mom again and found out that we fostered the animal until adopted. Very different but they weren't sick and they would not be put down. I also volunteered to work in our thrift shop as all the money was to go to the animals. Again I love doing this.

Last August the Board asked me to become a board member which I have done. I hope I can be of help in this area also.

From providing a lost and found service to giving out spay and neuter discount coupons to low-income residents, to taking in abandoned dog and cats and finding loving forever homes, CAWS is an extremely valuable community asset.

CAWS' reputation is widely know in Delta County and beyond. I am proud to be associated with this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many animals taken care of and found forever homes for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a permanent building for the animals needing adoption where people can come and see all the animals at one location.

September 26, 2011

more

September 26, 2011

I have served on the board of CAWS now for over two years. I live in a county where animal control and welfare are unfortunately at the bottom of the priority list when it comes to spending county funds. CAWS, for over ten years has stepped up to fill this role by rescuing and fostering dogs and cats. Over this period, we have placed hundreds of dogs and cats in loving homes. We are currently in negotiation with the city of Delta to take over and operate their animal shelter and provide services to the city. And down the road it is our goal to build a local shelter and staff it with volunteers. I am currently the board president and am proud of this organization and all it has achieved.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The number of dogs and cats that have been rescued and placed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do whatever it takes to find more foster homes.

April 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 14, 2011

It has been my pleasure to serve as the treasurer for CAWS for the past two years. In that time I have seen significant growth in the organization. I have watched first-hand as we moved from the "livi... more

April 16, 2012

It has been my pleasure to serve as the treasurer for CAWS for the past three years. In that time I have seen significant growth in the organization. I have watched first-hand as we moved from the "living room to the board room" so to speak. In a partnership with the town of Delta, CAWS has recently taken over the management of the Delta town shelter (now the CAWS Adoption Center). We are now one step closer to our goal of a county-wide shelter!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2011

It has been my pleasure to serve as the treasurer for CAWS for the past two years. In that time I have seen significant growth in the organization. I have watched first-hand as we moved from the "living room to the board room" so to speak. Delta County has no animal control program, and CAWS helps fill an incredible void in the community. Serving animals and families is the number one goal of the organization. With the recent establishment of a grant-seeking program spearheaded by a professional grant writer, I can't wait to see the great things this organization will do in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In 2010, CAWS spayed or neutered 461 animals, and adopted out 54 cats, and 35 dogs to loving, forever homes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would build a shelter!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2011

Six years ago, I lost a beloved dog when she decided to go deer hunting in the vast woods behind our home. Darcy was a true Beagle who would follow her nose as far as her little heart would take her.

My husband and I live in a small rual community that has very little in the way of animal
control services, let alone an animal shelter. We felt sure we'd never see Darcy again.

Three and one-half weeks later, we received a phone call from someone who found Darcy and called CAWS to let them know. Of course, Bob and I had registered her as missing with CAWS immediatly after she'd gone.

This amazing public service was my introduction to CAWS and the reason I started volunteering for the organization.

From providing a lost and found service to giving out spay and neuter discount coupons to low-income residents, to taking in abandoned dog and cats and finding loving forever homes, CAWS is an extremely valuable community asset.

CAWS' reputation is widely know in Delta County and beyond. As a current board member, and past president, I've seen this organization grow from a small group of concerned citizens to a very professional and well-run organization with long-term goals including the building of a countywide animal shelter were one does not currently exist.

I am extremely proud to serve this organization as a volunteer and have made a life-long commitment to continue to support CAWS in its vital mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through CAWS' lost and found relay service, I was able to retrieve a lost dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm concerned that CAWS' thrift store operation may be redirecting needed volunteers and resources that might be better utilizied on core CAWS programs. I'd like to see a cost-benefit evaluation.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers